or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Essence Hanoi Hotel

22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Interior Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Entrance Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Buffet Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Buffet Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Buffet Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Double
Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Twin Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Junior Suite Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Suite Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Suite Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Junior Suite Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Junior Suite Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Lobby Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Reception Essence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Lobby
Area: Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Superb

9.2

based on
348 reviews

Value for Money
9.2
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.9
All reviews (348)
Sort by:
Alice K. Couples United States of America, August 12, 2012
Friendly, spotless, amazing customer service!

Wonderful location, very help, a calm center amidst the busy streets of the Old Quarter
9.7
this place is everything they say it is. we had two nice visits with them this summer and were totally comfortable both times. they take cood care of you without being intrusive. breakfast is good but, sadly, as a vegetarian, the meat items are too plentiful and almost everything dish has meat and nothing is marked. the workers sometimes are not clear about what is in the food and the bacon is in the same closed heating tray as the grilled tomatoes - yuck. other than this issue, it was a very nice visit, spend a few extra dollars and get a room with a balcony or a window, the others are rather dark tho' still of a good size. the rooms are very clean and well equipted - they even have a laptop in each room with free internet! it's great.
Nightlife Tip: Just step outside and turn left! The street food, the bai hoi ( fresh beer you drink while sitting on kittle stools along the street) for .25cents a glass. Such fun to just watch the world go by. An easy walk to the lake and so much to see in the area.
Kaizar R. Couples Singapore, August 10, 2012
4 star hotel with 6 star service

service
10
I have neverl experienced 5 star treatment in such a valued hotel. We got a great corner room and it was so quiet who would have guessed we were in the middle of the old quarter. Location was great, all the best little shops near by. The best spring roll we ate in Hanoi.
Mirko M. Couples Germany, August 9, 2012
Spot On

location, service
10
We stayed for 3 nights and had a fantastic experience. We travelled a lot in Asia but we have never had such value for money experience anywhere else. First of all the location is right in the middle of a buzzing Hanoi old quarter street life but yet the room had double glazed window which left any noise outside. Street life around the hotel is fantastic but if you have not been to Asia yet it might can get a little bit to much for you. I loved it. The service in the Hotel was outstanding and they helped us with every problem we had. I called in advance to get the airport transfer organised (18 USD one way) which is highly recommended as otherwise even the tourist information at the arrival is trying to rip you off with 30 USD one way. The hotel has a designated travel desk and whoever works there was helping with all question we had. They also organised a taxi for us from the Hotel to the middle of nowhere in the Tam Coc area and when i forgot to take my base cap out of the taxi, the hotel found the driver 3 days later and got him to look for the cap and to return to the hotel. Breakfast is very good, exactly what you need. Lovely people there, servicing with a smile and good english speaking skills. We booked via agoda and got a fantastic deal, check it out.
Hotel Feature Tip: ANZ cash machine right in front of the Hotel which has it's own travel desk
Stephen C. Solo travelers United States of America, August 8, 2012
A Little Gem in the heart of the action

Location, service, facilities.
9.7
I loved my stay here. Clean, modern, good food, friendly service, and right in the heart of the old quarter craziness. Great value.
Randal G. Couples Canada, August 7, 2012
Great refuge from the intensity of Hanoi

Comfortable rooms, great location, smart staff
8.3
Essence Hanoi was a fantastic refuge from the lunacy of Hanoi. Very pleasant and helpful staff, clean decent sized rooms, very good in-house restaurant, and an unbeatable location in the heart of the old quarter. The staff did exactly what they said they would and didn't take advantage of billing us in any negative ways. We were comfortable and always happy to get back to this nice boutique hotel to cool off and relax. Hanoi is intense; you want to have a clean, safe, comfortable home base to run home to and Essence is exactly that. Wifi was free and worked great everywhere in the hotel.
Restaurant Tip: The Highland Cafe is a few minute walk away from Essence Hanoi and it's a great place for cold drinks and an excellent view of the city, day or night.
Randal G. Couples Canada, August 6, 2012
Comfortable refuge from crazy Hanoi.

Clean and serious hotel.
8.7
we had a good three night stay at essence. the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. we had a deluxe room which was quite large and well fitted out. exactly as shown in the pics. it was clean but a bit loud; we could hear the craziness on the streets though it didn't keep us up since we were so tired every day. hanoi is a challenging place. don't expect to relax there except back at the hotel. the pace of the city is ridonkulous. but fun. the hotel is right in the thick of everything so it's a great location if you want to explore. not sure you'd want to stay in any other area. we enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again. only complaints were the bit of noise and the fact that the fridge in our room didn't actually keep anything cold (had we complained i'm sure they would have done something about it; staff was very nice). a/c was very much needed and it worked very well. the hotel had lots of opportunity to rip us off but never did; they were very honest with their billing. breakfast spread was nice too.
Hotel Feature Tip: Just be prepared for how intense Hanoi is. It is very very busy and crowded. AND HOT!
Graham T. Couples United Kingdom, August 6, 2012
Great Room, great location & great service

Attentive and helpful staff, great location in the old quarter
9.7
Me and my girlfriend enjoyed a great 3 night stay in the Essence Hanoi in August 2012. The customer service and attentive nature of the staff is the best I have experienced while travelling round S.Asia on holiday and business. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel when we are back in N.Vietnam. Keep up the good work.
Stefan P. Business travelers Germany, August 2, 2012
As always a pleasure to stay

best trained staff in vietnam
9
good location, super friendly and well trained staff. nice and clean rooms. its worth its money
Steffen P. Business travelers Germany, August 2, 2012
Nice hotel in the middle of the old quarter

Breakfast
7.3
The Hotel is clean and relativly new. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Nightlife Tip: Funky Budda BAr
Leticia W. Solo travelers Brazil, July 30, 2012
Excellent service and quiet, comfortable rooms

The staff is kind, efficient and the location is perfect if you want to experience the lively surroundings of the Old Quarter
8.7
the essence hotel was a peaceful, cool refuge amid the ebullient maze of narrow, crowded streets in the old quarter. the staff is always willing to help, as soon as i arrived they gave me a good map with a selection of worthy places to visit, shops and restaurants, and told me the safe taxis to get around town. everything works very well, the rooms and bathrooms are nice, bright, clean and comfortable, i got to know two different ones. the restaurant offers a nice choice of both vietnamese and western dishes, the kitchen has a big open window where we can see the chefs working, and the breakfast is excellent. they also have a pleasant spa called la siesta, it's worth a visit, it is in another building two blocks away, and they provide the transportation. as a solo traveler it was the best place i could have chosen and i would recommend it to my friends.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Vietnamese Women Museum was my favorite place to visit, it is a moving tribute to the more then fifty different ethnic groups that form the Vietnamese culture, each floor is dedicated to an aspect of their lives, families, societies, religions, crafts, beautiful!!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Essence Hanoi Hotel HanoiEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Connecting RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BathroomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - InteriorEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - EntranceEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BuffetEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BuffetEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BuffetEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe DoubleEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe TwinEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - DeluxeEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Junior SuiteEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - SuiteEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - SuiteEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Junior SuiteEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Junior SuiteEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BathroomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BathroomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - LobbyEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - LobbyEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Pub/LoungeEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BuffetEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BuffetEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BathroomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BathroomEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Dining tableEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Vietnamese food cornerEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Dining areaEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Dining tableEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Family - dining tableEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Decoration in the foyerEssence Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Souvenir corner

Customer Reviews - Essence Hanoi Hotel, Hanoi

AS-AGWEB-3C02