Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Divar Island Guest House Retreat

45,Porbuwaddo,Piadade, Divar island, Divar, North Goa, India 403403

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
16 reviews

14 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (16)
Sort by:
Lorna M. Couples United Kingdom, February 8, 2016
Excellent retreat 1 to 3 nights on Divar Island

Location Divar Island but close by ferry to Panji & Old Goa. Lovely renovated old Portuguese house & small Pool & well cared for gardens. Host expat Jan from Bradford, Yorkshire his famly & staff
8
Much enjoyed my second year return 2 night stay on Divar Island (Retired Couple) WITH welcoming Jan, his family, and Indian wife and staff. Perhaps not recommended for stays with children under 11 yrs, as depending on guests, with Jan's pay bar, things can get bit rowdy. Also two large Alsation dogs are part of family, and roam freely around the property, both are NOT aggressive but younger one can get over excited if played with, and may by mistake playfully grab ie 'bite' your arm, hand etc. If you might be concerned about this ask for confirmation of details/ dates of their dogs current Rabies inoculation certificates which they are legally obliged to have. NB Without proof of this certificate, if a dog does break your skin with a 'bite', you will be advised by Chemist Doctor etc to have full course of Rabies injections at hospital/ doctor. This may be worth it if you regular visitor to India, as am told full course of anti Rabies injections gives you protection for 'Life'and treatment much cheaper to have in India, as not covered in UK by NHS
Report this review
Hugh H. Couples Australia, October 20, 2015
Hidden Treasure

The Staff , The Staff and The place itself.
8.3
A spur of the moment left turn. What a welcome surprise, thank you very much for your hospitality and warm welcome. We will be back to visit you again soon. Cold beer, good company, great bed and nothing was too much trouble.
Report this review
Sandeep M. Solo travelers India, June 1, 2015
Within Minutes strangers are friends!

The hosts are fabulous people. Aarti & Ian instantly make you feel at home so much so you find yourself sharing stories, secrets & laughs in no time.
6.7
Fun!!
Report this review
Lesley H. Couples United Kingdom, January 31, 2015
Away from the beach

Llocation, Location, Location
9.3
A complete contrast to the endless sunbeds on the beach. We were made very welcome and especially enjoyed chilling out by the pool. The service by Locco? was very good. I would probably describe Divar Retreat as a Home stay as the family were very much part of the experience. A ferry trip to Old Goa brings you back to earth but is well worth it. I traveled with a friend but there was no such heading under type
Report this review
Clarissa T. Solo travelers Canada, January 29, 2015
Relaxing stay among friendly people

Extremely friendly people, lovely old house, good food
8.7
I really enjoyed my stay here. Jan and Aarthi were so friendly and even invited me to join them on a trip to Anjuna for the market. Food was fantastic and I was very happy to just retreat back to the guesthouse for dinner every night. The guesthouse is far from the beaches but quite good for visiting Old Goa from. Good for a different experience of Goa.
Report this review
Laura N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 5, 2015
Review

Garden
4.3
Disappointing
Report this review
Munish M. Families with young children India, June 9, 2014
A very relaxing experience in homely environment

Homely environment; natural surroundings; peaceful
8.7
A very peaceful and relaxing stay. Ideal for those who want to be near the "happening places" but still becaway enough to just be with oneself.
Report this review
Claire H. Couples United States of America, January 5, 2014
Charming Guest House on a Fascinating Island

Comfy rooms, family feel, a piece of Portuguese history
10
Divar Retreat Island Guest House was a charming stop on our Goan vacation. It is a warm, family run homestead, with spacious, comfortable rooms, a great pool and landscaped backyard (complete with a badminton court and roaming family pets), and a spot on a wonderful, away-from-it-all island. We had done a bit of the beach hut hotel/restaurant scene in Mandrem before arriving at the Guest House, and while I think that was an essential part of the Goan experience, this Guest House offered a wonderful counterbalance, with a more local and less touristy feel. This spot is one of the few on the island and, as such, there are not many tourist-focused restaurants and bars, or much tourist infrastructure at all - which for us, was perfect. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhoods and seeing the aging charm of the old Portuguese homes, as well as the beautiful cathedral on the hill (rumor has it that if you throw a couple hundred rupees at the caretaker, he'll even open its doors for you, so you can take a look inside). Luku was also gracious enough to take us out fishing along the river after he overheard my husband mentioning his desire to check out fishing in the area. This place was seriously a perfect 10 for us. Will definitely be back.
Report this review
Payal M. Families with young children India, December 29, 2013
Nice and relaxing stay

Swimming pool, Bar and friendly staff
9
The stay was quite interesting and we got to see a very different side of Goa.The staff was very nice and friendly especially Luku and Sandeep. The Bostocks also gave us good company on day one. Though they mentioned that the amount we paid for the bookings was lower than what they typically accept and that they had rejected the reservation initially. I felt that telling us all that was totally uncalled for. What we really liked there was the staff and the fact that they took keen interest in helping us chalk an itineary during our stay. Service was very quick. One other thing that I had some feedback on was the changing room next to the pool. It really needs to be cleaned up during our stay it was in an unusable condition.
Report this review
Anthony A. Couples United Kingdom, December 21, 2013
A home away from home

The hospitality was out of this world. The staff were always ready to help. We had so much fun that we didn't want to leave! A week in Divar Island was not enough
9.3
This visit was our second time in Goa and we both agreed that, Divar Retreat Island Guest House Is the Main Reason we want to visit Goa Again! Our only regret is that, we didn't spend the whole 3weeks of our visit there! Everything we expect from the staff and beyond!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 14 reviews
Divar Island Guest House Retreat North GoaDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Deluxe RoomDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Chalet RoomDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Deluxe Room - InteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Balcony - Sit OutDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - LobbyDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - RestaurantDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - BarDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Hotel InteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Swimming Pool - Sit OutDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Swimming PoolDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Swimming PoolDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - GardenDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - GardenDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Swimming PoolDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - ExteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - ExteriorDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Guest RoomDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Swimming PoolDivar Island Guest House Retreat North Goa - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07