or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Donghu Guest House Xintiandi

No. 7 Donghu Road, Xintiandi and Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Donghu Guest House
Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Interior Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Restaurant Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Interior Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Restaurant Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Interior Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Meeting Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Buffet Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Buffet Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - View Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Surroundings Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Surroundings Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Surroundings Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Fitness Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Swimming Pool
Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Bathroom Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room Donghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room
Area: Xintiandi and Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 165
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
180 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (180)
Sort by:
Wong Y. Solo travelers Singapore, March 23, 2015
good night sleep

good location, clean room, noise free.
7.3
there was no noise could be heard from my room as I saw some comment about noise from nearby pub. the only 2 things I dislike about this hotel is the bad internet connection and missing blanket from bed.
Max L. Business travelers Brazil, December 10, 2014
GREAT LOCATION!

Location, French Bakery downstairs and pool
8
Second time staying because of its location and that's the best part of this hotel. It's more like a 2-star hotel but since its so centrally located to so many things, I can deal staying here. I like the fact that there is a french bakery downstairs so it's very convenient and a great pool to swim. And for the price, you can't beat this location.
Johann U. Business travelers Switzerland, November 19, 2014
November 2014

1. Sauna and Swimming Pool; 2. Check in / Check out; Breakfest buffet
6.3
Rooms are very small for Business men (no sitting facilities in the room exept at the table). Bath room very small and the shower distributer was laking water (seal was defect). No possibilities to change Swiss Francs into Yuan. Clean up room was o.k. Restaurants are o.k.
Michael T. Business travelers United Kingdom, November 2, 2014
Average French Concession hotel

Location, reasonable price, location
5.7
This is not in Xiantiandi, or anywhere near it. Hotel is a little old and Chinese. At one point they rang me to find out when I no longer wanted to not be disturbed. Large pool, but old and Chinese standards.
Goh H. Business travelers Singapore, October 22, 2014
Good location, unfortunately it is dishonest!

location, known by taxi drivers, known by locals.
6.7
The reception gave me the lowest grade room which i did not booked. The hotel booking descriptions showed there will be a standing bath and a round bathtub. They first gave me a smallest walk-up room at the 8th storey without elevator. On protest they changed me to slightly better room on 17th Oct night. My 2nd stay on 21st Oct was given a better room but still did not match the description.
Au F. Business travelers Hong Kong, October 12, 2014
convenience

near shopping area; easy access; clean room
7.7
Bob R. Business travelers United States of America, October 3, 2014
Frequent customer

Location, price, adequacy
8.7
I have stayed at over a dozen hotels in Shanghai in the last couple of years and Donghu Guest House (never mind the "Xintiandi" in the name; it's not close to Xintiandi) is one of a few that I have returned to several times. It is clean, modern and simple; very reasonably priced (between $65 and $75 the last times I have checked); close to two subway stops on three main lines of the Shanghai Metro; a good point of departure for walking tours of the French Concession; and a short walk from dozens of restaurants and places of entertainment of many kinds, not to mention the fancy brand shopping if that's what you're into. (On this block plus Fenyang to the south you can buy a wide range of classical music CDs from street vendors.) -- Do not confuse "Donghu Guest House" with a similarly named hotel (I think under same management) across the street in the mansion that was the home of the 1930s gangster "Big Ears" Du. That historic building is currently being renovated and will probably soon reopen with correspondingly inflated room rates. -- Notes: 1. The elevator only goes to the seventh floor, so don't book an eighth floor room unless you're comfortable lugging suitcases up a narrow stair. 2. Get a room facing the back, because the street is noisy at night because of a recently increased number of bars frequented by Eurotrash and rich local kids. (There are also pleasant restaurants and bars on the street, both fancy and ordinary ones.) -- If you want to pay about half again or twice as much and stay in a very pretty and more spacious hotel in this same area, I recommend Fenyang Garden Hotel, south of Huaihai Zhong Lu on Fenyang Road across from the Shanghai Conservatory of Music.
Douglas S. Solo travelers Canada, September 26, 2014
Grossly overpriced and overrated hotel

Location, cafe in the lobby.
5.3
Very disappointed with this hotel. For the price I expected a room far bigger and nicer. Tiny room with very small, hard bed with pathetic pillows. The staff were indifferent, almost miserable. The only thing good about this hotel is the location and the nice French cafe attached to the lobby.
Peter A. Business travelers United States of America, September 3, 2014
Decent Value for the Money in a Perfect Location

Convenient location close to heart of French Concession, also near Jing'An. Ok room.
7.7
I booked this hotel at the last minute and was satisfied because it was in a great location. I could easily walk into the heart of the French Concession, and also easily walk to the Jing'an Temple area. While I was here, the quiet grounds out front were being torn up for re-"construction". A very typical situation here. Overall, the rooms are ok--but could use some freshening, and it's in a favorable area.
Melinda R. Solo travelers Australia, June 15, 2014
In the heart of the french quarter

Location staff swimming pool
7.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Donghu Guest House Xintiandi ShanghaiDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - RestaurantDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - RestaurantDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - InteriorDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Meeting RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BuffetDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BuffetDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - ViewDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - SurroundingsDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - SurroundingsDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - SurroundingsDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Fitness RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Swimming PoolDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - BathroomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest RoomDonghu Guest House Xintiandi Shanghai - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3A02