or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Eastern And Oriental Hotel

10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lobby
Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness Room Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lounge Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Pool Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at Verandah Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
1167 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (1167)
Sort by:
Michele C. Couples United States of America, February 28, 2014
Pleasant annual stay at the E&O

Location, seafront view, quiet
8
This has been our hotel of choice during our annual visit to Penang over the years, however, service remains slow, spotty and disorganized especially during breakfast. The switches in the Annex room are confusing and the fruit plate when it did materialized two days into our stay was old and unappetizing. We were pleasantly surprised to find a little museum behind the lobby elevators. Because of its inconspicuous location, it would be helpful to have visible signage with opening and closing times of this little gem of a place.
Mary G. Solo travelers India, February 26, 2014
Luxurious after 6 weeks travelling around SE Asia

The staff. My room.The infinity pool
9.7
My stay was exceptional from check-in to departure.Helpful staff from the front desk to housekeeping.All areas of the hotel I came across were clean and well maintained. Staff in all areas were attentive to detail. They always smiled and greeted one and nothing was too much trouble.Above all I felt safe
Sophie D. Groups United Kingdom, February 23, 2014
wonderfully relaxing

Helpful & friendly service, quiet relaxing atmosphere at pool, good location
9.7
The E&O was a beautiful hotel, more expensive than I would normally pay, but worth it for a special treat! Because I was staying in the Victory Annexe, the non-alcoholic drinks in the mini-bar were free (and restocked regularly) and there was also a coffee machine in the room (which I didn't use). The free standing bathtub was beautiful. The pool was so quiet and relaxing, with staff bringing ice water to my table regularly. It was also brilliant to have a selection of wines, spirits, juices and snacks available for free from 5pm-7pm in the bar on the 6th floor. I had a wonderful time.
David M. Couples United States of America, February 23, 2014
Centrally located, elegant old time hotel

Comfortable, cenrally located in the historic district, friendly staff
8
Very pleasant quick getaway from Singapore. A good choice for our first visit to Penang.
Thomas W. Business travelers Malaysia, February 21, 2014
Pleasant, friendly and comfortable

Great freindly staffs, attentive staffs & responsive
7.7
Nice and good experience. Enjoyed the colonial feel and well preserved history of the hotel. Thumbs up to the staffs friendlyness and responsive.
Lars G. Couples Sweden, February 21, 2014
Excellent

Excellent location and architecture, interesting history and a very nice staff
9.7
Stephen W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 20, 2014
Luxury at a reasonable price

Large suiteroom, ambience, specialtiy restaurant
10
The E & O is famous in Asia and lived up to my expectations. Comparable with Raffles, Singapore but for a third the price. The service, from check-in onwards, was impeccable. There are two wings to the hotel - the original Heritage wing, where I had a room, provided slightly dated bathrooms and furniture (but very well maintained), but this was what I was looking for. There is also the larger, new Victory wing if you prefer to be in a new-build room. The buffet breakfast was as good as you could get anywhere. I dined twice in the speciality restaurant '1885' and it was well worth it. I was slightly surprised that in the evening in the bar there wasn't a minimum dress code, so some people were still in shorts, which slightly ruined the otherwise elegant atmosphere. But that's just me and reflects the informality of the modern world. Overall, everything was excellent.
Hiu Y. Couples United Kingdom, February 18, 2014
Legendary hotel that did not disappoint

It's really luxurious, the rooms are tastefully done and enormous, and the property is generally very impressive
8.7
It really is a special hotel. Even though most of it was recently built, the whole place has retained the charm of a bygone era. The room was magnificent. But beware of mosquitoes if you open up the windows and just have the fan on! The bars were delightful venues for a G&T (though avoid the . It was a great treat staying there and I'd love to be back one day. There were just a couple of things that didn't measure up to other luxury hotels like the Peninsular or the Mandarin. The staff, while eager enough to please, were all just a bit too green to respond to requests as graciously as one would hope, and to know enough about the hotel's history. The breakfast buffet had a big enough spread, but the quality just wasn't quite up to five-star level. And there is a new construction site next to the heritage wing in Feb 2014 that will ruin the tranquility of the lovely garden/ pool area for months on end. Which is why I'm so glad we went when we did!
Lennart O. Couples Sweden, February 17, 2014
Great honeymoon place_culture_lesaure place

Everything is good
7.7
Fantastic
Robin Y. Couples Malaysia, February 16, 2014
Excellent service and room

Room, staff and food
10
My stay was well above expectations. Highly recomended! Stay in the Victory wing

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LobbyEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel InteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interiorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LoungeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at VerandahEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - TerraceEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BallroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Ballroom - ClassroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - View

Customer Reviews - Eastern And Oriental Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B06