arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Exceptional 9.2
Based on 536 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 536 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for Money 9.2
  • Food/Dining 8.8

Simeon M.
Australia
January 11, 2014
Our favourite hotel of our honeymoon
Customer service, location, luxury
Quite simply this was the favourite hotel for my wife and I during our honeymoon through Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia. The majority of places we stayed at were 5 star but this one easily outshone some very big names simply due to the genuine customer service. Everything else (with one small exception) was also above average and that paired with the customer service, neither sycophantic nor aloof like so many other 5 stars, made it a great place. The one exception was the water pressure in the shower - we could live with it but it was the single drawback. The location is also fantastic and a lot more useful than the 'fancier' 5 stars further out of town.

Jay J.
Singapore
January 03, 2014
Fabulous value hotel in Old Quarter.
Location, staff, value.
Wonderful stay in Hanoi's Old Quarter at the Essence Hotel. Great location. Staff is friendly, attentive and well-informed. Went to great local restaurants, bars and spas on their recommendations. In fact on staff member walked us personally to a local bar a few hundred meters away. Another thing: We took an overnight excursion to Halong Bay organized through the hotel. Ditto on our transport to and from airport. Everything went off without a hitch. Hotel is clean, safe and comfortable with a bit of flair. Very nice restaurant. I'd definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to others. I live in Singapore and have traveled to other Asian countries and cities.

Brenda L.
United States
December 20, 2013
Amazing, helpful staff!
Staff, location (city), eateries
Wonderful, too short stay- very helpful staff and clean, efficient room.

Harriet L.
South Africa
December 17, 2013
Wonderful, caring staff.
Wonderful, caring staff.
Excellent. Well situated in the Old Town for sightseeing, eating and shopping.

Nicole G.
United States
December 17, 2013
Nice hotel in a good location
Location, Staff, Restaurant
This is a nice higher end hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. The location is great for eating, shopping and sightseeing. It has a nice restaurant with good food and nice breakfast options too. Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful. One note is that the price they quoted us for an extra night once we were there was significantly lower than what we paid on Agoda. Not sure why that was. Also, this hotel is a bit more pricey that many similar hotels in the Old Quarter. It's nicer for sure, but the budget options offer a better value in my opinion.

Silvia E.
Austria
December 16, 2013
great
Food, location, servive
excellent location in the old city centre, great service, good food (breakfast plus dinner), friendly team, many shopping opportunities close by many bars and restaurants in walking distance would recommend a stop there

Paul S.
United Kingdom
November 21, 2013
Didn't disappoint
helpful staff, comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant
We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews and we weren't disappointed. From start to finish the staff were superb. We have an 18 month old and he was treated like royalty. The location is great for exploring the old quarter. Rooms were very comfortable with high speed internet and laptop. And to top it all the restaurant was so good that it was hard to tear yourself away and explore other Hanoi eateries. If we go back to Hanoi this is where we will stay.

Maimunah A.
Malaysia
November 20, 2013
Value for money central hotel.
Location, value for money and friendly helpful staff.
The stay was fantastic. The room was small but comfortable. The bed was nice and firm. We had free Wifi with an in room laptop. TV with many English speaking channels. TV channels in French and Japanese are also available. The en suite is compact with a tub. The only drawback was, the water pressure is a little low. The most important thing about this hotel is the staff. They were very helpful.

Bartholomew W.
United Kingdom
November 12, 2013
dreadful
nothing
Unfortunately they charged me full price for a mistake I made in the booking. I mistakenly booked October 2013 instead of January 2014. Knowing I still need a hotle in January they might have offered me some incentive to stay there but no they showed no imagination. I will seek an alternative hotel.

Wendy R.
United Kingdom
November 08, 2013
I would definitely stay here again.
Service, location, breakfast
Superb, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hanoi.