Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.9
Based on 1944 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1944 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.4

WANG J. from Taiwan
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2016
worth a stay at least one night when everyone visits Penang
It's part of culture of Penang. I love the swimming pool, restaurant and the happy hour is really good thing even I checked in late and missed it. Only not that good thing is wifi not that stable.
Reviewed May 09, 2016

Chow S. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Nice hotel
Spacious room, friendly staff, nice buffet. Overall is good!
Reviewed May 09, 2016

Fakrey F. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2016
Stuff need to be trained
E&o staff lack of professionalism.they don't say please they don't great you.i think the service has gone down in term of friendliness .the guy at the pool area seems like he's not there to serve. Word such as please and thank you is something that the E&o should teach the staff.
Reviewed May 09, 2016

Kimmy K. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Wide varieties of food at breakfast, but quality so-so
It provides international breakfast buffet, but the taste is just 3-star. You won't lose much if you skip it.
Reviewed May 08, 2016

Suchitra P. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in May 2016
Good
Good
Reviewed May 07, 2016

Yen P. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in May 2016
Amazing colonial hotel
Wonderful! Everything is perfect and top notch! Will definitely come back for more
Reviewed May 07, 2016

Caroline H. from France
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Excellent stay
Used all the facilities of this beautiful hotel perfectly located
Reviewed May 06, 2016

Georgina H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Accomodating
We came here for a two day stay and to take our engagement photos. The Front Desk staff were efficient and impeccably mannered, particularly when we found that they had not sorted out our authorisation in advance, they immediately looked into it and sorted it out. We were disappointed that we had booked a room with a king bed, to be given one with twins. They were obliging and pushed them together, but that meant that one of us ended up sleeping on the join between the two, which was uncomfortable. Our experience at the breakfast area was not so positive. We arrived close to the start, and it was half full of guests, with one poor waiter trying to figure out who wanted coffee and tea. It wasn't clear if we were supposed to get this ourselves. It was a buffet with some freshly cooked items, but it took some milling around of various guests before anyone was there to actually make the items. The rest of the staff rolled in when we had been there for about half an hour - they didn't seem so bothered about being late. The hotel itself has a beautiful colonial build and, despite being next to a large and slightly skeezy club, there is no noise pollution. Drainage in the sinks was a little poor, but that is to be expected of old plumbing.
Reviewed May 06, 2016

Brian P. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in May 2016
Great
Excellent stay
Reviewed May 05, 2016

Gary C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
leisure
if you like to club and don't wanna drive back drunk get this hotel - nearby is a street full of clubs and pubs otherwise perfect spread of food and ample parking space
Reviewed May 03, 2016