Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 274 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 274 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 6.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 8.2

Rosanna A. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Satisfactory and Aptly Rated 3-Star
Resort/hotel is simple and straightforward; cozy and very relaxing ambiance; personnel is warm, accommodating and polite
Staff was reliable. We were fetched on time at airport by a relatively new van. Travel time to hotel was around 30 minutes. The resort is visually attractive though modest. Check in took time because our extra bed wasn’t prepared. Room furnishing was simple and appeared new. It was clean and tidy though the cabinets smelled musty. There was one clean bathroom that was cramped but everything worked well. Ambiance of surroundings and loft room was cozy and very relaxing. Staff was warm, very accommodating and polite. The food, on the other hand, was nothing special; it was plain and lacked variety. A good place to stay if you plan on simply staying the night and spending the whole day out, since there is not much activity at the resort/hotel itself. In a nutshell, Dive Thru Scuba Resort is satisfactory and aptly rated with 3-stars.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Matthieu C. from France
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Big brother is watching
new, dive centre, food, duplex rooms
Nice new hotel, very well designed and tidy, no surprise to learn that the owners are local architects. Room was nice and big, all with views over the swimming pool. Dinner set menu was of very good standard. Local excursions however were a bit pricy. We almost had the place to ourselves, although we sometimes felt like our every move was being watched. Beach: non-existant :(
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Chankanok K. from Thailand
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
peaceful place to stay and great hospitality
confortable, quiet feel like home
our first impression was bad because they forgot to pick us up from the pier even I told them about our ferry schedule by email. When I showed them my email, they apologised but not before accusing us not confirming them about the pick up time which was not true. After that everything was nice. Loft is not good for elderly because there are stairs you have to climb up and down a lot. Food were fresh especially fish and papaya. one annoying thing we have is they tried to charge us for extra blanket we asked, the room is so cool and they gave us only thin blanket. But when we complained, they removed the charge from our bill. Overall good place to stay but make sure they will come to pick you up, it is a complimentary service.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

becky F. from China
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
wonderful with great view, good for relaxation
great view, good service, good tasty food
wonderful with great view, good for relaxation great view, good service, good tasty food it is a little bit far from the alona beach, good thing is there were 20 people this time, and we rent the van. So everything is wonderful.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Carina C. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Lovely Hotel with good service
New rooms, nice environment and very good service
We have had a very pleasant stay at dive thru scuba. Rooms were new and clean, staff were courteous and always accomodating. Even the hotel transfers were planned at our convenience since we needed to visit another place prior to check out. Would be happy to recommend this place to our friends. Nice job!
Reviewed May 09, 2012

David D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Hidden Gem
Pool
right from pickup we were rewarded with attentive smiles and politeness. checkin was a breeze and soon we found ourselves beside the pool, basking in the sun! the resort is almost new and i saw on the menu - still in its soft opening. we had the loft room, overall the room was clean and tidy. stairs become a bit much after a while (overall in the resort) also the bathroom is a little on the small size (we compare it typically to the wardrobe - bathroom should always be bigger). the service is slow when you are sitting on the beach chairs and the diving is hard to do to places you want. the reefs out the front are great and the dive master was a very good guide. the staff tend to stand and watch what you are doing, rather than taking the incentive to offer to do it or indeed forseeing it. this is what separates resorts managed by locals as compared to foreign. overall we are definately returning.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

MICHAEL K. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in April 2012
It was a Great place. Staff were nice and friendly
Bar, Ocean View, kids lovedd the pool. On site massage was excellent. Wives loved it.
staff was excellent. drinks were resonable and karoke was fun. Will definately be there at Dive thru resort again on next Bohol trip. Resort is very clean and well kept. Service were excellent.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Julia D. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
Great Staff and Relaxing Holiday Locale
great pool, clean room, and caring stass
We stayed at Dive-Thru for five days, and it was a great holiday. Although the hotel is not directly on Alona Beach, it is a quick walk along a trail to the beach, it was 7 minutes without kids and 20 minutes when I was carrying a beach bag and a 13 kilo 2 year old with an exhausted 4 year old walking behind me. So, it is definitely a do-able walk for anyone. The staff were absolutely terrific with the kids. They chatted with them, turned the bar TV to Disney junior when the wait for a meal was becoming too long, made terrific watermelon and mango juice, and were otherwise excessively patient, thank you to all! The problems? Charges for the little things- instant coffee in your room (35 P), rides in the evening to the main drag (200 P each way etc.) We got around it by either walking to the beach before dark and getting a motorbike ride back, or paying the 200php to get to a restaurant and then riding the motorbikes back (25 pesos per ride, much better than a tricycle on the dirt roads, much cheaper than a taxi (100-125 each way). The other problem, the neighbors burning their trash. There isn't anything the resort can do, and this is a problem throughout the Philippines. It is particularly bad at dusk and dawn when there isn't any wind. They arranged a land tour for us, the tarsiers and the church were both amazing. Skip the "zoo" Yucky, perhaps try the butterfly garden instead. All in all, clean, well maintained, zen-like retreat. We enjoyed ourselves and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dive-thru.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Jeremy M. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2012
Only 2 stars for service
Nice Pool
the customer service needs improvement. the clock did not work, the tv had poor reception, the shower head did not spray water(it trickled), the power cut off 6 times in 30 minutes, there was no fridge, no telephone, and no iron. i asked to use a kayak, was quoted a price, and an hour later they still had no kayak. i had to go 4 kilometers away myself to go rent one. if you are going to scuba dive then this place is probably okay. if not then stay somewhere else. the beach there is not nice but the pool makes up for it. the only good part of my stay was the breakfast and the free trip to the airport
Reviewed April 11, 2012

martyn M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 12 nights in March 2012
beautiful peaceful location
small, bijou hotel
hotel has abeautiful view out to sea, staff are really freindly and helpful, and if you wanted a little more nightlife or beach it is only a 20 minute walk to alona beach which has many restaurants, however the food served in the hotel is nice and very good value. the freelance dive master who takes you diving is very experienced, the diving was ecellent
Reviewed April 11, 2012