arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 1129 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1129 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Staff Performance 7.0
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.4

6 Tina B.
United Kingdom
July 12, 2010
Diplomat Hotel Review
Clean room, good location
There are no non smoking rooms!
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Ramos, which is centrally located between uptown and downtown. The hotel is also just a five minutes walk from Robinsons Plaza, which has several shops and a supermarket and cheap food outlets in the basement ideal for backpackers. The hotel is basic, but clean. The staff on the front desk were pleasant and helpful.

8.3 Joergen B.
Denmark
July 10, 2010
Value for money
Pricing, Friendly staff
None really
Much better than expected. I think the value for money is very good, it is not new but clean and very friendly staff, when we wanted the room to cleaned they did it right away and always with a smile. If you need internet to check your mail then go to the coffee shop up the street because that is too expensive at the hotel, which is really the only issue I can think of, everything else was absolutely to our satisfaction.

8 William B.
United States
July 09, 2010
Good place for the value
Good value
charge way to much for internet
i like the hotel its the second time i stayed there very good value and its safe there. Breakfast is not included which is ok the thing that really irritated me was the charge for internet 180 pesos for 3 hours i use the internet a lot and I think this is totally to much I told them about it last year and its the same now. I will move to a new hotel next trip. Just feel its a rip off to charge that. I think their provider is the problem they should change

5.7 Floricel E.
United States
July 06, 2010
hotel location
locations
bathroom
the location was great but the bathroom was dirty and old. the water in the bathroom is overflowing from the shower. the commode and most of the tiles inside the bathroom were rusty and dirty. the aircondition was good.with young kids sometimes they spills anything in bed accidentally. however they are not helpful to change the bed still waiting for the incharge on duty. it was very disappointing.

7.7 Selvyn T.
Philippines
June 28, 2010
diplomat
good bugdet hotel
little old
our stay is good, it was very cheap, i mean our stay, we liked the food, the staff were very friendly, accomodating, the facilities were a-okay. anyone can live there and enjoy it. it has a nice location., very accesible to shopping and dinning areas in cebu. and i and my husband enjoyed it. thanks!

9.3 antonio T.
United States
June 15, 2010
diplomat hotel excellent service
Very clean room. Aircon works very well. Hotel staff very polite and courteous.
Need more towels and toilet faucets needs repair.
overall our stay at diplomat hotel was excellent. front disk service personnel are always ready to help and very polite. security guards are always polite. night crew personnel specially bodol(that's her name tag always attentative and helpful in the grave shift. bodol is excellent always one step ahead on out request. i will always recommend this hotel to anybody specially to friends and famiy members.

6 Barry R.
United States
June 05, 2010
Diplomat
Price was reasonable, cold AC
no pool, bad food
The Diplomat was about what you would expect for the price. The AC was cold. The food was not very good so we ate out most of our meals. There was no pool which would have been nice during the daily brownouts. The location was pretty good, close to nightlife, decent restaurants, and downtown. This would not be an ideal hotel for families.

6.7 jocelle V.
Philippines
June 05, 2010
my experience in cebu
big place
there comfort room has a bad odor..there tv is not working well
walking distance to park,restaurants,malls and bar a very cheap hotel good for those who want to budget there money,they dont have blower there and heater

7.3 les P.
Australia
June 04, 2010
clean,, friendly ,,great value
hotel staff are so eager to please ,,hotel is very quiet,,very little street noise,,felt very safe ,,great value
front desk girl wont marry me ,,hahaha kidding,none really
a great place to stay ,,good value for money,,a quick walk and your in the heart of Cebu,lots of little places to eat near by,,try the chicken right next door ,,yumyum and so cheap,,great bakery 1mkns walk,so cheap,,i will be back,,

6.7 leonora P.
Philippines
June 02, 2010
diplomat experience
very fair price, room is basic but clean. cleaning staff are very friendly very near the amenities, shopping, and entertainment
reception staff is a bit unfriendly and not very helpful.the area walkway as you go out from your room to the lift is very hot could do with a bit of aircon.
price is reasonable. and hotel is very near robinsons, the entertainment area and plenty of transportation.the restaurant needs updating looks old