or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Empire Hotel

44 West 63rd Street, Central Park - Upper West Side, New York (NY), United States 10023 (Show on map)

Book now!

Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Standard Guest Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Double Guest Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Standard Guest Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Guest Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Amenities Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Bathroom Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Bathroom Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Entrance Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby
Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Interior Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Interior Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Entrance Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Pub/Lounge Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Pub/Lounge Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Restaurant Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Restaurant Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Ed’s Chowder House Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Restaurant Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Banquet Room Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness Room
Area: Central Park - Upper West Side Number of Rooms: 420

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
138 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (138)
Sort by:
Patricia H. Families with older children United States of America, July 7, 2014
Satisfactory

location, cleanliness, shipping forgotten items
8
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The only problem was the elevators. The entire week we were there the elevators weren't working properly. Some days we had to use the stairs all day. To be fair, however, out stay was over the 4th of July.
Anders F. Groups Norway, July 5, 2014
The elevators did not work, we stayed at 8th floor

Other than the satisfaction of leaving this tourist machine/trap of a hotel, I would say the best part of the hotel was the location, the rooftop altough overpriced and no service whatsoever.
4.7
The first thing you notice is when you enter the hotel is the crazy line for checking in, then after reaching the counter they tell us that our room is not ready, this was at2pm after we got our room at 4 pm, for ahotel with 440 rooms 4 slow elevators is already a stretch, when they stop working thats when it really gets uncomfortable. Basically this is a hotel for the tourist who does not care about service, quality or value for money, they will try to milk every last dollar out of you. So if all you care about is the location and being "cool" and like to be surrounded by others just like that, then this processing plant of a hotel is right up your alley.
Mark F. Couples Australia, June 28, 2014
The Empire is very quirky and interesting.

Location, uniqueness and fun.
8
Great
Monica S. Couples United States of America, June 23, 2014
Disappointing

location
5
I checked in but could not get into the room. Our rooms were on the same floor to keep our family together. I specifically asked if I'd have to check in again and was told no. All we needed We came back when we could get in the rooms and our rooms had been changed. So, staff is not particularly interested in what they've told you. You can't count on what they tell you at the front desk. They tell you online they will try to honor requests but can't promise. That's fair. However, once you've checked in, you'd think they could honor what they've committed to. Service was marginal, and the running commentary I observed behind the desk while I was waiting to secure a bag basically indicated that staff was annoyed with customers. It's a culture. Very importantly, the rooms are tiny. I mean seriously tiny. If you are a larger person, you likely can't even fit into the bathroom, and I am not exaggerating in any way. Housekeeping is not on top of its game. Cooling in the room was inadequate at max fan and cooling speed, and it had a slight unpleasant smell that was like old socks. They also charge you $3 for each cup of coffee you make in your room - but don't expect housekeeping to replenish your 1 Sweet & Low packet if you stay multiple days. Fiji water is $7.50 per bottle. Internet is not free either. We were not on a budget but for those who are, take this into account. At least if rooms are micro, you could compensate by providing something (like coffee, internet and a madly guest-focused staff) to balance out the guest experience. The restaurant attached to the hotel had good food but marginal service and was $160 for 6 hamburgers. Just sayin'. If you want to be close to the Lincoln Center, this is immediately across the street, but Le Meridien is 1 subway stop away (on the 1 line) next to Carnegie Hall and has generous rooms that are less expensive with a much better feel and a crackerjack staff.
Kevin M. Groups United States of America, June 13, 2014
Good stay. Rooms are very tight but nice.

Location Lounge area Friendly staff
6
Overall ok 1/2 cup chopped sweet piquante peppers 1/2 small red onion, chopped 1/4 cup finely chopped sweet gherkins 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley 1 red jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
Laura C. Business travelers United Kingdom, June 12, 2014
Great location

Location, staff, food
10
Pascal H. Business travelers France, May 31, 2014
Perfect location and amazing quality / price ratio

Location, location and again location
8.3
Facing Lincoln Center, a stone throw from Central Park and Columbus Circle, with no less than 6 subway lines to commute either uptown or downtown, the location of this old but remodeled hotel is ideal. Of course we are in NYC so room size is limited, the worst being the tiny bathroom, but when you are in NYC, you've got many more things to do than staying in your hotel room. Nice staff, good cocktails and excellent in-house restaurant (Ed's Chowder). Two negatives nevertheless : 1/ Programming of the elevators is puzzling, regularly forcing you to wait long minutes to go downstairs while the lift passes by without stopping at your level (I chose to use the stairs several times as I was tired of waiting 2/ Noisy air con devices. But on the whole, highly recommendable hotel at an amazing good price !
Wauhtuka L. Families with older children United States of America, May 31, 2014
Significantly less than expected for the price

Apples on the front desk, location, bar staff
6.7
Check-in was impersonal and staff was rude. Offered no assistance to make navigating the city or the hotel easy. Did not verify the room accommodations. Was overall poor customer service. No vending, little beds, very slow elevators. Gerard at the bar was excellent.
Jenny E. Couples United States of America, May 29, 2014
Tiny rooms, dated hotel, but convenient location

Location
5.7
Below average
Christine A. Couples United States of America, May 26, 2014
Enjoyable, but I'm un-impressed.

Location, location, location.
6.7
My stay was ok. The staff was nice and generally attentive, but the room's amenities were lacking. You can tell they're trying to paint over the wear and tear, but the evidence of them needing to update is clear. There were only 2 working elevators during and incredibly busy weekend and the wait was annoying and delaying. The roof top bar was a bonus for us upon booking, but upon arrival we realized the crowd was loud, rowdy, and aggressive. It felt like we were walking into a sleezy night club from a blurry time back in college. It's a shame, cause we were up for a drink and some good lounge music. The room was comfortable for us but the bed was hard as rocks (contrary to many people's reviews about it being divine). All in all, it felt a bit tacky for our taste.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Empire Hotel New York (NY)Empire Hotel New York (NY) - Standard Guest RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Double Guest RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Standard Guest RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Guest RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel AmenitiesEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Suite RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Guest BathroomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - EntranceEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - EntranceEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Pub/LoungeEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Pub/LoungeEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Ed’s Chowder HouseEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Banquet RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness RoomEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - RooftopEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Rooftop Empire Hotel New York (NY) - RooftopEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Rooftop PoolEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Rooftop LoungeEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - ViewEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Swimming PoolEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantEmpire Hotel New York (NY) - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3C01