Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Diplomat Hotel

90 F. Ramos Street, Fuente Osmena, Cebu City, Philippines 6000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.2

based on
1102 reviews

592 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1102)
Sort by:
Angella C. Couples Philippines, May 22, 2010
You'll get your money's worth

safety deposit box room is cozy good value for money Location
7.7
We arrived at around 8am and asked if we could have a aerly check-in but they said it would be after 12noon, we asked what time after 12 and the rude receptionist said after 12noon. I just wished I didnt have to repeat myself coz I just want to know the exact time, hence we were able to occupy the room around 1pm. The room is nice and cozy but the location of the aircon in the room made it longer for the room to cool - I'm just not sure if all the airconditioners are situated like that in our room. We checked out at aeound 7am for we are bound to go somewhere else but then the earliest trip of the ferry was already fully booked, hence, they let return to the hotel up until the regular check out time.
Nightlife Tip: very near in crown regency hotel where you can experience skywalk like in macau.
Report this review
Gerhard M. Solo travelers Denmark, May 9, 2010
2 stars accomodation for 3stars price

none
4
This hotel is a cheap and basic option in Cebu City. The rooms are spacious and fairly clean, but generally they looks old and worn down. The linen was of questionable cleanliness. Upon check-in and check-out the staff were not very attentive - it seemed like they were distracted and wanted to do something else.
Restaurant Tip: Good thai resturant nearby
Report this review
Seonggook H. Solo travelers South Korea, May 8, 2010
Nice place

nice restaurant and cheap price the safe
9
It was nice for me. Cheap and staff at the hotel is kind. One day I went out to buy water at 3am, a security guard bought water for me because I had no any idea where store was. So pretty kind and considerate
Report this review
Leonora P. Families with older children Philippines, May 8, 2010
diplomat experience

very fair price, room is basic but clean. cleaning staff are very friendly very near the amenities, shopping, and entertainment
6.7
price is reasonable. and hotel is very near robinsons, the entertainment area and plenty of transportation.the restaurant needs updating looks old
Shopping Tip: near robinsons and the entertainment area
Report this review
Earl L. Couples Philippines, May 1, 2010
Value for money.

The hotel is very near restaurants, shopping malls, business offices. Its also a stone's throw away from a hospital.
7.7
Overall my stay at Diplomat Hotel was a pleasant one. It is conveniently located within the city just a few minutes away from malls, restaurants, business centers as well as prominent schools. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The beds were OK and the air-conditioning was very effective. No scary stuff and overall I had a very satisfying stay at the hotel. I would definitely be back here for my next trip to Cebu.
Restaurant Tip: Try the small stll outside the hotel called Tagala's Chicken. Very delicious.
Report this review
Earl L. Couples Philippines, April 30, 2010
Value for money.

Its near restaurants and business establishments.
7.7
My stay at Diplomat Hotel was a nice experience. The hotel staff were all polite and helpful. Everyone were doing their jobs right. The hotel's location is one the best in the city. Very near high end and low end restaurants. There is a hospital nearby. Shopping malls are just a cab or jeep ride away, you can even walk to one of them. The neighborhood is peaceful, no snatchers or any bad elements for that matter. The room I stayed in was kinda old but it was in the unrenovated section. Despite the not so very appealing bed, I had a good night's sleep. I will definitely be back here when I visit Cebu again.
Nightlife Tip: Try the clubs at Mango Avenue. Its just a 10 minute walk away.
Report this review
Leonard S. Couples United Kingdom, April 27, 2010
good hotel

cheap and location
7
We stayed at this hotel last year !! and we went back in April this year !! the hotel is good value for money ! and the standard has improved since my last visit !! the breakfast was a lot better !! the staff was friendly ! and help-full. yes i would book this hotel again next time i go to Cebu and its in a good location as-well so i would give this hotel 9/10 hope you enjoy your stay in Cebu
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: cebu city
Report this review
Egmidio B. Couples United States of America, April 25, 2010
very dirty, staff service very poor.

Right in the city, accessible to both downtown and uptown.
3
The good thing is the location is accessible to both uptown and downtown. The hotel is surrounded by poor neighborhoods, it does not appear safe at night. The room in the old wing was very dirty. The room was dark, the bedroom/bathroom walls/ sink/faucet had molds and dingy! On 2 different occasions, there was a cockroach crawling on our table while eating. The cafe wait staff were just huddled in the corner talking and they were not attentive at all. Even though they offer the room at an affordable rate, i'm surprised they rent it out at all at this unhealthy condition. We asked to get transferred to another room and the front desk personnel just stated that all the rooms in the old wing are like this, moldy and dirty.
Travel tip: Definitely do not stay in this hotel if you do not want to get sick. If this was here in the states, they would have closed this down definitely.
Report this review
John R. Solo travelers United States of America, April 23, 2010
average

good location
5.3
consider this hotel average ion all respects at best.needs renovation, and had bad experience ........developed some sort of itchy rash which started 2nd day. made them change bedding and fumigate, but didnt clear up until 5 days after leaving would not go back
Shopping Tip: ayala mall has everything
Report this review
Larry R. Couples United States of America, April 22, 2010
my trip

nice location, taxis always available, friendly staff and guards. Price of the room I received was worth it for that reason alone.
7.7
Was charged for a stain on the sheet and pillow case upon my departure that I was not aware of and the fee charged was excessive considering I could have bought the sheet and pillow case for less then what they accessed me. I do not think I would stay at the place again because of this false charge. The first room we were placed in had a broken window and I do not mean cracked I mean it was not even there and they still placed us in the room causing us to be relocated to another floor (2nd) which had no elevator access.
Shopping Tip: close to two malls Ayala & SM malls
Report this review
Previous page 451 - 460 of 592 reviews Next page
Diplomat Hotel Cebu CityDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - The AtriumDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - Guest RoomDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - Guest RoomDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - Guest RoomDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - Meeting RoomDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - Meeting RoomDiplomat Hotel Cebu City - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02