Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Elegant Hotel

No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya, Handessa, Gampola, Kandy, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

9.0

based on
296 reviews

192 reviews in English

Value for Money
9.1
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.8
All reviews (296)
Sort by:
Cecilia P. Families with young children China, January 26, 2016
Fantastic experience

Lovely swimming pool with nice view. Food is tasty. People are nice and friendly.
9.3
Fantastic experience here. People are nice and easy going. The swimming pool has a nice view there. The place exceeds our expectations. The price of dinner is a little bit expensive. And it seems Agoda makes some confusion on the breakfast fee of child.
Report this review
Cecilia P. Families with young children China, January 26, 2016
Fantastic experience

Lovely swimming pool with nice view. Food is tasty. People are nice and friendly.
9.3
Fantastic experience here. People are nice and easy going. The swimming pool has a nice view there. The place exceeds our expectations. The price of dinner is a little bit expensive. And it seems Agoda makes some confusion on the breakfast fee of child.
Report this review
Sarah B. Couples United Kingdom, January 4, 2016
Beautiful views, quiet location outside Kandy.

View, service, swimming pool
9
The service was really amazing at this hotel, the staff didn't stop smiling and were really helpful. As it was our honeymoon they decorated our room with petals and we really liked their towel art! This place is a bit out of Kandy, which is great if you want some peace and quiet but if you wanted to just visit the city, you may wish to get somewhere closer to the city. It took us about an hour to get from central Kandy to the hotel on our first night due to heavy traffic, probably half that normally. They cook all the food fresh so there can be a long wait, think we had to wait nearly an hour one time, so get your order in early! The food was really nice though. The views from both sides of this hotel make this place worth the trek from Kandy. The pool is lovely too, great to be able to go for a dip after a day of site seeing. It's very good value for what you get. My only gripe would be the bed was a bit small (not good for tall men!) and creaked every time you turned over! Perhaps the beds in the upstairs rooms were bigger, we had the smaller ground floor room. It was fine though, we didn't spend a lot of time in our room.
Report this review
Pamela R. Families with older children United States of America, January 2, 2016
New Year's Eve

Friendly and catering staff, beautiful facility, fast internet
9.3
Our stay at the hotel was "Elegant"! It is a beautiful facility with a well managed friendly staff. We were at the hotel during the New Year's Eve and the staff did an amazing job of arranging a festive time for the guests.
Report this review
Thomas G. Families with older children Germany, January 1, 2016
Perfect place

Staff friendliness, attention to detail (i.e. breakfast table decorations), high level of maintenance (everythin worked well!)
9
Report this review
Tariq A. Couples United Kingdom, December 30, 2015
Beds mattress were hard and bed is small

Location, staff and cleanliness
8
Report this review
Gao Z. Families with young children China, December 30, 2015
a high grade hotel

all the thing in hotel are the best
10
as the name the Elegant Hotel,the hotel is a private hotel full of ELEGANC. I was wake up by the mountain bird and enjoyed my delicious breakfast.the service and the view and the condition and the owner,all the thing is great.I hope to stay here for 3 days with my nd swimming in the hotel.I really really satisfied^-^
Report this review
Isik O. Couples Turkey, December 28, 2015
A gem of a hotel with excellent service

Staff care, views, breakfast
10
My wife and I were lucky enough to stay here for just one night, but I wish we could have stayed for more. I loved that it was outside the city center, and the morning views were simply breathtaking. This place was the highlight of our trip. We love staying at places where the management clearly love what they do. Elegant Hotel is such a place. I could not recommend it enough.
Report this review
Shaun R. Couples United Kingdom, December 16, 2015
Great hotel away from the chaos

Staff, pool, amazing views.
9
Stayed for 4 relaxing days, chilling out away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy centre, but only a short Tuk Tuk ride away. The staff really go out of their way to help you enjoy your time there. We had a room on the first floor which opened up onto a balcony area with stunning views for miles. The gardens are beautiful, and the pool was very clean. The hotel is quite a way out, up a long, steep bumpy lane, but it's worth it. Unless you hire a Tuk Tuk the hotel is the only place to eat. The food was excellent, slightly more expensive than in the town, but then you are paying much more for the hotel there and don't get the stunning views and pool. They arranged for us to be collected from the train station, a Tuk Tuk for a sightseeing day and a car for our onward journey. If you want everything on the doorstep and want to be n the centre of the action, this place is not for you. If you want a relaxing, quiet stay with stunning views, this hotel has to be your choice.
Report this review
Paula J. Couples Australia, December 15, 2015
beautiful hotel

the staff and location
8.7
Very lovely place. The hotel and surroundings were amazing. Only one small complaint. The dinner was nice, but lkr450 for a plate of white rice is way overpriced. Almost as much as a curry!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 192 reviews Next page
Elegant Hotel KandyElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - Dining at the lower BalconyElegant Hotel Kandy - Surrounding-TempleElegant Hotel Kandy - exterior viewElegant Hotel Kandy - foodElegant Hotel Kandy - balconyElegant Hotel Kandy - balconyElegant Hotel Kandy - swimming poolElegant Hotel Kandy - SurroundingsElegant Hotel Kandy - EntranceElegant Hotel Kandy - EntranceElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - Balcony/TerraceElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - GardenElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - SurroundingsElegant Hotel Kandy - GardenElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - InteriorElegant Hotel Kandy - InteriorElegant Hotel Kandy - Deluxe rooms (Upper floor)Elegant Hotel Kandy - LobbyElegant Hotel Kandy - LobbyElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomElegant Hotel Kandy - Balcony/TerraceElegant Hotel Kandy - GardenElegant Hotel Kandy - RestaurantElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - GardenElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - pool barElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - pool barElegant Hotel Kandy - GardenElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - GardenElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolElegant Hotel Kandy - ViewElegant Hotel Kandy - Swimming Pool


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05