Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

East Hotel

No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road, Kyauktada Township, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

East Hotel Yangon - Amber Cafe East Hotel Yangon - Reception East Hotel Yangon - Hotel Interior East Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Double East Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Double East Hotel Yangon - Rooftop East Hotel Yangon - Restaurant East Hotel Yangon - Guest Room East Hotel Yangon - Entrance East Hotel Yangon - Retro Deluxe East Hotel Yangon - Retro Stairways East Hotel Yangon - Junior Suite East Hotel Yangon - Amber Cafe East Hotel Yangon - Fitness Room East Hotel Yangon - Junior Suite East Hotel Yangon - Fitness Room
East Hotel Yangon - Exterior East Hotel Yangon - Reception East Hotel Yangon - Corridor East Hotel Yangon - Fitness Room East Hotel Yangon - Nearby Attraction East Hotel Yangon - Guest Room East Hotel Yangon - Guest Room East Hotel Yangon - Interior East Hotel Yangon - Guest Room East Hotel Yangon - Guest Room East Hotel Yangon - Reception East Hotel Yangon - View
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 48
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 1561 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (1561)
Sort by:
Weilai W. Groups China, September 30, 2013
clean room with very friendly staffs

staff, cleanliness, bed
8.7
Report this review
Nilar M. Couples Australia, September 29, 2013
everything was ok except the shower

great location , polite staff, free water bottles
7
everything is ok with east hotel except the shower which was nearly flooded every time we showered. i told the reception to take action but they didn't. i had read the previous visitors' complaints over this shower flooding problem in the tripadvisor and other online sites before we went there but we had already bought for the stay so couldn't do much about it.
Report this review
John C. Business travelers Canada, September 27, 2013
Great location, excellent staff & service

Location, service, value (relative to Yangon)
8.7
Excellent! The staff were very accommodating and friendly. One minor issue: there were tiny ants in the room (night table).
Report this review
Lorraine W. Business travelers Singapore, September 25, 2013
Pleasant

Internet speed, friendly staff, easy access
6.3
Overall, it's acceptable. Breakfast needs to be improved
Report this review
Lorraine W. Business travelers Singapore, September 25, 2013
Pleasant.... staff were friendly.

Location. 24hrs dining.
7
I was upgraded to the Junior Suite - probably because I'm a repeat customer. So, it's good to stay loyal to a particular hotel.
Report this review
Teng S. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 25, 2013
Great shower- large & strong water

Right in main attractions area. The shower is probably one of the better one amongst the hotels I had stayed.
7.3
OK.Friendly and helpful staff. Reception area a bit dark, even the staff got problem reading with the poor lighting.
Report this review
David A. Business travelers United States of America, September 24, 2013
Decent downtown option that won't break the bank

Location, breakfast, friendly staff
7.7
This was my 4th stay at the East Hotel since it opened in 2012. Last year it was one of the few mid-range hotels in the city that was actually clean, well-located, and with internet access. That said, I think the other competition is coming up quick. Due to its early start since Myanmar's opening, The East has gotten a lot of good reviews, and the hotel is rightfully popular among tourists and businessmen alike. However, with the hotel so full, it seems the service and general ambience of the hotel is suffering. The wait for the lift could take as long as 7 minutes! Andwhen you get on, housekeeping staff get on and go up or down 2 floors. I'm usually not one to complain, but as a former service industry worker, staff should not use the single lift during high traffic hours to go up and down a few floors, especially if they arent carrying anything. The electronic key system malfunctioned and it took over 15 minutes to get the problem fixed. I was just going to go down to rreception myself, but a staff member insisted that I wait in the hallway while he took care of it and went who knows where! Afterr 10 minutes I finally just had a housekeeper let me in the room, and thestaff member with my fixed key finally re-appeared. Overall, for the price, I would recommend trying one of the other newer hotels downtown, or even considering an upgrade to Traders.
Report this review
Alain U. Couples United States of America, September 23, 2013
when going to a developping country pay the price

good location, nice staff, Middle of the city
5.7
The hotel looks good on the advertising but although it was barely acceptable, I think you should book a five stars hotel in a developing country as Myanmar.
Report this review
Travis B. Business travelers United States of America, September 23, 2013
Great Location and Price, Average Quality

Location, Price, Location
6.7
Staff were great and the location is excellent (across from Trader's Hotel, next to Sakura Tower) but the rooms aren't fantastic. My room had tile flooring with several chipped sections covered in non-tile material. This was a re-purposed building, as the bathrooms are obvious add-ins to the room (temporary dividing walls for shower and toilet). TV didn't work properly when I arrived, but the staff responded promptly to address that issue. This is a value-alternative versus staying at the Trader's during conferences or while doing business at Sakura Tower, FMI Centre, or CentrePoint.
Report this review
Samuel K. Business travelers Australia, September 18, 2013
ok

location price
8
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

East Hotel Yangon - RestaurantEast Hotel Yangon - Amber CafeEast Hotel Yangon - ReceptionEast Hotel Yangon - Hotel InteriorEast Hotel Yangon - Deluxe DoubleEast Hotel Yangon - Deluxe DoubleEast Hotel Yangon - RooftopEast Hotel Yangon - RestaurantEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - EntranceEast Hotel Yangon - Retro Deluxe East Hotel Yangon - Retro StairwaysEast Hotel Yangon - Junior Suite East Hotel Yangon - Amber CafeEast Hotel Yangon - Fitness RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Junior SuiteEast Hotel Yangon - Fitness RoomEast Hotel Yangon - ExteriorEast Hotel Yangon - ReceptionEast Hotel Yangon - CorridorEast Hotel Yangon - Fitness RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Nearby AttractionEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - InteriorEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - ReceptionEast Hotel Yangon - ViewEast Hotel Yangon - Sule PagodaEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Coffee Shop/CafeEast Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomEast Hotel Yangon - Junior SuiteEast Hotel Yangon - Junior Suite

Customer Reviews - East Hotel, Yangon

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08