or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong

18 Davis Street, Kennedy Town, Hong Kong Island West, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Premier Harbour View with breakfast Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Interior Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Restaurant Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Interior Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Interior Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Interior
Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Interior Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Exterior Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Bathroom Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Single With Breakfast Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Standard With Breakfast Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Deluxe With Breakfast Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Premier Harbour View with breakfast Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Bathroom Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Island West Number of Rooms: 209

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
456 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
6.7
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (456)
Sort by:
Ralitsa M. Couples Bulgaria, February 7, 2012
good, clean and comfortable

new and clean, great staff
8.3
it was clean, comfortable and staff was excellent. convenient location, they also provide a minibus to hk, central. breakfast variety could be improved a bit, but still ok. the hotel is new, which is also a plus.
Igor N. Couples Russia, February 6, 2012
OK location and small room

New hotel
8
Great hotel in residential area kind of away from everything.It was 3 of us and taxi to Central was about 40HK Dollar-not a big deal.Rooms are tiny but well done and clean.Bed and pillows are very comfortable.Breakfast is great.Breakfast room is small but we never waited for the table(hotel wasn't full).
Shopping Tip: There is a few 7eleven's and circle K's around hotel,so u can get drinks and snacks.Also a nice restaurant just around the corner.I paid 75HK Dollars for New Zeland lamb chops including free drink and soup of the day-it is a bargain for Hong Kong! Seems like it is cheaper to Dine away from Down town.
Peter A. Solo travelers Philippines, February 5, 2012
Great Hotel

Very modern rooms
10
rooms where great and very modern,they were a little small but thats hong kong otherwise the view was great,the staff was great and treated you very well and probably the best of any hotel i have stayed at,so if you are planning a trip to hong kong this hotel is highly recomended
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the hotel is about 15 min from the cetral but getting there is so easy as you can take the historical tram
Sin Y. Business travelers Hong Kong, January 31, 2012
Good services

Clean and tidy
6.7
good services but so far away from the mtr station, no shopping area around, not much restaurants in the area as well. but the area is comfortable as near the seaside ans silent
Hotel Feature Tip: A good choice for short trip
Sally C. Couples Singapore, January 29, 2012
Nice Hotel

Cleanliness
7
Hotel is new and clean. Not located within shopping district. We did not really use the free shuttle services but we have no problem getting around by taking the public transports. Bus and tram stops are about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Taxi fare from Lan Kwai Fan or Shun Tak to hotel about HK$35-$40.
Lorraine B. Families with older children Australia, January 28, 2012
Great Hotel Good Location

Great location in older part of Hong Kong. Staff really professional and friendly.Room very nice.
8.7
love this part of hong kong. so easy with public transport so close. good bars and cheap restaurants,cafes nearby. hotel staff very obliging, professional and friendly. only downside was it was very very cold in our room (we visited during chinese lunar ny january 2012) and while our room had air con there was no access to heating available.checked with staff and told no way we could heat up our room as they told us heating was centrally controlled. others complained as well. ended up sleeping wearing hotel bathrobes on top of sleeping wear to sleep to keep warm. ended up going home with colds. nice breakfast, again, attentive and professional staff. would still consider staying again as apart from lack of room heating was really clean, easily accessible hotel with nice rooms.
Wolfgang W. Solo travelers Germany, January 25, 2012
Coldest Hotel night of my life, cramped conditions

it's new, brekkie in cramped conditions included, staff friendly
6.7
difficult review to write in this case. it could have been nice, but unfortunately wasn't. hotel opened less than one year ago. it is in a rather remote and non-touristic, though not unpleasant location in kennedy town, just 5 minutes stroll from the waterfront. free shuttle to sheung wan ferry center and central (for airport train). but i have a problem with hotel-operators that are obviously very greedy cashing in on guests without offering them adequate facilities (sadly, not so unusual in hkg). it started when i arrived. okay i was early at 12 noon and accepted the room was not ready yet, but the lobby is a tiny area without any waiting or seating (just one sofa for 3 pax!) - considering this place has been constructed to accomodate 418 guests ! the receptionist asked me to actually leave the hotel again and come back later. he directed me to a pacific-coffee outlet opposite. which was as cramped and crowded as the lobby. so went back to hotel and headed to the resto on first floor, where i ordered a cup of coffee. saw other guests enjoying the semi-buffet business-lunch and after a while could not resist it and ordered it too cause it looked quite nice. turned out to be very good food at a reasonable rate by hkg-standards (20% discount for inhouse-guests). this resto was as well being used for the breakfast - and you can believe how cramped it is. just 48 seats if i counted that right, which have to cope with up to 418 guests ! although not everyone wants to have bf at the same time, this is ludicrous. unpleasant, crowded and cramped. finally could check in to my room, decor of the room and the entire hotel is pleasant, albeit quirky, but was as cold as inside a fridge. unlike the hotel of same standard i just came from (but could not extend there), the dorsett does not have a heater. was the coldest hotel-night of my life, my fingers stiff so could almost not work on my laptop. left a rather harsh guest-review and gm replied by email quickly and apologised
Hotel Feature Tip: the entire week it was below 10 degrees at night, so always ask if the hotel has a heating system when staying in hkg in january. unfortunately, dorsett too stingy to invest in a combined heating-/ac-system
Jayantika G. Groups India, January 25, 2012
Small but comfy rooms, travel a concern

