Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

East Hotel

No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road, Kyauktada Township, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
1641 reviews

985 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (1641)
Sort by:
Edwina T. Couples Singapore, March 30, 2014
Basic hotel but great location

location, location, location
6.7
East Hotel is not a boutique hotel - but it is a good average hotel. The best thing is the location, walking distance to many sights and restaurants, and with taxi's always outside. It's also only max 40mins to the airport even when traffic is busy (10mins at night). We had a retro concept deluxe room as a friend who had stayed there said it was much better than the concept deluxe. Certainly the room was a good size, with a safe, wardrobe, small desk and decent bed. Air con was very efficient. Bathrooms were ok - in our first room (2nd floor) we had great water pressure; not so much in our 2nd room on the 7th floor. Walk in shower, toilet and wash basin. Hot water always available. In one room the bathroom was only separated from the main room by a screen and the shower looked on to the bed so make sure you are very friendly if you are sharing a room! However a couple of things really let the hotel down: - mosquito's: Not much you can do about them outside, but the breakfast room was full of them, and the first bedroom we had was full of them (it was in the building next door to the main hotel). Take coils to burn and repellant. - breakfast: fairly average, food on the buffet didn't look too fresh but we ate it and no problems. Plenty of juice (not fresh though) and tea/coffee. They also offer eggs/pancakes from a menu but on our 2nd visit we had to ask for the menu, no staff offered and they were slow to clear the tables etc. - check out: the staff told us the hotel was not full and so we asked to check out at 2pm (vs 12pm). They told us no way, and they didn't even have anywhere else to shower or freshen up for our flight. Other than that the staff were very friendly and made restaurant reservations for us, got us taxi's etc. - value: Hotel is way over priced compared to other SE Asian cities, but probably a fair price for Yangon. Don't expect to get what you would for this money in e.g. Hanoi or Bangkok though.
Report this review
Trent E. Business travelers Australia, March 21, 2014
Great location and staff

Quality of staff; central Yangon location; good breakfast dishes
7.7
Very helpful staff at check-in and check-out and with advice/directions etc. in between. Simple but very enjoyable breakfast buffet. Easy to do business from. Central and convenient. Wi-fi on the 8th floor was not so great but in the dining area it was fine to work with.
Report this review
Manoj W. Business travelers Sri Lanka, March 13, 2014
Right in the middle of the business district

Proximity, staff,
7.7
Decent hotel, right across the road from the Traders hotel. The East hotel rooms were well appointed, but being very close to the busy street, can tend to be noisy at times. The price is definitely expensive for this standard of hotel, but in Yangon, every hotel is expensive, most of them would go at half the price they charge, if it was in any other city in Asia. A good 20 minute walk to the Schwedagon pagoda, which was a truly remarkable place, a must see in Yangon. Overall, friendly staff, who are very helpful, and genuinely care for their guests.
Report this review
Djunaedy -. Business travelers Indonesia, March 12, 2014
great location, yet high price

location, location and location
6.3
the best thing of this hotel is the location while others i.e. food and other facilities are just fine.
Report this review
Lene K. Couples Denmark, March 9, 2014
interesting city and country

location, friendly staff, free water
6
The hotel is ok except for the toilet and bathroom, which are in open connection to the room. There is only a folding door and NO privacy. The elevator is claustrofobically small, and with much waiting time. I had to climb the stairs to 4th floor several times every day. Not funny.
Report this review
Viwat W. Business travelers Thailand, March 8, 2014
good location

location, service and reasonable price
8
i have a good time there. staff is friendly. hotel is located at center of business and shopping area.
Report this review
Viwat W. Business travelers Thailand, March 8, 2014
Value for Money

location, service and price
8
Happy
Report this review
Frederick M. Business travelers Hong Kong, March 5, 2014
Room with bad drainage smell

location is good, breadfast is ok, room with bad smell
5.7
The room is small, with open space design, meaning no physical wall or door to separate the bed and the washroom. The design is ok, but since the room I had with drainage issue, the room is full of bad smell. Try to change the room, but the hotel is fully booked. Stay only for two nights, will never go back again.
Report this review
Johnny F. Business travelers Malaysia, February 28, 2014
Feel at home

Friendly staff, Good location, Safe
9
It was good. The room is clean, staff is very attentive and friendly. The location is great, very near to one of the pagodas, shopping areas and just right opposite Trader's Hotel. The breakfast was OK, not too fantastic. Overall, I like the hotel.
Report this review
Ding Z. Solo travelers Singapore, February 28, 2014
Simple with not much to expect

English speaking staff, friendly staff and central location
6.7
It was pretty normal and decent. Expect nothing special from the services to the room. The room itself do not have much facilities other than a TV and coffee machine. No fridge etc, even the toilet and shower room do not have a door and have something like a curtain.
Report this review
Previous page 141 - 150 of 985 reviews Next page
East Hotel YangonEast Hotel Yangon - Amber CafeEast Hotel Yangon - ReceptionEast Hotel Yangon - Hotel InteriorEast Hotel Yangon - Deluxe DoubleEast Hotel Yangon - RooftopEast Hotel Yangon - RestaurantEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - EntranceEast Hotel Yangon - Retro Deluxe East Hotel Yangon - Retro StairwaysEast Hotel Yangon - Junior Suite East Hotel Yangon - Amber CafeEast Hotel Yangon - Fitness RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Junior SuiteEast Hotel Yangon - Fitness RoomEast Hotel Yangon - ExteriorEast Hotel Yangon - ReceptionEast Hotel Yangon - CorridorEast Hotel Yangon - Fitness RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Nearby AttractionEast Hotel Yangon - RestaurantEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - InteriorEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - InteriorEast Hotel Yangon - ViewEast Hotel Yangon - Sule PagodaEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Coffee Shop/CafeEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Junior SuiteEast Hotel Yangon - Junior Suite


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01