Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Emarald Hotel Chennai

No:22, Poonamally High Road, Periamet, Chennai, Chennai City Center, Chennai, India 600003 (Show on map)

Book now!

Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Guest Room Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Restaurant Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Reception Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Guest Room Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Exterior Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Guest Room Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Lobby Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Exterior Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Executive Twin Bed Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Deluxe Queen Bed Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Hotel Interior Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Bathroom Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Corridor Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Lobby Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Reception Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Coffee Shop
Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Multi Cuisine Restaurant Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Conference Hall Emarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Entrance
Area: Chennai City Center Number of Rooms: 46

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.9

based on
30 reviews

Value for Money
5.7
Location
5.4
Staff Performance
5.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.5
Food/Dining
5.9
All reviews (30)
Sort by:
Peter O. Business travelers Australia, April 21, 2014
A disaster - awful hotel!

None
2
Awful. The place was very disappointing and I wanted to check out after just a few hours! The internet descriptions and photos are misleading and the place was really sub-standard for a supposed 'business' hotel. No fridge or coffee -making facilities in room along with generally sub-standard facilities makes this a place to avoid.
Ruban S. Couples Malaysia, December 16, 2013
Overall, did not feel the need to commit suicide.

there were charges for the extra person that didnt make sense.I was told it was a one off payment instead of a daily. When confronted at they showed their brochure which was not shown to me earlier.
3.7
No apologies. Not much of food variety. Water pressure not great inclusive of hot water.
Mursi C. Families with older children Sri Lanka, December 8, 2013
Worth the pay. The staff were just awesome.

Clean, Tasty Food and kind staff.
7.7
Jared M. Couples New Zealand, June 16, 2013
Ruined by total lack of hospitality service

location and clean room and good tv
5.3
Our one night stop-over was completely ruined by the horrible, thiefing customer service we received here. We are backpacking, and for our one night passing through chennai we thought we'd treat ourselves to somewhere reasonably nice, as accomm options close to the train station seemed a bit dire! Unfortunately I did make a slight error when booking and accidentally chose a room with a maximum occupancy of one. When we arrived we were told we had to pay an extra for an extra person (on top of the rate, which was already a treat for us, this represents a not insignificant amount of money). I tried to point out my obvious error and that the room for double occupancy that I obviously wanted to choose was, in fact, the same price anyway, but there was just no reasoning at all. At all. All I got was system-this, system-that. This is not good enough for a chain of professional-oriented hotels. I think the service was quite frankly shocking and I would never recommend anyone to stay here, lest you too get confronted with some additional charge because of an inflexible, un-customer friendly system!!
Tarapong R. Couples Thailand, May 7, 2013
Not worth for money.

Close to train station.
4
Located at the centre of Chennai transportation, thus such a busy location and not really clean and tidy. The most importance the location shown on Agoda is wrong. The hotel is just next to Chennai Train Station, not located in the park.
Mary L. Groups United States of America, January 27, 2013
Not impressed! Cockaroaches & sketch Taxi arrageme

Not super expensive, air con, cable TV, nice lady at reception
4
i was not impressed by my stay at the emarald. i saw some of the biggest cockaroaches i have ever seen roaming around there. they also come by burning something that lets off loads of bad smelling smoke that is harmful for the lungs - i got sick! the breakfast was not great, the place was not super but moreover i found the transportation arragements super sketchey. to get a taxi to the airport i was quoted 740 ruppees. they would call a radio taxi service and voila. however, they would get a cut of the price, a rather large percentage ...50%!!! we got the number of a taxi, the kind you have to call to pick you up, and it charges by the meter and our trip turned out to be half the price 357 ruppees.
Travel tip: I suggest you call a taxi, any taxi company and have them take you to the airport instead of paying double.
Sri D. Couples Malaysia, January 22, 2013
Just worth for money

Bit quite
6
Don't expect much from this hotel. Is just nice to stay and better than city hotel too noisy. When call receptionist, pls repeat every 2min else no to attend. Breakfast super delicious. Room just spacious. No wifi at all. Always down
Hiranya D. Couples Australia, January 6, 2013
A Base for Chennai

Restaurants close by, Good Location for my tour, Base to explore the City
6
My stay at the Emerald was short but the hotel was a good base to explore Chennai
Tarang S. Business travelers India, December 25, 2012
Great Location Good Staff Pleasant Stay

Proper cleaning, good food
6.7
Rooms are nicely furnished and toilets were clean. Nice staff.
Hotel Feature Tip: Hotel is near to Chennai Central. Rooms are good.
Mary L. Groups United States of America, December 23, 2012
On the fence

Air con and cable TV
4.3
I am on the fence about this one. They have air con - however it is freezing cold so better to keep it off since there is no way of adjusting it, so it's either on or off - hot or cold. The cleanliness is not super, the breakfast is not good, the ambiance/atmosphere is not wonderful, they are a bit devious about transportation, arranging a regular taxi to take you around (not their local man, but some random taximan) and they charge you double. However, the lady at the front desk was nice and the staff tried to be accomodating so ? I guess it's about what you are looking for in a hotel, what you value most - your priorities. The place is not wonderful, but not super expensive. The staff is nice enough but can be sketchy. So-so.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Emarald Hotel Chennai ChennaiEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Guest RoomEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - RestaurantEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - ReceptionEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Guest RoomEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - ExteriorEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Guest RoomEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - LobbyEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - ExteriorEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Executive Twin BedEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Deluxe Queen BedEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Hotel InteriorEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - BathroomEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - CorridorEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - LobbyEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - ReceptionEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Coffee ShopEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Multi Cuisine RestaurantEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Conference HallEmarald Hotel Chennai Chennai - Entrance


AS-AGWEB-3A03