My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Eastern And Oriental Hotel

10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lobby
Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness Room Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lounge Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Pool Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at Verandah Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
1120 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (1120)
Sort by:
Wendy G. Couples United Kingdom, December 29, 2013
Excellent

History, location,staff
9
Our fifth stay at the E&O and once again we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff, especially the concierge's staff,are excellent.The hotel is a little more expensive than others in George Town but it is well worth the money.
Jean N. Couples Switzerland, December 29, 2013
Beautiful property, friendly service

The colonial architecture and charm, the location, the rooms
9
Beautiful property, great location and very good service. A couple of service lapses at some of the restaurants (Sarkies Corner in particular) but very friendly staff and service. Manager focused on recovering the situation and addressing our needs. Went out of their way to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
Jonathan E. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 29, 2013
Underwhelming experience

Room design was good, staff were very friendly and swimming pools were well sited.
8
Our expectations of this historical hotel were high, on arrival the new annexe looked good and staff were friendly and efficient. Initial impression of the rooms were good design but was spoiled by confusing array of light switches, and particularly the provison of only 2-pin plug sockets at the desk, standard of workmanship was less than perfect. The lock on the balcony sliding door was unserviceable, one of the cupboard lights had dangling wiring and did not work, nor did the standard lamp. These are the sort of flaws that one does not expect in a 5 start hotel. The rooms flaws were not the most didappointing aspect of this potentially great hotel. Dining room service was chaotic particularly in Sarkies Corner where staff seemed confused and disorganised, people waiting for tables while staff struggled to clean up used dishes. At the Xmas day dinner one of us was served the wrong dinner, and they subsequently forgot the replacement meal, and served the incorrect wine. The next day at Sarkies the chef forgot to prepare one dish. E & O Hotel has a wonderful historic building and the new annexe both of which look very impressive and have potential. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and trying their best but the poor organisation in the dining rooms and the room flaws, noted above, suggest poor overall management who do not pay attention to detail.
Azian S. Families with older children Malaysia, December 27, 2013
A relaxing stay

Location, beach view and comfortable bed
8.3
I enjoyed my stay at the Eastern and Oriental because the Suite room faces the sea and is super comfortable. We also enjoy the breakfast and evening tea/drinks on the 6th floor where we can have Tea in a most relaxing and pleasant environment. However, the Housekeeping can be better in cleaning the rooms. Although breakfast is a bit chaotic on the ground floor dining room, the waiters are so polite and constantly smiling, that you forgive them easily. Ditto the butler service.
Latifah R. Families with older children Malaysia, December 23, 2013
Luxury hotel with colonial touch

Clean, spacious and quiet
7.7
Comfortable, my family love this hotel as the room and bathroom are spacious and clean with complimentary good choice of coffee, tea, snacks and soft drinkls. The breakfast spread is nice but the service is a bit slow as not enough attentive staff. Location wise, though it is in the city but it is a bit far off from the main city centre
Kim C. Couples Singapore, December 23, 2013
Mixed feelings...Beauty was only skin deep

Good location, ocean view and spaciousness
7.3
We arrived on 21 Dec Sat and stayed for 2 nights. The façade was impressive and so were the furnishings. Upon arrival, we were told that the system was down and we could not check in. We couldn't help but notice that most of the staff looked flustered. We were ushered to Level 6 for free flow of coffee and tea while waiting to be checked in. Thankfully, all was fine after an hour and we checked into our room. The in-room experience was a disappointment for the following reasons. We concluded this after the first round of housekeeping when we returned back to our rooms on Day 2 evening: 1) Our slippers were left in the exact same position as we left them. Unarranged. 2) There were 2 sink towels provided on each sink, out of which 1 was used. We expected the used one to be replenished but it wasn't. My half-used toothpaste was left there, uncapped. 3) Our maps and reading & writing material which we placed on the couch were left in their original positions, with no attempt to tidy them 4) The final straw came when we realised our cups were not washed and left in their original positions from the night before. This was appalling for a hotel which prides itself to be at the same league as a premium luxury hotel. Other observations: - poorly designed room (light switches were not placed in strategic positions) - toiletries provided were of very average quality - inferior quality toothpaste, shampoo and conditioner - no ironing board provided - we were also quoted different prices by different hotel staff when we checked the taxi fare to BM. Nice touch - we were allowed to use the pool even after we had checked out as our flight was an evening flight. However, the shower room had no hooks for hanging. My partner and I could live with the above shortcomings if it was a 3 or 4 star hotel, but certainly not with E&O. Much room for improvement desired.
Pei C. Couples Malaysia, December 21, 2013
Mediocre experience

Centrally located, ample room size and new (victory annex)
5
Room was large and new (clean). Bathroom though was not well designed. Service at reception was not friendly or warm and this is something that was the most disappointing. Clearly the hotel has yet to make customer service and experience as part of their DNA unlike the likes if Shang. It was a relatively pricey for the service and quality of food and beverage offerings. Sampling of the club pre dinner drinks etc and breakfast wasn't memorable. They have to try harder.
Ben K. Business travelers Singapore, December 17, 2013
Comfortable

Location, view, comfortable
9.3
wonderful , comfortable stayed, beautiful hotel & room
Bian L. Families with young children Malaysia, December 16, 2013
it was truly an amazing experience

as mentioned above
9.7
I find the quality of this hotel to be exceptionally good due to the heritage concept and designs. The staff are very helpful and knows their job well. I will definitely be back.
Jesmin T. Families with young children Singapore, December 15, 2013
Relaxing in comfortable and elegant environment

Luxurious, quiet and comfortable surroundings, international spread of buffet breakfast and quality ala-carte food options, excellent friendly customer service
8
Great - wished I could have extended the stay to fully utilise the facilities

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LobbyEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel InteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interiorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LoungeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at VerandahEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - TerraceEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BallroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Ballroom - ClassroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - View

Customer Reviews - Eastern And Oriental Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3C06