My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

EGI Resort and Hotel

Looc, Maribago, Mactan Island, Cebu, Philippines 6015 (Show on map)

Book now!

EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Reception EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Swimming Pool EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Exterior EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Beach EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Exterior EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Bar EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Restaurant EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Swimming Pool EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Elevator EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Aviary EGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Aviary
Area: Mactan Island Number of Rooms: 171

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.5

based on
324 reviews

Value for Money
6.3
Location
6.6
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
5.6
All reviews (324)
Sort by:
Zhou P. Couples Singapore, January 29, 2012
Budget Beach resort at cebu island

Big and clean room
4.3
The beach resort directly lay alongside on the famous cebu beach. Though it sound good but dont look good when you are there. Swimming pool is boring . Private beach is so small as you can't even have good sun tan session. Room was big neat and clean. Breadfast is horrible with egg and bread plus some fruit.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Please reach the hotel as early as 8am if u want to take up their island-hopping activity.
Kao C. Couples Taiwan, January 26, 2012
Just OK

View
7
View is excellent, beach is pool, too many Korean in this hotel.
Daryl D. Business travelers Philippines, January 25, 2012
Simple and clean rooms

Clean rooms, friendly staff
8.3
simple and clean rooms. accomodating and friendly staff. additional amenities can be requested easily. easy reservation. good breakfast. but there were a lot of other guests when we arrived.
Renate S. Groups Norway, January 25, 2012
Ok hotel

Nice beds, and great view.
7
Our stay at EGI was ok, more or less. The rooms where nice, and looked clean, until I to a look in the shower, and there was old toothpast tube, opend shampo ( the bag type, for one time use) and also open soap, thats supose to be for one time use ( with hairs on it). There where also not exactly soundproof. Beds where good! Breakfast poor, but ok. Nice pool, but bad sunbeds. But staff where nice, and the view where great!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take a island hoping day trip
Paul H. Families with young children United Kingdom, January 25, 2012
Good service but some problems

Staff were very helpful. Rooms were comfortable
7
The rooms were nice enough, but through our week we had problems with hot water, a broken tap, noisy aircon etc. Each was "fixed" with a smile, but we eventually had to change rooms. The hotel was 80% full of Koreans - a lot of them children on English study courses. The surrounding restaurants and supermarkets therefore largely cater for Koreans. Nice breakfast in the hotel though. The information desk had no maps or much of an idea of the tours they offer. When we got the information, we found the hotel tours to be about double what we could arrange with locals outside the hotel. The swimming pools were clean, and seldom busy. The one of the roof offers lovely views and seemed unusused by others.
Hotel Feature Tip: Check out the rooftop swimming pool in the evening.
Richard Q. Couples United States of America, January 25, 2012
Convenient and Comfortable

Walking distance to shops and restaurants.
8.7
the rooms are spacious, and i had a nice view of the ocean. there was a sofa in the room and the room was clean. you can walk or take a short taxi ride to restaurants and shopping. there are also tours available from the hotel and near by. the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Daryl D. Business travelers Philippines, January 25, 2012
Clean and simple rooms

clean rooms, friendly staff
8
The staff were nice. Requests for additional pillows/blankets/beds were easily done.
Yusoph R. Families with young children Philippines, January 23, 2012
impressive

rooftop swimming pool
5.3
services are not yet good maybe because the hotel is not yet comleted.
Kevin M. Families with young children United States of America, January 19, 2012
Wannabe Resort Property Catering to Packaged Tours

Location, Security, Helpful Staff
5
did not meet even low expectations for a 3-star property. while the facility as a whole is in pretty good shape, the amenities were very basic and the comfort level was not great. we chose them primarily because we needed to add a 3rd adult and most of the high end resorts don't allow it. they charged us a night to throw a mattress on the floor. i thought, well they had to cover an extra breakfast, but that was a laugh. the breakfast was the most basic i have ever seen at a hotel claiming to serve breakfast. the only protein on offer is eggs (i was offered an "omelette" and that did come with hot dog slices in it... not sure they had much protein though). sliced local fruit, crappy bread, dry cake, and filipino breakfast cereal with milk rounded out the choices. oh, and coffee. if it cost them 100 pesos a person i'd be amazed. our first room had a non-working phone, a barely flowng shower, and non-functioning wi-fi. wi-fi in the lobby was s l o w w w w. i did some legwork and discovered the router on the 6th floor where we were located had a hardware malfunction (radio worked; no network connection), but the one on the 5th floor worked fine. inquiring at the desk i was informed that, "sorry sir, no wi-fi on 6th floor" (so they knew about the problem) and that the 5th floor worked but "in the hallway only". um. i asked if we could switch to one of the rooms next to the router (would be the best bets) and they were able to move us there the next day. the staff was very courteous and helpful throughout, so i don't want to come down too hard on them, but understand this is pretty much a place to sleep only. aside from a few seafood grills with potential, we didn't see any decent restos nearby, and you will not want to eat at the hotel (trust me). their primary clientele (at least this time of year) seems to be large groups of koreans flying in for english classes... the hotel and classrooms in the adjacent building were full of them.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Our primary reason for choosing this place was to drop my Dad at the airport on Day 3 and to visit the Imperial Palace Water Park and Spa on Day 2. You can do a day tour at IP for PHP 2600, or PHP 1900 if you have local ID. It's a pretty good deal if you can get the lower rate, since it includes their excellent buffet lunch (you can have dinner if you don't eat lunch... I'd recommend that). We had very good food and the water park was pretty good also... there's a wave pool, water slides, fountains, and a small ocean beach. There are lots of other recreation options also but we didn't explore them. Definitely recommended for at least one visit, especially if you have kids.
David R. Couples United States of America, January 16, 2012
Budget Hotel

Quiet and clean room
7.7
The room was in decent shape and check in was efficient. The breakfast buffet was decent, but nothing great. It was kind of like staying in a college dorm. There were some young Korean students downstairs in the lobby running around. There is also English as a second Language school on the lobby floor. So, I think they were attending classes at the school. The grounds were not well maintained and the outdoor pools near the beach didn't look inviting to enter into. Security was pretty good, as there are locals right outside the boundary of the hotel near the beach trying to get you to take their island hopping tours, but the staff is well aware of it. Overall, good for the budget, but not too warm ambiance. However, the staff did their best to make up for the hotels shortcomings.
Nightlife Tip: If you are going around outside the hotel at night be careful.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

EGI Resort and Hotel CebuEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - ReceptionEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Swimming PoolEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - ExteriorEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - BeachEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - ExteriorEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - BarEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - RestaurantEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Swimming PoolEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - ElevatorEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - AviaryEGI Resort and Hotel Cebu - Aviary


AS-AGWEB-3C02