Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Empress Hotel

199/42 Chang Klan Road, Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and Beverages Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Superior Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and Beverages Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Imperial Suite Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Spa
Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and Beverages Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Exterior Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Superior Room Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby
Area: Chang Khlan Number of Rooms: 375
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
1369 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (1369)
Sort by:
Tess H. Groups United Kingdom, January 2, 2013
nice hotel but not set up for 3 travellrs

pool
5.3
The food at the pool was pretty awful, they brought banana fritters instead of curry samosas! The room was booked for 3 friends and was very small, hotel does not cater for groups of 3. However when I discussed the food down third bed they were very quick to provide a better mattress to lie on the floor. The cleaning staff were very lively and friendly, these are the guys who helped me get a nights sdleep
Darwin D. Couples United States of America, January 2, 2013
New Hotel for New Year

Location and Rate
6.7
We chose to spend New Years in Chiang Mai and chose Empress Hotel mainly because of location, near the night market and the rate. The rate was reasonable and there was no mandatory New Years Eve party fee. We were quite happy with the hotel. It is not modern but it has everything we needed and it was all in good order. The staff was helpful and friendly when approached but other times felt invisible. We could walk down to the night market for shopping and eating in 10-15 minutes. So that was good. Breakfast buffet was adequate but I suggest you chose your time wisely. The room can get extremely crowded at times.
Travel tip: For getting around town, there are taxis with signs on the roof stating they are Taxi Meter. However no taxis use a meter all public transportation uses the negotiation system.
Maggie Z. Families with young children United States of America, January 1, 2013
An old hotel.

location is ok.
4.7
we spent two nights at this hotel. it's more like a 3star hotel in mainland china. the hotel staff only speak very little english and only provide 1 key for each room. they also refused to provide another pair of indoor slipper for my daughter. overall, i would prefer to stay at another place if we come to chiangmai again. maybe we come during the peak season, for the price i paid, the hotel is below my expectations.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Night bazaar is within walking distance, not too far away from it.
Edrick W. Couples Singapore, January 1, 2013
Lovely Hotel in a good location

Big Rooms, Location, Great Food
9.7
So lucky. Got upgraded to a suite room, even though booking was for a deluxe. Front office staff were extremely nice on that aspect. Typical Thai decor in the rooms. Lots of wood. Room was big, but downside was bathroom was a bit small. Tv in both living room and bedroom. Must comment that the lunch buffet at the hotel cafe was very good. Food was delicious and a wide range of choices. Only per person. A must try. A lot of foreigners staying at the hotel. Did not try the hotel facilities but i must say overall good stay at this hotel.
Chandran P. Couples Malaysia, December 29, 2012
Very comfortable hotel

Excellent sevice ; Executive floor & rooms worth every penny.
9.7
me & my wife had a delightful 2 day stay at the empress - dec 27-29. we were impressed with the service, especially the coffee house staff - when my wife mentioned that dec 28 was my birthday, during our dinner there, within minitues, a very nice gift of 2 small elephants was gift-wrapped & presented to me. now, thats real touching service !!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: A trip up the mountain to visit a beautiful golden buddhist temple is something not to be missed.
Ching T. Families with older children Malaysia, December 29, 2012
good hotel to stay.

hotel is quiet and slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the market but near enough to walk
8
room had welcome fruits n chocolate. excellent service and good breakfast
Walter L. Business travelers Philippines, December 27, 2012
Lovely hotel

Walking distance to restuarants, shops and night blazaar.
6.3
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Room service is excellent and the staff friendly and accomodating. Good location and about 10 minutes walking distance to the night blazaar.
Catherine P. Groups New Zealand, December 26, 2012
Large hotel

Close enough to night market to be an easy walk and far enough away to be quiet.
4.3
Hotel at capacity and staff stretched! Internet connections in hotel poor. Booked early - requested nonsmoking room and good Internet. Disappointed on both counts.
Hotel Feature Tip: Try this hotel in an off peak period.
Boonyawat T. Families with young children Thailand, December 26, 2012
Good value for money

Clean and close to the city with good value for money and good breakfast.
8
This hotel is a bit old, but our room has been renovated not so long ago. It's quite a big hotel with a lot of staffs and facility. The location is not so far from the city center (night bazaar). We rented the car, so we had no problem to commute. But we found it's also not difficult to get the Tuk Tuk (small taxi) to the city. The staffs were quite nice and helpful. We requested the connecting room, early check-in and late check-out, the staffs tried to help us as much as possible. The breakfast was quite nice with a lot of selection and good taste. Would recommend for the one who looking for the good value for money!
Esther S. Groups Singapore, December 25, 2012
Decent location but bad service

nothing
3.7
The hotel and rooms are very old and has a musty smell. The service is more orientated to service caucasians than Asians. Caucasinas were given preferentail treatment compared to Asians. Breakfast is nothing to die for.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Empress Hotel Chiang Mai - Hotel BuildingEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Executive RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - SuperiorEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - ExecutiveEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - ExecutiveEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Imperial SuiteEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - ExecutiveEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - ExecutiveEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Superior RoomEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorEmpress Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3A01