or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Eastern And Oriental Hotel

10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lobby
Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness Room Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lounge Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Pool Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at Verandah Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
1296 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (1296)
Sort by:
Tiwari U. Business travelers India, May 5, 2014
Good

service, rate and location
8
Very Good Stay. Very happy with the service
Wengsan C. Families with older children Malaysia, May 4, 2014
Average fair

Location Name Great breakfast
6
Fair average and the room are big comfortable and many parkings
Roy S. Couples Canada, May 4, 2014
Fantastic

central location, clean, great staff
10
We had a great stay at E&O, room was huge, bed comfortable and the hotel is close to some great restaurants and easy walking distance to the Unesco Heritage area. The hotel it's self is an old colonial hotel, lots of history. we stayed in the heritage wing (older wing) which is a nice touch.it's fully modernized but still has that old feel to it. Staff, as you would expect we super.
Matthew J. Couples United Kingdom, May 4, 2014
Good ... but not perfect

History; elegance, luxury
8
E&O hotel is an excellent hotel: it is a beautiful building with a great location for exploring Georgetown. Rooms and bathrooms are very large and the Planters Lounge offering complimentary wine/beer/sangria in the early evening gives you a chance to meet other guests. The history and elegance are on a par with Raffles in Singapore and the Oriental in Bangkok ... but it doesn't offer the same level nor quality of service that you receive in these two other exceptional hotels. Yes, the price of a night at the E&O is cheaper ... but it isn't cheap and would have expected a better quality of service. Don't get me wrong, it is still a great hotel and would definitely recommend it.
Ulyses C. Solo travelers Singapore, May 4, 2014
FANTASTIC Hotel

ROOM comfort, bathroom, facilities, dtaff and restos
8.7
It was fantastic I.must say. One of the best stay so fat and the staff fran at the reception was fabulous, so professional and dignified. E&O really goes out to take care of its guests. You dont feel.like they out there to charge you in every move. I WOULD definitely go back!!! Love the room, the free lavazza coffee, the beddings, the free minibar, the evening cocktails and drinks and breakfast! Worth every penny!
Kerusha N. Couples South Africa, May 3, 2014
Absolutely amazing.

Room size Huge variety at breakfast Infinity pool
9.3
Wonderful experience. Rooms were spacious and hotel is central to historic sites as well as only a walk away from Upper Penang.
Yu K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 3, 2014
The Room is terrific at New Ring.

The seaview is great at balcony of the room and also at surrounding area of the hotel. The staff are helpful although they are not in details and may make careless mistakes .The high tea at 1885 is a
8.3
It is said that there is a free cruise to Strait Quay but eventually it cannot be arranged due to careless arrangement of the staff and they all justify themselves to be correct and can only say sorry without the reflection to improve the system and mechanism. At the lobby, I always heard someone is complaining to the reception staff. I think the management had to review about their customer services.
Lai S. Couples New Zealand, May 1, 2014
Our stay at the E & O

Decor, architecture, history
7
I brought my wife here to celebrate her birthday. When she was young she lived near Penang and had always wondered what E & O was like. We were surprised that the welcome we received at Reception was indifferent and distant. They did their job but I don't think they actually "saw" us. They attended to their task at hand first and communicated with each other before we were acknowledged. How sad that the great E & O should be let down in this way. We also stayed at the Penang Park Royal and there, we found the service from every staff member to be exemplary; warm, friendly and attentive. It was a marked difference to the service we received (or didn't receive) at the E & O. Goes to show that when there is no "heart", the "clothes" (setting, decor, architecture, history etc) don't make up for it.
Ean M. Couples Malaysia, May 1, 2014
awesome weekend treat in luxury hotel

huge room, wide buffet spread of breakfast and friendly staff
9.3
it was AWESOMEEEE! LOve every bits of it. Staff are professional. Food and drinks are abundance! QUality food and taste.
Tan S. Business travelers Malaysia, April 25, 2014
A pleasant and excellent experience

Location,room ,food
8.3
Very helpful and friendly staff. The heritage of the bui Ding make it very special

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LobbyEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel InteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interiorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LoungeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at VerandahEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - TerraceEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BallroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Ballroom - ClassroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - View

Customer Reviews - Eastern And Oriental Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B05