or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Eastern And Oriental Hotel

10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lobby
Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness Room Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lounge Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Pool Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at Verandah Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
1170 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (1170)
Sort by:
Ralph A. Couples Philippines, January 18, 2014
E&O hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in

excellwnt rooms. nice pool. good food.
9
It was an overnight stay but its worth it. Relaxation to the max. Pool was great. Food was great. A bit pricy but worth it.
Michael B. Couples Australia, January 14, 2014
Brilliant

History Staff Peaceful
10
We celebrated our 46th Wedding Aniversary and had a great time.
Tehmine L. Couples Canada, January 13, 2014
Charming and upscale colonial hotel

View, service, facilities
8
We were wonderfully surprised! Upon reading reviews, we opted for the Victoria Annexe and were not disappointed. The room we were given was superb, on a high floor with a spectacular ocean view. Service was attentive and to a high standard. Salim at the reception was especially helpful.
Jing L. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 12, 2014
luxurious and classy

size of the room and bathroom, buffet breakfast, sea view
8
Ruth K. Families with older children Australia, January 12, 2014
Ideal holiday

Location, room and hotel amenities
8
After three weeks travelling through China, four days at the E & O was a great way to re-charge our batteries. We loved the room and the view from our 7th floor balcony. Only criticism was shower alcove needed a serious scrub between some of the lower wall tiles as mould was growing. Breakfast table service was also a little slack one morning - noticed two of the managers were in there the next morning and table service had picked up again considerably, so maybe others had complained. Apart from that, we highly recommend this hotel to others.
Carsten L. Couples Denmark, January 2, 2014
Excellent hotel

Atmosphere, location, pool
9.7
Excellent, romantic, this hotel has all the charm a hotel should have
Wendy G. Couples United Kingdom, December 29, 2013
Excellent

History, location,staff
9
Our fifth stay at the E&O and once again we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff, especially the concierge's staff,are excellent.The hotel is a little more expensive than others in George Town but it is well worth the money.
Jean N. Couples Switzerland, December 29, 2013
Beautiful property, friendly service

The colonial architecture and charm, the location, the rooms
9
Beautiful property, great location and very good service. A couple of service lapses at some of the restaurants (Sarkies Corner in particular) but very friendly staff and service. Manager focused on recovering the situation and addressing our needs. Went out of their way to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
Jonathan E. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 29, 2013
Underwhelming experience

Room design was good, staff were very friendly and swimming pools were well sited.
8
Our expectations of this historical hotel were high, on arrival the new annexe looked good and staff were friendly and efficient. Initial impression of the rooms were good design but was spoiled by confusing array of light switches, and particularly the provison of only 2-pin plug sockets at the desk, standard of workmanship was less than perfect. The lock on the balcony sliding door was unserviceable, one of the cupboard lights had dangling wiring and did not work, nor did the standard lamp. These are the sort of flaws that one does not expect in a 5 start hotel. The rooms flaws were not the most didappointing aspect of this potentially great hotel. Dining room service was chaotic particularly in Sarkies Corner where staff seemed confused and disorganised, people waiting for tables while staff struggled to clean up used dishes. At the Xmas day dinner one of us was served the wrong dinner, and they subsequently forgot the replacement meal, and served the incorrect wine. The next day at Sarkies the chef forgot to prepare one dish. E & O Hotel has a wonderful historic building and the new annexe both of which look very impressive and have potential. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and trying their best but the poor organisation in the dining rooms and the room flaws, noted above, suggest poor overall management who do not pay attention to detail.
Azian S. Families with older children Malaysia, December 27, 2013
A relaxing stay

Location, beach view and comfortable bed
8.3
I enjoyed my stay at the Eastern and Oriental because the Suite room faces the sea and is super comfortable. We also enjoy the breakfast and evening tea/drinks on the 6th floor where we can have Tea in a most relaxing and pleasant environment. However, the Housekeeping can be better in cleaning the rooms. Although breakfast is a bit chaotic on the ground floor dining room, the waiters are so polite and constantly smiling, that you forgive them easily. Ditto the butler service.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LobbyEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel InteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interiorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LoungeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at VerandahEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - TerraceEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BallroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Ballroom - ClassroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - View

Customer Reviews - Eastern And Oriental Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B05