or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Eastern And Oriental Hotel

10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory Annexe Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage Wing Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Bathroom Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lobby
Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interior Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness Room Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Lounge Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Pool Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at Verandah Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Shops Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
1216 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (1216)
Sort by:
Low Z. Couples Malaysia, September 21, 2014
Historic luxury hotel with Art

Comfort, Good bathroom and Great Location
9
Adam S. Couples United States of America, September 15, 2014
Nice stay

Service, location, space
9
Great hotel, great location.
Hwai L. Families with young children Malaysia, September 14, 2014
Weekend get away

The hotel building, the room, the staff, the food....
9.7
Before booking this heritage hotel, we had stayed at a few hotels along this Penang coastline. For E&O, we will say "Thumbs Up" and hope they continue to serve their best.
Seung J. Families with young children South Korea, September 13, 2014
Great trip for the Past

Best accomodation, great construction design, best view and swimmingpool
10
You might be the rotal family here in the past. Every traditional antique is easily found. Nice to relax yourself in the preset and dream for the future.
Ridwan L. Families with young children Singapore, September 11, 2014
enjoyable stay

location, room size, service
9.3
room is extremely spacious, clean, comfortable with sea view balcony. breakfast selection was comprehensive and fresh.
Timothy R. Couples United Kingdom, September 7, 2014
Beautiful Getaway

The suite, the staff and the peace and quiet
9.3
My wife and i stayed for two nights for our thirty-fourth wedding anniversary. From the check-in to the check-out the staff were courteous, polite and efficient. Our suite in the heritage wing was large, beautifully appointed and perfectly clean. We eat breakfast and one informal dinner in the bar and the food was good with a wide choice. The price is not cheap but the service and room quality make it reasonable.
Wan O. Families with older children Hong Kong, September 4, 2014
Excellent heritage

The heritage building, the executive service, elegant environment.
10
This is excellent and executive hotel. The fee is valuable to enjoy the high quality enviornment and service. Stayed in E&O, you enjoyed and sent to back to the life of the British colonial.
Mitchell S. Solo travelers United States of America, September 4, 2014
The Victory Annexe - Highly Recommended BUT...

Outstanding Bed; Giant Studio Suite in the Victory Annexe; Walking Distance to Red Garden
9
Let's start with the good. The newer wing of the hotel, the Victory Annexe, is elegant, classy, and the rooms are huge. This hotel is no white elephant. To the contrary, it has been beautifully polished. And the airconditioning creates polar freezing conditions (which this American likes). The location couldn't be better for those who want a taste of downtown George Town; a walk up Penang Road is right outside your door, and best of the best, the Red Garden hawker center is about 6 minutes away, which was one of the best food experiences ever. (Anthony Bourdaine did part of his "No Reservations" Penag show from there, so that tells you how good it was.) The bad: This hotel does not pay attention to the details and little things that would turn a good hotel into a great hotel. One example is the horrible WiFi connection. I would get kicked out every few minutes, and most of the time there was no signal. Terribly, terribly inconvenient for a guy who needed to stay in touch with his office. The smiling and pleasant staff may not have fully understood English (which is not their obligation, but I'm just saying...) as demonstrated by the very nice check-in guest receptionist who comfirmed my city tour that I had planned for the next morning. Unfortunately, when I arrived for the tour, there was no tour. Even though I had arranged a tour by e-mail 2 weeks in advance and which was confirmed in a an e-mail by a concierge, they didn't have the foggiest idea what I was talking about when I said, "Where is my tour?" They weren't even aware I wrote them. Frustrating. The last little detail to pick at is the lighting in the vanities in the guest room was useless. Directly overhead, as a mini-spotlight. Made it virtually impossible to shave or see myself. But again, these are little details. If you don't care too much about the touring set up or WiFi or doing a lot of conversing in English, you'll have a wonderful time in a great and comfortable hotel.
Andrew E. Couples Australia, September 2, 2014
Fantastic

Historic value,opulence and food & dining experience.
10
Words can not express the experience of a stay at the E&O. This hotel is fantastic .The atmosphere of days gone by with modern convenience and outstanding service by wonderful staff.Food and dining as one would expect were exceptional. This is a vacation experience everyone should try to experience once in a life time.10 out of 10.
Shaw F. Families with young children Malaysia, September 1, 2014
Good location but service slightly below par.

Location, clean and well maintained
8.7
Pleasant and enjoyable.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Eastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Victory AnnexeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Suite - Heritage WingEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BathroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LobbyEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel InteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - hotel interiorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - LoungeEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - RestaurantEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Restaurant at VerandahEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ShopsEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ExteriorEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - TerraceEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - ViewEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - BallroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Ballroom - ClassroomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEastern And Oriental Hotel Penang - View

Customer Reviews - Eastern And Oriental Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B05