Smiling, polite staff
5.7
the hotel is nice enough, and most of the staff are quite cheerful and polite. however, travelling is difficult and using the shuttle service is a problem, and so is getting to the hotel if you are not familiar with hong kong. the shuttle only goes to hong kong station and shun tak centre, and it takes about 5 calls to the hotel and 40 minutes for everyone to figure out where exactly you're going to get the shuttle. the day we arrived in hong kong, we took the ferry from macau, and landed at shun tak centre. we had to call the hotel 3-4 times to figure out what time and where the shuttle would be coming - and since it was our first time in hong kong, it was a little difficult for us. the next few days that we stayed in hong kong, we took a cab back. the last day, when we went to disney world and came back at hong kong station, we were supposed to take the hotel shuttle back. we called the hotel at 8.10 pm asking for the pick up place at hks and the exact time (scheduled time was 8.25 pm). we were told to wait at one of the exits, which turned out to be the wrong one (and this too, after multiple calls and running around all over hks - it is very strange that the staff are totally clueless about where and when the shuttle is going), then at 8.20, we were told to go to another exit and that the bus would come at 8.30. we ran back to the other exit and reached there at 8.23. when the bus didn't turn up till 8.35, we called the hotel again only to be told that the shuttle had left (and this was the last shuttle). they told us to take a cab back. by this time, it was raining and we asked around and found a taxi stand, with some 20 people waiting and no cabs. we called the hotel again and asked for directions on where to get public transport from - after two calls and speaking to several people, we got the response that they didn't know, and we should go and ask someone else around. so we stood out in the rain for an hour (wet, teeth chattering) and finally got a cab.
Hotel Feature Tip: Do not rely on the shuttle service of the hotel, or their directions on where to get a cab or public transport back to the hotel! Simply ask them for a card with a map printed on it showing the location of the hotel in English and Cantonese, you can show that to the cabbies and get back to the hotel. Public transport - well, if you can manage to get anything that comes to Kennedy Town, you're doing good - but don't expect the staff to be able to tell you where/how to get the correct buses and all - we tried, and we ended up being stuck outside in the rain for 60 minutes at night. Oh, and the room service menu is really, really limited!
Hsu C. Families with young children Austria, January 19, 2012
Insider Hotel

Sea View
8.7
The crew was very friendly and helpful. They changed the roomtype for me, because I booked a sea view room although it wasn´t printed on the voucher. That was very nice!
Shopping Tip: Come here, get rest and you can shop more. It is quiet and lovely around here.
Rajesh N. Business travelers India, January 17, 2012
A pleasant & comfortable experience

Quiet location, comfortable rooms, good service
6.3
The hotel is a new one in HK island, having opened July '11. For those unfamiliar with HK, it may not be that convenient to reach unless they can take the A10 bus directly from the airport. The MTR extends to Kennedy Town sometime during 2013 and it would be much easier for tourists to move around. However, the area is much quieter as compared to other parts of HK island while being in proximity to central & business districts. Also, the view from my room (esp. any high floors) was quite good as I had some view of the harbour. The hotel stay was very pleasant esp. with the new room and good decor. It only has one restaurant, but it is reasonably good and the area has some comfortable eateries and convenience stores near by. It also has good connectivity with public transport and offers hourly free drop/pick-up services within the Island. In short, I would definitely opt to stay there again - esp. if I get a reasonably good deal.
Hotel Feature Tip: Take the A10 directly from airport, check-out the free pick-up/drop time within HK island and make use of it. Public transport and eateries are available nearby.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - ExteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Premier Harbour View with breakfastDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - RestaurantDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - ExteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - BathroomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Single With BreakfastDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Standard With BreakfastDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Deluxe With BreakfastDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Premier Harbour View with breakfastDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - BathroomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - InteriorDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyDorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong Hong Kong - Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Dorsett Regency Hotel, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A03