Back to hotel info

Exceptional 9.2
Based on 542 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 542 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for Money 9.2
  • Food/Dining 8.8

Fui C.
Singapore
February 15, 2014
helpful staff, cosy
cleaniness,
we enjoy stayed at Essence, staffs are friendly. Will stay with them again next trip.

Martina O.
Germany
January 28, 2014
Rightly amongst the top ranking hotels in Hanoi
Nice and comfortable room. Great location. Fantastic staff.
Our room was very comfortable, pleasantly designed, and very clean. A great place to get back and relax from the hooting and tooting on Hanoi's streets. We found it worth spending the extra money on a junior suite as compared to the deluxe room. Breakfast options are excellent, and are best described by 'a bit of everything', with Vietnamese and European dishes, wide range of fruit, homemade yoghurt and crème caramel, ... What really makes the difference is the staff. From reception to restaurant and housekeeping they are all very professional. Attentive, helpful and ready to go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. And not only in situations were all goes well - we had booked one excursion through the hotel, where we encountered some problems. Management and staff handled the situation with great professionalism, and eager to make sure we would leave with good memories/a nice end of our vacation. The location is central and convenient. Absolutely recommended!

Luke B.
Australia
January 20, 2014
Great location
Location, Staff, Food
The staff at the Essence Hanoi Hotel were fantastic - some of the best we experienced in Vietnam. The hotel was a great restaurant with lots of great food options. We chose to eat there mostly during our stay. The room was dark and stuffy as there was only a very small window that only looked out onto other walls of the hotel. However this wasn't much of an issue as we didn't spend very much time in the room and the room was comfortable, modern and clean. The location of hotel is great - in very close walking distance to most attractions.

Angela H.
New Zealand
January 18, 2014
staff could not do enough for you - outstanding
staff location food

Simeon M.
Australia
January 11, 2014
Our favourite hotel of our honeymoon
Customer service, location, luxury
Quite simply this was the favourite hotel for my wife and I during our honeymoon through Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia. The majority of places we stayed at were 5 star but this one easily outshone some very big names simply due to the genuine customer service. Everything else (with one small exception) was also above average and that paired with the customer service, neither sycophantic nor aloof like so many other 5 stars, made it a great place. The one exception was the water pressure in the shower - we could live with it but it was the single drawback. The location is also fantastic and a lot more useful than the 'fancier' 5 stars further out of town.

Jay J.
Singapore
January 03, 2014
Fabulous value hotel in Old Quarter.
Location, staff, value.
Wonderful stay in Hanoi's Old Quarter at the Essence Hotel. Great location. Staff is friendly, attentive and well-informed. Went to great local restaurants, bars and spas on their recommendations. In fact on staff member walked us personally to a local bar a few hundred meters away. Another thing: We took an overnight excursion to Halong Bay organized through the hotel. Ditto on our transport to and from airport. Everything went off without a hitch. Hotel is clean, safe and comfortable with a bit of flair. Very nice restaurant. I'd definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to others. I live in Singapore and have traveled to other Asian countries and cities.

Brenda L.
United States
December 20, 2013
Amazing, helpful staff!
Staff, location (city), eateries
Wonderful, too short stay- very helpful staff and clean, efficient room.

Harriet L.
South Africa
December 17, 2013
Wonderful, caring staff.
Wonderful, caring staff.
Excellent. Well situated in the Old Town for sightseeing, eating and shopping.

Nicole G.
United States
December 17, 2013
Nice hotel in a good location
Location, Staff, Restaurant
This is a nice higher end hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. The location is great for eating, shopping and sightseeing. It has a nice restaurant with good food and nice breakfast options too. Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful. One note is that the price they quoted us for an extra night once we were there was significantly lower than what we paid on Agoda. Not sure why that was. Also, this hotel is a bit more pricey that many similar hotels in the Old Quarter. It's nicer for sure, but the budget options offer a better value in my opinion.

Silvia E.
Austria
December 16, 2013
great
Food, location, servive
excellent location in the old city centre, great service, good food (breakfast plus dinner), friendly team, many shopping opportunities close by many bars and restaurants in walking distance would recommend a stop there