Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

El Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers

Small La Laguna Beach, Sabang, Puerto Galera, Philippines

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.8

based on 123 reviews

92 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
8.0
All reviews (123)
Sort by:
Gigi C. Families with young children Philippines, May 1, 2016
good food exelent staff
4.7
great dining experience, helpful staff the 40 steps to our room makes my leg sore and was a bit pain specially carrying my toddler but overall experience was good we had a good use of the pool it was fun
Report this review
John O. Groups Philippines, April 8, 2016
One of the best in El Galleon
6.3
I've been to El Galleon multiple times and 70% of the time when I go to Puerto Gallera I would stay with them because of the following reasons: Food is superb, Price is right and the service is great. I just brought friends over the weeekend, they were so glad to be there.
Report this review
Hilde B. Families with older children Norway, April 1, 2016
Nice place
6.3
Perfect for diving, very professional staff.
Report this review
Dominick F. Families with young children United States of America, February 22, 2016
Nice Hotel in Sabang

Quiet location, good food, good service
8.7
We were traveling with two young children (a 2 yr old and a 4 month old). When we arrived, we initially had an issue with our room but Ruby, the manager, quickly solved our problem and it resulted in a great stay for us. Our 2 yr old loved the pool and was able to use it every day because of the shallow steps at the edge. There was also a small wading pool above the main pool that he could play in. We weren't aware that Sabang was the noisier/nightlife part of Puerto Galera before we arrived, but El Galleon is located far enough from the bars and the main street that there was no noise and no problem. The only drawback is that you need to walk 10-15 minutes along the narrow beachfront walkway to get to the main road and restaurants, shops, and transportation. Although the hotel is situated on the beach, the beach in Sabang is not suitable for swimming or sunbathing - it's mainly a place to park boats and for divers/snorkelers to access the water. To have a true beach day you need to travel to White Beach which takes about 30 minutes and can be reached by trike (300P each way), jeepney (20P to PG Town then separate trike or motorbike), or motorbike (100P each way). The food at the hotel was very good so we ate there many times for breakfast and dinner as well. Overall, the staff was helpful, attentive, and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review
Winfred L. Solo travelers United States of America, February 21, 2016
2 star room with 4 star location
3.7
Old rooms need renovation
Report this review
Michael D. Families with older children United Kingdom, January 14, 2016
Ideal Diving hotel

Proximity to dive centre, good food and comfortable room
8.7
The staff was very helpful. We spent a lot of time in the bar/restaurant overlooking the harbour as we found we were too tired after two dives a day to go very far afield. The food, particularly the Korean barbecue and seafood ceviche, was very good.
Report this review
Peter D. Solo travelers Singapore, January 2, 2016
Not the greatest stay

Food was ok, Dive Staff friendly
5.7
Not a great stay. Emailedto ask if all was ok after the typhoon, and told all was. On arrival no wifi no ATM cable TV down for a while... I know a typhoon is not their fault, but communication of issues is. No access to internet for a few days and no cash is a bit of an issue worth mentioning. Mis-communication from the resort meant I was left 2-3 hrs for my transfer at the wrong terminal, after following explicit instructions. Meant I got to the boat after dark, tried to charge me 'night rate' on checkout. The Resort is now old, tired and run down, and I think over priced for the tiny,basic, damp smelling room. Pool view' room meant 2m from the 'pool' which is a training 'pond'. Its full daily of divers learning to dive, with the accompanying noise, first thing in the morning, and screaming kids most other times. No where to sit comfortably at the resort to relax. The choices: Old hard bamboo seats outside your door, sit at the restaurant/bar, or try and get a sun lounge - 4 by the training pool - covered in peoples gear all day - and unavailable for people to relax on. Staff seem miserable, rarely smile, no niceties, just dump the food or bill and collect. Once I ordered a fresh coffee, and they made an instant coffee, and charged for a premium coffee. The room is overpriced for facilities & no breakfast inclusion. Wifi ranges from 0 to dead slow (about .5mbps at its peak) The ID/PW seemed to change every 2nd day too, with no communication, just left thinking wifi is down again. Signal didnt reach the room. A 'resort' is a stretch. Staff chase your key to the room so they can clean (never known this in a hotel) And dirty towels/floor towels are taken in the morning, but not returned until night...One day not until next day!. For the price, expect at least free water each day and replenished tea/coffee in the room. 5% charge for CC payment is also a rip off. Dive staff more friendly although the diving was pretty average I must say.
Report this review
Pauline B. Couples Philippines, November 9, 2015
Overrated

Food and proximity to the pier.
5.3
Report this review
Lukasz S. Couples Poland, September 27, 2015
You could expect more for this price

nice view pool
5.7
Report this review
Victoria C. Couples Philippines, September 6, 2015
Not great, but not bad

Location, dive facilities, room size
5.7
Report this review
1 - 10 of 92 reviews Next page
El Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Hotel ExteriorEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Recreational FacilitiesEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Recreational FacilitiesEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - RestaurantEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - RestaurantEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Le SpaEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SpaEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - LoungeEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Pool areaEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - SurroundingsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Recreational FacilitiesEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Food and BeveragesEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Tiger PrawnsEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - FoodEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive platformEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive boatEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive DeckEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - BuffetEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive DeckEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive boatEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive platformEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive platformEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Compressor roomEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive platformEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Dive platformEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - FacilitiesEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - PenthouseEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Budget roomEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Poolside DeluxeEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Poolside EconomyEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Family RoomEl Galleon Dive Resort with Asia Divers Puerto Galera - Seaview room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C06