Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Equator Village Resort

Addu Atoll (seenu), Addu Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Equator Village Island Resort
Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming Pool Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Interior Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Interior Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Interior Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Interior Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Exterior Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Bathroom Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Balcony Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - Balcony Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Pool Bar Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming Pool Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming Pool Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Spa Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational Facilities Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational Facilities Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Diving
Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Entrance Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Reception Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Lobby and Reception Area Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Floor Plans Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Bar Equator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming Pool
Area: Addu Atoll Number of Rooms: 78

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.4

based on
28 reviews

18 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
6.9
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (28)
Sort by:
Ilaria M. Couples Italy, February 14, 2013
almost no beach and very dirty

good for snorkeling and diving
5
We arrived at Male airport and the plan transfer to Gan Island was 2 hours later than what agreed with the hotel, but at least we stayed in the lounge with aircon and something to eat. Nice welcome at the arrival in Equator Village, but soon started the 'tip issue'... the reception even give an instruction paper with the details about it. I didn't expect everybody to be so pushy about that, especially in such a budget place. The all-inclusive option is nice until you discover food is very basic and almost no fish is served, very surprising in Maldives... it still a good option for the drinks. The worst part is about what is expected to be the best thing: there is almost no beach (around 5 to 10 meters according to the tide) and it's so dirty that you avoid it... plastic bottles, cigarettes, food all over. Luckily it seems fishes and crabs are not affected yet, and you can easily see them from the small pier. If you want to take a bath you use the swimming pool, quite depressing. It seems Addu atoll is very famous for diving, so it can be a good choice if you want to invest money on that rather on the hotel. Two snorkeling trips are included, but not so impressive.
Report this review
Ervan R. Solo travelers Switzerland, January 21, 2013
Village camp for elderly

Cheaptr
4.7
Watch out the diving center will try to charge you as much as possible and get the money you saved by eating German or Russian buffets...
Restaurant Tip: Hope you like the basic food that you have in your cafeteria, it is the same there!
Report this review
Matthew F. Couples Italy, January 6, 2013
The resort for those who hate resorts

Staff, Location
8
The Equator Village is a great way to visit the Maldives for those who want all the comforts of a resort (all inclusive meals and alcohol) and still be free to explore the culture of the local inhabitants.
Report this review
Dileep K. Couples India, December 31, 2012
Lovely Hotel and service with a smile

Friendly Staff and we like the food
5.7
It was nice to stay with Equater Village. Probably this season for europeans not for asians. I think monsoon is the best season for Asian. We would like have a lady spa massager there was only one men is handling spa..! rest everything is good.
Report this review
Mazlim H. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 25, 2012
Simple yet lovely

One of the few hotels you can stay in the Maldives (out side Male) and yet interact with the local populations
8
My stay here was fantastic. The staffs were friendly. However, there are rooms for improvements. I think they need to have a "concierge" who can entertain for guests requests. Cost of internet connection is ridiculously high in this day and age.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: dive dive dive
Report this review
Samuel M. Solo travelers United States of America, April 23, 2011
Very interesting place!

Inexpensive, down to earth
9.3
The Equator village is very different from the other, totally fabricated resorts in the Maldives. It was once an RAF base during WWII and the place is huge, and you reach there by domestic flight, which is cheaper than the air taxis. Most importantly, the British connected several island via a causeway, which means that people actually live thrre, so you see an active, if laid back community. The rooms are simple, not like the luxury resorts, but they pretty much let you take as many free snorkeling trips as you want, twice a day. The staf was nice and the living area is beautifully gardened, the pool is nice, but why use it when the house reef is just offshore. Definitely will return here, but this is not your idyllic paradise island. It is very much a real place with a history.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Laid back, easy going, great staff!
Report this review
Julia J. Solo travelers United States of America, January 5, 2011
Amazing service, but a budget resort

The staff absolutely made my trip.
7
OK, let's be realistic here. For what you pay to stay at this resort you really shouldn't be expecting the Ritz. So, not to much of my surprise, my room had a slightly higher bug and vermin population than I would have preferred. The room was immaculately clean. The problem was that there was a huge gap (almost 2 inches) between the door and the ground that allowed the critters to get in. Also, I found that the food was pretty bland. It was never offensive, but you definitely got sick of eating it after a few meals. On the plus side, I loved the pool and the spa. Both were unexpectedly lovely. And, most importantly, the staff at this resort was the friendliest I have ever dealt with in my many years of traveling. They were kind, helpful, funny, clever and engaging. Every single person, from the landscapers who offered the best option for a meal on the island (a fresh picked coconut), to the room attendants, to the front desk and wait staff were kind and immensely friendly. Hands down, the best part of my stay were the people.
Report this review
Mui R. Solo travelers Hong Kong, December 13, 2010
位置 Good ,area good. Hotel ok.

Not expensive , compare other in Male hOtel.
7.3
1) The area seaside south really great better than Male . 2) Island have some small store we can choose other shop buy some thing and eat some thing , not same in Male some lsland they only have Hotel shop no choose,so all expensive buy everything no choose. I did stay in Male Bandos Hotel , they dont have any choose for us. ever the price no made since need to buy.
Hotel Feature Tip: At airport How to go to your Hotel ? Need to chamge small airpain? Or need by long tome boat ? time to set up,really important. not easy ...
Report this review
Previous page 11 - 18 of 18 reviews
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Equator Village Resort Maldives IslandsEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming PoolEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - InteriorEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - InteriorEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - InteriorEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - InteriorEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - ExteriorEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - BathroomEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - BalconyEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Standard Room - BalconyEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Pool BarEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming PoolEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming PoolEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - SpaEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - DivingEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - EntranceEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - ReceptionEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Lobby and Reception AreaEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Floor PlansEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - BarEquator Village Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming Pool


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07