My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Empire Hotel

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - City View Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Room at 12 Floor Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Executive Suite Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel Exterior Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Entrance Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Cafe 33 on Hennessy Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Fitness Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive Lounge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive Lounge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive Lounge Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom
Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Ballroom Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting Room Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel Lobby Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Lounge
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 363
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
2423 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (2423)
Sort by:
Joseph W. Business travelers United States of America, May 23, 2011
Good location for wild night life

Location
7
Roooms are clean, AC is either ON or OFF, room can get very cold or hot
Maria A. Couples Finland, May 23, 2011
Perfect location, good value

great location, friendly staff, priceworthy
8
the hotel is located in the heart of hong kong island. good connections to all main sights. staff was really friendly and helpful. rooms are quite small and first one smelled really bad, luckily we got another cleaner room with compliments. gym on the roof top is modest, but has everything one needs. also, there is a small swimming pool to chill out in. really great value, we warmly recommend.
John H. Business travelers United Kingdom, May 22, 2011
Lovely Hotel

I used paypal on line to book
8
Room vert clean, good view of the City, Hotel clean and staff good
Shopping Tip: Horst very close to the MTR rail service
Agnes T. Business travelers Indonesia, May 22, 2011
Convenient hotel with clean rooms

Clean, modern rooms and bath rooms
8
Empire Hotel Wan Chai is a small, cozy hotel about 10 min walk from pacific place. Rooms are modern and clean though a tad small. A lot of restaurants around so access for food is a breeze. The only thing I don't like about this hotel is the dark and dingy corridor.
Blas H. Families with older children Philippines, May 22, 2011
Hotel very accessible to mtr

very near mtr station, clean, friendly employees
8.7
My family and I enjoyed our stay in this hotel which was very near the mtr station making it so accessible. Friendly, accommodating employees were available to assist.
Howard S. Solo travelers Canada, May 21, 2011
Nicer than Expected but What's Up with the Shower?

Excellent lobby and staff. Room was typical HK size but nice and well appointed. Bed and linens were excellent.
8.7
being this close to the wan chai strip, i was expected a lower quality hotel and street noise. however, it is at the end of the strip and there was no noise whatsoever in my room. the quality of the room, lobby, etc were excellent. tv choices were limited but adequate. internet is only cabled, no wifi, so my devices were out of luck. fixtures in the bathroom looked good but upon closer inspection, i found the shower was a cheap retro fit and it only came up to my chest. the screw was loose so i had to wrangle a washcloth to hold the shower head in place. the room smelled a bit musty and i couldn't find the air con thermostat control. all that being said, you get great quality for your money. i would stay there again if the shower was improved.
Restaurant Tip: Outbacks is across the street and The Flying Pan (great American styled breakfasts) is 1 block away.
Magali C. Couples France, May 16, 2011
Good hotel, good location

Big bed, clean room, big flat screen tv
7.3
the room may appear a bit small but for having tried many hotels in hk, i can tell that empire's rooms are ok. very good surprise with the bed which is quite big. bathroom a bit small but clean. good location if you want to be in the city center.
Gary F. Business travelers New Zealand, May 16, 2011
Good hotel, very good location,friendly staff

Handy to everything, easy to get around
8.3
Stayed at this hotel before and this visit was as enjoyable as previuos visit. Reception staff were very helpful and assisted us with our many queries. Check-in and check-out times were quick and orderly. Room was very clean and everthing required supplied. Walking distance to most places we wanted to visit or transport easy to arrange with hotel staff. Very enjoyable stay.
Melissa S. Business travelers Philippines, May 15, 2011
Surprisingly nice hotel

lobby and rooms
7.7
I normally stay at Kowloon side every time I go to HK, but about 5 years ago I stayed in Wan chai area at a different hotel to attend the convention. All throughout the duration of my stay I kept on the lookout for other hotels and never really saw one to my liking and I had the impression that all rooms on that area would be small. Last May 2011, as I had to attend the food convention and again, we had to book in Wan chai area. Of course I did not want to stay where I stayed last night, I searched through Agoda and saw Empire Wan chai and read each comment and review, so I took the risk and booked Empire Wan chai. When I arrived, the lobby was surprisingly nice and the rooms were very spacious considering how affordable the price is. The breakfast which I did not take with the package but I ended up buying when I checked-in the hotel was very affordable and worth it. Next time I attend HOFEX I will definitely book here again...
Restaurant Tip: So many nice restaurants here besides the popular "Hay Hay" which serves yummy suckling pig with rice, try the wife cake down the street from the hotel.
Supasit S. Business travelers Thailand, May 15, 2011
Good location but bad service

Good location
5.7
Hotel located in prime location but poor of service mind staff especially bell boy who looking for your big tip - reception staff also mess - work not good key card and problem solve in poor conditioin . Hotel quite old , we will never back to this hotel again

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - City View RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Room at 12 FloorEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Executive SuiteEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel ExteriorEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - EntranceEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Cafe 33 on HennessyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming PoolEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Swimming PoolEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Fitness RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive LoungeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive LoungeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Executive LoungeEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - BallroomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Meeting RoomEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyEmpire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Hong Kong - Empire Club Lounge

Customer Reviews - Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C07