arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 58 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 58 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Staff Performance 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.6

8.7 Low B.
Singapore
December 04, 2014
Nice and comfortable Hotel
Bed, hotel decoration and staffs

10 Alanna F.
United Kingdom
October 08, 2014
Fabulous Dream Villa Hotel
Stunning triple room with windows on 3 sides. Very clean. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff
The rooms were beautiful, wood paneled, with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. The owners couldn't have been more helpful even offering to scrub our filthy walking boots for us.

8.7 debra F.
United Kingdom
July 12, 2014
Beautiful Colonial Building
Breakfast, refurbished July 2014
This place was being refurbished in July 2014 whilst we were there. They put us in a lovely huge room at the front of the hotel with massive windows and a stunning balcony. They arranged treks and airport transfers. Breakfast was great and we loved the pancakes, although there was lots more on the menu. They kept bringing us food. Staff are lovely and wont let you lift a finger. Very close to the market and restaurants (2 min walk). Check out 7 Sisters restaurant whilst you are in town. Defo one of the best in Kalaw!!

7 Michelle P.
United Kingdom
June 29, 2014
Comfortable and quaint hotel but no frills
Good location, lots of character, great breakfast
This is a quaint no-frills guest house with quite a few rooms, strangely reminiscent of an alpine lodge, covered as it is with local pine -- from the ceilings to the walls. The rooms are pretty basic, and tired and worn in places, but the place has a certain bucolic charm. Kalaw is a small town, so location-wise it's fine, although it overlooks a school which was pretty rowdy during the day (one to bear in mind if you plan to have a midday nap). There was, however, no air con in our room which for me is a big issue, and wasn't really clear from the website in my view (although it's possible I missed this). It was manageable because Kalaw was only in the 20s, but I don't know how hot it gets in high season, so check the temperature before you book. There was a decent minibar. The staff were sweet and served the most incredible breakfast. We stayed here for one night, and for this purpose it was absolutely fine, and good value for money (during low season).

8.3 Mary L.
United States
January 19, 2014
Good hotel to stay at before starting a trek
Hotel was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfast!
We stayed 1 night at this hotel before heading out on a 3-day trek to Inle Lake with Sam's Trekking Company (which was amazing). This hotel was beautifully decorated, was clean and safe, and had friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was very good.

6 Edward W.
United Kingdom
January 05, 2014
Budget Backpacker hotel that did the job
Good location, helpful staff and large breakfast
The Dream Villa did the job for our one night stay but I don't think you would want to stay any longer. Our room was small but perfectly equipped. It wasn't particularly clean, however, and could certainly do with a lick of paint here and there. I would describe it as a functional backpacker hotel which is perhaps a notch above the usual.

7.7 PANG H.
Malaysia
December 26, 2013
Economical
Pleasant staff, price and location
The senior lady staff at the reception is very efficient. She handled my request for laundry, transport etc very well.

9 carol W.
United Kingdom
December 13, 2013
Lovely welcoming hotel with a balcony and views
Staff, location and hotel building as it reminded me of a Swiss mountain hotel.
Wish we could have stayed longer to soak up the lovely hotel and its views.

7.7 Maxime K.
France
November 09, 2013
Good location to start a trek
Breakfast, confortable beds, connections with the trekking guide

7 Amanda R.
United Kingdom
October 13, 2013
Nice place
Room, breakfast and location
Staff friendly and breakfast was fab just what I needed before my two day trek. Room was big however no air con but that was not needed.