or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Duchess Pension

107 E. Valencia Street, Puerto Princesa City Proper, Puerto Princesa City, Philippines 5300 (Show on map)

Book now!

Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Entrance Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Guest Room Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Guest Room Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Lobby Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Reception Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Double Room
Area: Puerto Princesa City Proper Number of Rooms: 22
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.4

based on
30 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
7.2
Staff Performance
5.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
5.1
All reviews (30)
Sort by:
Teodora F. Groups Philippines, March 10, 2014
Good Place to Stay

budget friendly, accommodating staff, near the public market
8.3
This is my 3rd time to stay in Duchess, always for a day or two only as past visits we were only in Puerto Prinsesa to go to El Nido. I like that it is walking distance to the public market for cheap cashew, the staff are nice, and it's cheap. I've never had issues with bed bugs, room and sheets are always clean, and they serve breakfast for PHp 70-100. This is a budget hotel, so don't expect the frills, but if you just need an air conditioned room to stay the night, then this is the place to go.
Peter M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 8, 2014
Did the job very nicely.

Air conditioning AND fan in my room, leaving bag behind counter, comfortable bed.
8
Staff could have been much friendlier but for a one night stay en route to Puerto Princesa airport, the Duchess Pension on Valencia Street gives you fantastic value for money. With double rooms going for very competitive prices, the space you get affords the privacy and basic comfort and cleanliness needed for an agreeable stay. There weren't any frilly extras; and at one point it looked like they had forgotten my booking! However, I was able to leave my bag behind the counter after I had checked out (returning for it later on, after some sightseeing of the town), and I felt that, had I been staying longer, I might have been able to take advantage of the tour packages that they offered. I could only have hoped for better and more amenable hosts!
Jaume P. Couples Spain, July 5, 2013
Simple, very simple

Very simple hotel and cheap. Goog location but nothing else.
5.7
We spent 2 nights at Duchess Pension. Room without hot water -usual in Palawan-, clean but you have to share the bathroom with ants. Also common in the island. Breakfast wasn't worth, very poor. Except the man at the recepcion, the other staff don't even say "good morning".
De M. Families with young children Philippines, May 14, 2013
Needs a lot of improvement

TNear the airport, good restaurants and souvenir shops. It is centrally located so it is not hard to go to the main street and look for good foo
5
The bathroom has a foul smell. This is one of the things I consider when I travel that this area should be clean. The size of the room is big enough for two 2 people staying for a minimum of 3 nights. If you have budget constraints, you can try to stay here but ask for a room that is clean enough to your standards.
Yi Z. Families with older children China, February 14, 2013
Good location

Good location
7
Good location, friendly staff.Our room is okay, with all basic things you need for the stay. Clean bathroom.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: 20-30mins away from Butterfly garden and Crocodile farm by tricyle
Shazia A. Couples United Kingdom, February 9, 2013
Close to airport

Proximity to airport
6.7
We stayed here as we where looking for somewhere close to the airport. For one night it does exactly what it needs to. We where close to all necessary amenities with a good variety of restaurants near by. The room was comfortable and clean.
Peter D. Solo travelers Netherlands, December 25, 2012
Basic hotel, good value for money

Clean rooms, good location, relatively cheap
6.3
i stayed at duchess for a night on my way to el nido. the pension is located near the main road for shopping and dining. the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. the pension is good value for money for budget travellers.
Minh K. Couples Vietnam, November 13, 2012
Budget, Cozy & Very Friendly Hotel

located at town centre (convenience stores, internet, printing, etc.), very budgetary and friendly
8
We were so pleased with the hotel that we extent our stay to one more days(total 03 days). The staff is very friendly, and of course supportive. Benjie the receptionist even went an extra mile, voluntarily, to help us make phone calls several times early in the morning to check the tour package we had booked (even when we didn't book the tour at their hotel). The room is a bit old, but very well kept. We could see staff did their routine cleaning of lobby and rooms twice per day, and this is exactly what we need: cleanliness. The hotel is located right at the town centre with very short walking distance to Rizal Avenue with convenience stores, internet, printing stations, restaurants and some bars. Room rates are also very good, if you go for rooms with shared bathroom, you can save two third of the expense, and the public bathrooms/toilets is very clean.
Agripina V. Groups Philippines, July 13, 2012
Simple and clean

Friendly staff
7.3
The hotel is clean and simple. Good value for your money. Location is also within the city, the market where we can buy fresh seafood is just a walking distance. The staff are very accommodating.
Chris W. Groups Canada, July 3, 2012
Decent hotel for people that are under budget

Very cheap price to stay
7
The time we stayed at Duchess pension hotel was decent. Nothing special about it beside it was very cheap.The only con side of staying there, was their bathroom. You don't get any hot water and the toilet can barely flush down anything down the drain. If cleanliness is one of your priority, I recommend you not to stay here. However, if your a type of person who was under budget with your money, staying duchess pension is a good idea.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Duchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - FacadeDuchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - EntranceDuchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Guest RoomDuchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Guest RoomDuchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - LobbyDuchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - ReceptionDuchess Pension Puerto Princesa City - Double Room


AS-AGWEB-3B04