Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.9
Based on 1942 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1942 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

heinz R. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Worth to experience
Who likes to spend some days in a heritage colonial style at an very affordable budget, to visit old George Town and explore street food markets, indian and chinese quarter, old style architecture, churches and museums is at the right place. Nevertheless the good old days are gone, tourist groups in sloppy dresses, noisy and without manors took over. Just ignore and inhale the heritage spirit!
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Sammy C. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Colonial Style Luxury in the heart of Penang
The E&O is a Grand hotel on the seafront with expansive views of the Malacca Strait, and the shoreline of Pulau Pinang. Standout memories of my stay will have to include the elegance of the generous sized rooms, its feeling of timelessness and historical appeal, un-interupted water views;and the roti prata for at breakfast...
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Shuk L. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Got a surprise to have the room upgraded to corner suite on my birthday.
However, regarding the booking of the 1885 restaurant for my birthday dinner totally ruined the celebration! The booking didn't state explicitly about the dress code & made us not aware to have dressed in long pants. Unfortunately we are not allowed to dine in that night! We talked to the restaurant manager whose attitude is rude & did not have any solution to us. We strongly requested to meet with the hotel manager but she still just explained unreasonably. The whole incident left us a very bad experience indeed
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Vicky C. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Beautifully appointed hotel
Beautiful views, furnishings and good service.
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Ahmad M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Classics. Timeless.
The hotel, the room/suites and the surroundings are very beautiful and the service was the most excellent and wonderful. The view was magnificent, the food in the restaurant was delicious. It was a delightful holiday. Comparatively to other suites in classic/heritage hotels, this is the ones to go for with its wonderful rates on offers! A must go! A little comment: However, the housekeeping staff need to be sensitive and aware of their boundaries towards their guests space and should not straightaway get into the suites/rooms should there be no answer at the door after ringing the bell more than three times even if the "Do Not Disturb" sign is not hanged. Only if they could not get in, then they would leave message trying to do service.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Sanya K. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Excellent choice of accommodation
We had a great time in that hotel. Staff are friendly, helpful, informative, patience and with good attitudes. They make you feel at home. On top of that, they surprise us by making brownies complimentary for our honeymoon. It's delicious. Location is good whereby its facing to the seaside and great facilities. Unfortunately they don't have jacuzzi. Above all, it is a satisfactory stay and strongly recommend.
Reviewed August 08, 2016

Himmat K. from India
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
A magnificent Old Hotel
Perfectly renovated. I would come back to Penang just to stay in this hotel.
Reviewed August 08, 2016

Khalil R. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Family holiday
Nil
Reviewed August 08, 2016

GUNASEKARAN G. from Qatar
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Good stay
Very nice hotel
Reviewed August 07, 2016

Min L. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in August 2016
Very good
Very good hotel, Calm and clean, quite big room
Reviewed August 05, 2016