or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay

Ban NongPing, Chanthabouly, Vientiane, Laos (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Residence Mandalay

Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Art Deco Suite Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial Suite Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Art Deco Suite Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial suite Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial suite Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial Bathroom Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Swimming Pool Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Reception Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Reception Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Tropical garden Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - The Entrance Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Residence Exterior Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Residence Exterior
Area: Chanthabouly Number of Rooms: 2
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Superb

9.1

based on
13 reviews

Value for Money
9.7
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
9.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
10.0
Room Comfort/Standard
9.8
Food/Dining
8.2
All reviews (13)
Sort by:
Leo P. Couples Belgium, January 23, 2013
Exceptionally elegant and pleasant venue

Beautifully designed and decorated private house in a lovely garden with cool pool
9.7
we booked this place through agoda because the historical settha palace were we wanted to stay was fully booked on the occasion of an international conference on tourism . having to spend only one night in vientiane on our way out of lao to bangkok and back to europe a luxury homestay (with pool) seemed like an interesting alternative. it turned out to be a very good decision. the taxi from the airport did have to look a bit to find the address (not complicated however once you have done the road) a few miles out of town (8 to 10 usd cab ride to either the town or the airport). we were very kindly welcomed to the house by the french owners, professional designers and decorators, who showed us our room and the salon, after which we went foe dinner at la signature (ansara hotel) in town (mediocre in quality of food as well as service, probably due to the rush of the ongoing tourism conference). next morning we had a lavish breakfast prepared for us by the owners served in the dining room of truly exceptional beauty, with the finest china and accessories at the table. we spent the rest of the day enjoying the pool and the garden, with the house staff being attentive to our needs. the owners kindly waved us out on our way to the airport in the late afternoon. an overall very positive experience that i will gladly recommend.
Frederik H. Couples Switzerland, November 16, 2012
Perfect guesthouse

Welcome by owners, house, garden, rooms
9.7
it was our best experience in vientiane. we were dissapointed by the city but we were so happy to stay at la residence mandalay. everything was perfect from the first minute until the last. it's a little far from vientiane but to travel eachtime with mr vong's taxi was a treat !
Doreen S. Couples Australia, March 13, 2012
An amazing home to share

Stunning decor
8
Gilles and Marie gave us a very warm welcome to their home (even in the pouring rain) and it is obvious they have made every effort to create a lovely colonial Laos environment. The room was private and very comfortable but u still felt part of the home. The only unfortunate drawback is the location being a long way from the main area of town, with no nearby restaurants or cafe's - but the wonderful Mr Veng went out of his way to be available to take us anywhere we needed to go.
Hotel Feature Tip: Factor in an additional cost of approx $18 (AUD) per day for trips into and out of town.
Darryl K. Couples United Kingdom, November 24, 2011
Far from the madding crowd

Very quiet Location extremely warm hosts
8.3
Yes you can go even more rural if you want too. The place is very quaint and with only two bedrooms you are staying with the family not a hotel. We stayed in the colonial room which was very special But be aware you are outside the main town as it is a new venture not many local taxis or tuk tuk know about it so you have to liaise with drivers that the Residence Mandalay know, this is not a problem. As they do not serve any meals apart from breakfast (which is very traditional French) you have to travel into town to eat. Cons Internet was not working No fridge No Lunch or dinner served No shampoo etc and make those mosquitoes your friends
Hotel Feature Tip: Rent a car or be prepared to hire in advance for any exscursions you want to undertake, this is not real a problem as I still think Vientiane offers some of the restaurants for French food in Asia
Henrik B. Couples Norway, October 12, 2011
Tranquility and style

Colonial suite, living room, swimmingpool
9
Residence Mandalay is a most exquisite "hotel". Our room was just beautiful. The owners took very well care of us, and we enjoyed the many antiques and delightful decor. If you cherish peace and quietness of nature you will enjoy your stay at The Mandalay Residence. If you are interested in nightlife and shopping the residence is probably not for you as it is situated about 6 km outside of Vientiane.
Beryl C. Couples France, January 3, 2013
Très belle maison de décorateur en style laotien

Très belle ambiance, hôtes de classe et charmants
8.7
Seule vraie maison laotienne que nous ayaons vue de tout notre séjour. très bien meublée avec un mélange de moderne et traditionel. Les hôtes sont acceuillants et charmants, vous donnerons plein de conseils pour votre voyage. Préférez la chambre qui n'est pas la suite art déco elle est plus belle. Attention: difficle à trouver sans portable. Bien se faire expliquer par mail avant de partir.
Hotel Feature Tip: Très bonne solution pour voir comment vivent les expat français au Laos.
Laurent R. Couples France, December 12, 2012
Superbe maison d'hôtes

Architecture, accueil, décoration
9.3
Superbe maison, décorée avec beaucoup de gout. Les petits déjeuners sont excellents. MAGNIFIQUE !!!
Frederik H. Couples Switzerland, November 16, 2012
Excellente maison d'hôte au calme près de Vientian

Charme, accueil, service, chambres, piscine.
9.3
Un véritable joyau caché à 15mn de la capitale. Prendre le taxi de pour y aller. Mais on revient vite dans ce havre de paix magnifiquement décoré par les propriétaires qui sont de plus fort sympathiques.
Travel tip: Le taxi de M. Vong avec sa musique française des années 60. Demandez lui de chanter Aline.....
Etienne H. Couples France, March 21, 2012
Magnifique résidence

Architecture , mobilier, décoration , jardin et piscine SUPERBES
7.7
Demeure Loatienne construite par un couple français louant deux de leurs chambres: exceptionnel .Leur métier est designers/décorateurs et la fabrication de meubles de grande qualité.La suite coloniale est d'un grand confort et la salle de bain somptueuse .Le personnel est discret et compétant, les petits déjeuners délicieux.La piscine est un lieu de repos idéal dans un jardin luxuriant . les seuls problèmes :1/ la distance de cet habitat à la ville ( 6KM)sans moyen facile d'accès sauf par l'appel d'un taxi dont les tarifs sont élevés . 2/On n'y sert aucun repas malgré l'heure tardive d' arrivée .
Dominique D. Families with older children France, March 9, 2012
Adresse rare

Accueil et confort
9.7
Adresse rare et secrète. Maison construite et décorée avec talent par un couple d'amoureux du Laos aux gouts et conseils très surs. Un peu à l'écart de Vientiane mais grâce aux bons soins et à la disponibilité d'un ami taxi Lao, "Monsieur Jean", vous profiterez à la fois de la ville et de ce refuge dans la campagne. Cette adresse discrète se mérite toutefois : faites vous accueillir à l'Aéroport.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - ExteriorDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Art Deco SuiteDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial SuiteDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Art Deco SuiteDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial suiteDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial suiteDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Colonial BathroomDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Swimming PoolDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - ReceptionDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - ReceptionDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Tropical gardenDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - The EntranceDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Residence ExteriorDeluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay Vientiane - Residence Exterior

Customer Reviews - Deluxe Homestay - La Residence Mandalay, Vientiane

AS-AGWEB-3B04