Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 2210 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2212 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

soojin L. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Dont understan why people gave high score on it.
Quite place. Good meal.
It was so disappointed. We stayed at delux room but The room was so so so small. Even no place for a bag. And there was stain and hair on the bed and pillow. No parking area, very dirty down town view. So bed. I'll definitly not recommand. I foud a sutton hotel aroun this. It has good view( cheong gae cheon), and charge is reasonable.
Reviewed October 04, 2013

Christian S. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in September 2013
Great deal! Awesome spot, small but clean
Location, Cleanness, Personell
The Location of the Hotel is awesome! Though a little bit behind small shops and fish food places, it is close to Gangnam-3(sam)-ga station. It is also within the old city limits of Seoul and thus close to tourist attractions. Rooms are small and breakfast is ok (included in price). Rooms are clean and people can actually speak English! Great Hotel for the price (62€/night)
Reviewed October 04, 2013

Devin A. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Comfortable and near major attractions
Location, Proximity to Public Transport, and Breakfast
The rooms are small, but for something this close to the heart of Seoul I would say it was worth it. The rooms are clean, but I did rate it low on comfort just because it got a bit stuffy. They do have some sort of air circulation, but it didn't really work that well as far as cooling the room off. It's not like it was unbearable, though. I still would probably recommend you stay here over some other hotels I've stayed at in Seoul. It is conveniently located near a couple of subway lines, and it's not too far of a walk along the river before you reach a place full of restaurants and nightlife. It wasn't too difficult to get from the hotel to the airport. And it's very close to Changdeokgung in which lies the Secret Garden, what I consider to be one of the best tourist sites in Seoul.
Reviewed October 04, 2013

Stephane L. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Great location tiny rooms
Location location location
Small doesn't aptly describe the room sizes. I live in South Korea so I know the standard, and unfortunately this was way too small for us. It reminds me of hotels in Japan... bed, small desk and a bathroom. Zero floor space.
Reviewed October 03, 2013

Chin N. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 8 nights in September 2013
Compact size hotel - real Korean style!
compact design, good internet, clean room
This is my first trip to Korea and I do not know what to expect. Based on my internet research, I have booked this hotel and it turn out to be tag away in a short distance from the main street. While not knowing how the security of the place and if it is safe to walk alone in the dark at late night, I was told that this area USED to be quite BAD in security but has been cleaned up in recent time. During my stay, nothing bad has happened so it is ok. The hotel is kinda compact and small but this is what we have to expect from the high density living in Korea. I will try to stay in other hotels next time I visit Korea again.
Reviewed October 01, 2013

Ulrich K. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in September 2013
cetral located nice staff hotel
central location, nice staffs, nice atmosphere
Each time when we visit korea, we stay in this citycentral hotel with kindly nice staffs, which makes the stay in this hotel with a little bit too small room with but enough big bathroom & staylounge with gratis ice-, hot & coldwatermachine 24 hours.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

TAWATCHAI P. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
good
good relation ship
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Sharon J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Good location but difficult to find. Great staff!
Nice decor, friendly staff. Centrally located.
Although centrally located in the heart of Jongro, near Insadong, the hotel was difficult to find with the maze of small alleyways surrounding it. However, once found, we weren't disappointed with our deluxe room. Breakfast has room for improvement, it was offered from 7-10am but with our stay running into a Sunday morning, most guests merged around 9am to fill their tummies but were met with disappointment as it wasn't replenished at all.... Advice, go down early if you want to eat and make the most of the buffet because once it's gone, it's gone! Overall, can't complain about the hotel.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hom C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Perfect location, Jongo-3-Sam - near subway 2 min
Location, Clean and Modern
We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights. Took a flight and arrived at Incheon airport. We then boarded the Limo Bus (10,000 Won - about 10USD) straight to the city. The bus stops just 30m away from the hotel which is tucked behind many shops. Luckily some nice Koreans assisted us to the hotel. Don't expect 5 stars but great value for the location. Room was a bit small but bathroom has a bathtub - which is a suprise. We also got bath robes - comfortable. The only wierd thing is Air-con, cannot control temp - only ON or OFF. So we had to ON/OFF several times throughout. Overall - we would love to stay again. Its just 5 min walk to the awesome clean river that runs through the city. Also all other shopping (MyeongDong) and palace (Gyeongbukgong) areas are just 15-20 min walk away.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Aaron C. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Underwhelming
Friendly and helpful staff
I'm shocked at the number of overwhelmingly positive reviews on this site and on Trip Advisor. The Doulos Hotel was AT BEST an average business hotel. Yes, the staff were friendly and communicative, but there the building is aging and wasn't kept as clean as it should have been. My room had a water leak in it that dripped water from above onto the bathroom sink table. Drinking glass was seriously cracked and they didn't replace it (I guess maid figured it was OK). I asked for an iron and they didn't have one to send to my room. I actually had to go down into the basement (from the 8th floor) to use one down there. Elevator floor was dirty. Building looks great in photos on the website, but it is clearly an aging building. Taxi driver simply cannot find the place unless you show them a map, as it is located down the back streets. This could be an issue for women traveling alone if they are returning at night. Breakfast food was standard fare - nothing special. The friendliness of the staff took the edge off, however, so my stay wasn't by any means a negative experience. But for 100 dollars per night, I think I'll try a larger, more easy-to-find hotel on my next trip to Seoul.
Reviewed September 26, 2013