Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Entrance Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Concierge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Cafe 33 on Hennessy Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Fitness Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive Lounge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive Lounge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive Lounge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom
Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Restaurant Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Restaurant Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Restaurant Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Restaurant Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - City View Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - City View Twin Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Double
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 363
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
2526 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (2526)
Sort by:
Nader R. Couples United States of America, September 25, 2012
A Hotel wıth Petty Front Desk but Great Location

Location, Location, Location! But the Front Desk Staff is horrid!
6.3
- The Hotel has a great location. But the management Staff are just horrid. They are petty, and most unwelcoming. - The hotel restaurant is just lousy with poor service and low quality food. - The rooms are clean! The cleaning folks actually do more than a proper job. - The bell boys, the concierge, they are so corrupt! They get a commission on everything! So taxi rides become a lot more expensive because taxi driver pays commission to them. As a result few taxis pull up into the front of the hotel. - The hotel Lobby is so barren of everything! A huge empty space with barely few arm chairs. Miserly and so petty.
Restaurant Tip: - Do not eat, do NOT patronize the Hotel Restaurant. It is pathetic and expensive. With a service with bad attitude. - Make sure you visit "View 62 by Paco Roncero" Restaurant in Wan Chai. It is near the hotel. And it is located on top of a Shopping Mall. The resturant is a revolving place so you see the most magnificent views of Hong Kong. Food is great. Service is fantastic. And given all the majesty and charm and service and the eclectic quality of the food, price is very reasonable.
Ma S. Solo travelers Philippines, September 25, 2012
Excellent location especially for night persons

Location and efficient staff
8.3
got an upgrade although i did not request for one. hotel staff were very polite and efficient. check in and check out were very fast. the best part about this hotel is its location. it's at the perimeter of the night spots so it's very convenient while maintaining a bit of privacy. it's a short walk away from the mtr station, ferry terminal and the convention center. perfect if you're on business who wants to do some shopping too. all kinds of bars and restos can be found outside the hotel even in the wee hours of the morning. hallways are a little dark and could be scary for women and kids. the room is obviously old but comfy and clean enough for a decent stay. the only free wifi i got in the hotel was at the club room in the 2nd floor which was a bit of a hassle. there were no umbrellas available and this sucked since it was pouring during my stay. wouldn't mind staying again as long as the rates are reasonable. i'd say up to us$150 is okay.
Restaurant Tip: Hai Hai Kitchen along Lockhart was a good find if you fancy Chinese roasts like I do. 40 honkies for a roasted duck on rice meal. They're open unil very late too!
Graham F. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 25, 2012
Excellent!

Bed
8
Hotel used to be ok-ish but has recently been renovated and is in excellent condition. I had a suite with a living room although I booked one of the cheaper rooms. The bed was one of the best bed I have ever slept on.
Fenny C. Business travelers Indonesia, September 25, 2012
Great Location, Great Service

Friendly and helpful Staff
8.3
Hotel room was a little bit small, but it is clean. located very near Hong kong CBD. very near to MTR Station. location was easy to find, even for first time traveller to Hongkong. great location in nearby area, easy to find local food with affordable price. service was great, always very helpful and friendly. definitely reccomended.
Shopping Tip: Located right next to Wanchai MTR Station, and also still within nightlife area. distance to Causeway Bay is also near can be reached by foot. Or 1 MTR Station away from zwanchai station.
Low K. Business travelers Malaysia, September 25, 2012
Good Location

Location near Exhibition Hall
9
This is good location in Wan Chai area. Near exhibition center for me. Easy to looking for food. Near MRT.
Rubin L. Business travelers Singapore, September 20, 2012
Decent Hotel, Pleasant

Convenient
5.7
Surprisingly for a country like Hotel where rooms can get ridiculously small (20 sq m) and overpriced, Empire Hotel was none of that. The rooms were "normal-sized" (30 sq m) and reasonably priced. It relatively comfortable with a decent lobby and located around 5mins walk towards the Wan Chai MTR. One odd issue was the hotel signage - the name of the hotel is black, against a dark wall, and the sign is smaller than my computer screen. If my friend wasn't familiar with the place, I was pretty sure the cab driver would've missed it entirely.
Restaurant Tip: Plenty of food in the shops around! Try the noodles and dim sums!
Timothy P. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 20, 2012
Good location - tired fixtures and fitting

Free wifi and location
6.7
I stay here regularly because the price is right for HK for the location. It is central and easy to get to everything. For the price, the hotel is fine. The free Wifi in the lounge makes the price ok. The place is not exactly beautiful but if you are on business and seeing clients all day it does not matter. The staff and friendly and helpful.
Jose I. Groups Philippines, September 18, 2012
great location with lots of resto, bars and pub

very easy to move around the area
9
the hotel is surrounded by bars and clubs and is just a few minutes away from the mtr. if you like night life this is the place to go.
John P. Solo travelers Philippines, September 17, 2012
dirty and old

none.
3
Ive stayed in the empire hotel in cwb area and thought that the wan chai branch would be similar. I thought wrong. First they placed me at the farthest end of the hall beside the laundry office. My welcome was greeted by a laundry cart blocking my entrance to my room. Then as i tried to take a shower after a long trip, the shower head was broken and i noticed that the bath tub was dirty too. I also found a few strands of hair on the floor that are bunched up. Clearly, the room was not properly serviced before my check in. Good that i only had to stay for 1 day. Oh and wifi is 35/hr!
Rodney T. Business travelers Australia, September 17, 2012
rude and unhelpful staff

room size
3
This was one of my worst and most annoying experience with any hotel. Booked the room around 6pm and when i arrived at 9.30pm i was told the agoda booking was not there and i had to sign for a higher room rate. After 30mins of this i was checked in without even a welcome or direction how to get to my room all the staff was just gossiping amongst themselves behind the desk. The room was big for Hong Kong but there was hair on the sheets! it was 10.30 by the time i got into bed so couldn't be bothered complaining. Check around I'm sure you can get better hotel with better service this this one. I will not be booking this hotel again in future.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong KongEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - EntranceEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - ConciergeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Cafe 33 on HennessyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming PoolEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming PoolEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Fitness RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive LoungeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive LoungeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive LoungeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - RestaurantEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - RestaurantEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - RestaurantEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - RestaurantEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - City View Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - City View Twin Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club DoubleEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club DoubleEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Double Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Twin roomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BathroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A05