or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Donghu Garden Hotel

No. 70 Donghu Road, Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China 200031 (Show on map)

Book now!

Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Interior Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Interior Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Interior Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Interior Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Buffet Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Balcony/Terrace Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe View Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Balcony
Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Suite Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Suite Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Suite - Living Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Superior Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Bar Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Conference Room Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Lobby
Area: Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 110

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
139 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (139)
Sort by:
Natalie P. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 27, 2013
Quiet and peaceful in local neighbourhood

Large spacious room, close to local shops and spas
7
The wing of the DongHu Garden Hotel I stayed in was due to close for renovations the day after I checked out! Hotel was beautiful in a tired and faded way - it will be great when renovated!
Carlos M. Families with young children Macau, July 24, 2013
location, location, location

centrally located in the heart of the old French Concession area, restaurants accessible just a walk away. The hotel has history before the buildings became the hotel.
7
Great location, friendly staff, and old style hotel/
Carlos M. Families with young children Macau, July 23, 2013
delightful and confortable

location, location, location.
7
the hotel is nice and most of all has a past history as most of the old buildings in the area. the beds could be a bit more on the soft side.
Bob R. Business travelers United States of America, April 20, 2013
Building with character; good service & location

Location, price (discount), history
8
This is an old building with character right in the middle of the French Concession. I chose it partly for the location and partly because I wanted to see what this building was like. I understand it was converted from a mansion belonging to Du Yuesheng, or "Big Ears Du", the boss of Shanghai organized crime in the 1930s and 1940s. In other words, it was modern 70 years ago. So I checked out of the Four Seasons on a Tuesday and stayed here the rest of the week and it was such a relief. Competent and friendly low-key service instead of pointless fives-star extras. And a nice old-fashioned layout with big rooms. If you have kids, lots of back stairways to run around on and explore. -- It's important to watch out for price specials! I have stayed in three hotels in these couple of blocks, this one, its branch across the street, and the Fenyang Garden about a block and a half away to the south of Huaihai Zhonglu, and I find their pricing distinguishes their quality pretty accurately. Fenyang Garden is best and most expensive (usually over $150), then Donghu Garden, then the Donghu Hotel across the street (sometimes as low as $45, and not a terrible place). But whenever there's a substantial discount, I'll go to Fenyang Garden or Donghu Garden. Of the two Donghu hotels, I think it's fair to say that this one, Donghu Garden, the somewhat more expensive one in the ganster's old mansion, seems better managed than the cheaper more modern Donghu Hotel across the street. But both have nice staff and are clean and deliver your laundry promptly. There is a bit of the good old socialist bureaucratic style in both, but it's not overwhelming.
Shing T. Business travelers Taiwan, March 31, 2013
nice

clean, nice service, good restaurants around
8
nice with great culture appearance. nice service and around by lots of great restaurants.
Tamara F. Solo travelers United States of America, January 13, 2013
Nice location, modest amenities

Location, cleanliness
5.7
desk staff were not friendly. a little overpriced. no wifi unfortunately, though wagas across the street has it.
Mayke V. Business travelers Netherlands, December 25, 2012
great location

location, location, location
8.3
Great! The hotel is very quiet but once out of the hotel you are in the middle of the busy city centre.
Johan G. Business travelers Sweden, December 2, 2012
Excellent location and fair price

Location, price, atmosphere
7.7
There are a few hotels like this in or close to the French Concession in Shanghai, and they are a pretty charming mix of Western/Chinese style mixed together. The location is great, prices are reasonable and all the usual creature comforts are provided. I personally like staying in hotels that are not your typical, generic "business hotels", but still enjoy watching foreign TV channels, having fast internet etc. Plenty of bars, restaurants, cafés etc. in the neighborhood. Recommended!
Peter B. Business travelers United Kingdom, November 18, 2012
Great Location in French Concession

Ambience of oldish Chinese hotel
8
Great Location in French concession close to shopping, night life, resturant etc. all with walking distance. Very Chinese hotel a little worn round the edges but great ambience and everthing works and the service is good, so no complaints.
Restaurant Tip: Element Fresh 100 meters away - new American food and great bloody mary.
Sara K. India, October 5, 2012
Donghu Garden Hotel

great hotel, great location, great staff
9.3
This is my second time that I stay in Donghu hotel (main building)and i plan to return next year as well - the room was spacious and comfortable, nice view of the street, very sweet houskeepers (i was sick for some days and they took care of me) The building is a bit old so maintanance is not always so perfect. this is the only down side of this great hotel

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Donghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - LobbyDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - BuffetDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Balcony/TerraceDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe View RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe BalconyDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe SuiteDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe SuiteDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Suite - Living RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Superior RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Lobby BarDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Conference RoomDonghu Garden Hotel Shanghai - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3C07