arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 31 reviews
Excellent 8.5
Based on 1835 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 31 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Staff Performance 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Dmitry V.
Russia
January 08, 2012
Hotel Furst Metternich
location, old and nice historical building
We stayed at Christmas holidays. Location is good in the small route from the main shopping street . Nice building and location. anyhow room was small and cold. which maybe was normal for old days of this building, but now normal air conditioning is a must, I believe. We have not get breakfast there, as it was not cheap at all and you can visit any cafes around. Staff was so so helpful, but not more than that.

Dace
Latvia
February 16, 2016
2 days in Vienna
Excellent location! Few steps from the shopping street, but in very quite street. Walking distance to all main attractions. If know the right exist from the metro (towards Otto...) then it is just ...
Smoking in the bar, but seems is alowed everywhere in Austria

Mikekap
Greece
February 15, 2016
Exceptional
Big room. Lovely bed and the staff was very friendly.
Nothing.

Chonticha T.
Thailand
November 06, 2010
excellently preserved hotel since 60s!
morning buffet was best, detailed, and extraordinarily make our days
very comfortable and clean, perfect valued for services and hospitality. The hotel is best located in the heart of Marihilf shopping street and very closed to metro and railway station

Maria A.
Philippines
July 04, 2010
good for short stay
convenient location
need to put ramp near front door stairs
Hotel Fuerst Metternich has a great location, very near the u-station Zieglerstrasse, near all the shops and one stop away from the Westbanhof. The room is as usual a bit small but has all the amenities like a good bathroom, flat screen tv with cable channels, refrigerator and best of all, free wifi in the rooms. Staff are very good. The room was clean and the bed and sheets and towels were clean. But there is no airconditioning, so if you going to stay in the summertime, just keep the windows open. Great place to stay in you want to shop as it is on Mariahilferstrasse, the shopping street, lotso of places for food, clothes, electronics and other things. The Underground is very convenient, so you can get anywhere in Vienna very quickly. The downside, near this are there are some streetpeople, not dangerous if you know how to avoid trouble.

Helena
France
February 14, 2016
Excellent quality/price butique hotel in...
Location is great, easy to access by car from the motorway, just off the main shopping steet, few minutes away from underground, 10 min walking from museum quarter. Old, butique hotel with a soul, ...
I would expect a bit better "deal" for a parking in the garage around the corner. Arrival time only after 14h seems sometimes a bit late.

Marina
Sweden
February 01, 2016
Cool, clean and perfect hotel...
Really good location. Close to everything, metro, shops, food etc. Good hospitality and kind staff. Very clean and cool hotel! Would definetly stay here again!
We didn't eat the breakfast because it was a bit expensive but for all we know it could have been a very luxurious one 😉

clayton L.
Hong Kong
June 24, 2010
Good location
Good location
Nil
Very good location, only 5 mins distance walk from the nearest Metro. The room is so far as good, but the bathroom are very clean and new. I will take this hotel again if I travel to Vienna.

Stanimir V.
Bulgaria
August 06, 2008
Simple Vienna
Good location - shopping, sightseeing; simple but good breakfast; very good bar - thousands of cocktails and whiskies, cozy.
No air-conditioning.
Small hotel located at the heart of Vienna, with a very friendly personnel, very clean, cozy and pleasant. We stayed there for a weekend and although the hotel was full, we did not have the feeling of the crowd, except on the Sunday late breakfast. The best about this place is the local American Bar. After a good dinner out in town, it is perfect for a night cap, in our case – we could not resist but do it several times – the cocktails menu is huge and the drinks are just perfect. The choice of whiskies is also unbelievable – these people are collectors and one can see brands one never heard before. Same is the situation with cigars – plenty of good choices. What we did not like about the hotel – the rooms are not air conditioned, which during August – is not very pleasant. Also, the Internet can be only used by the reception, and there is no WiFi. Overall, I must say that this is a good value for money choice!

Bruno
Brazil
January 31, 2016
Great Location
Very good location. The hotel is OK, the building is beautiful, the team is great (Austrians in general seemed to be very friendly and nice).
The room is really small, breakfast is very expensive (you can get a good breakfast just next door at McDonalds for a third of the price) and you can hear a lot of what goes on on your fellow neighbor...

Anastasia
Russia
January 28, 2016
Good
the location is perfect! the room was clean and neat.
the staff was not helpful to recommend the proper route to one of the railway-stations: the receptionist said we had to change four times in the underground though actually we practically discovered ...

Alexandre M.
Switzerland
November 12, 2011
Très bonne situation
wifi
hôtel très cosy et bien situé sur une grande artère marchande de vienne. bar au rez de chaussée qui vaut le détour. au niveau confort la chambre est étroite et fonctionnelle. etat général moyen mais la salle de bain est neuve.

Female
Serbia
January 25, 2016
Okay
Location is great. Everything is relatively close
Everything in the rooms was old and in bad condition. It could be much cleaner

Ronan C.
France
January 03, 2010
Hotel fuerst Metternich
Proximité du centre ville. accès direct à une station de métro sur l'artère commerçante, le Mariahilfe Strasse.Ambiance agréable .Petit déjeuner très copieux !
Chambre n) 47 un peu viellote qui aurait besoin d'être rafraichie et modernisée mais literie convenable.
L'hotel Furst Metternich est un très bon rapport qualité prix pour tous ceux qui cherchent un hébergement confortable mais simple au coeur de Vienne et veulent visiter les principaux sites touristiques sans perdre de temps dans les transports .Le bar américano cubain en sous sol"bar fly" est une attraction à voir ! Les petits déjeuners sont très copieux et vous permettent de "tenir" jusqu'à l'après midi. Un bon choix que nous ne regrettons pas.

Aleksej
Serbia
January 24, 2016
Simply excellent!
Location was great, and staff was very friendly. Rooms (and especially) toilets were newly renovated and modernized, still the hotel keeps its cult and historical feel. Furthermore, for the same price...

Rene J.
Austria
June 13, 2014
Den Erwartungen entsprechend
Lage, Sauberkeit, Preis/Leistung
Den Erwartungen entsprechend wegen einer Empfehlung gut. Das Hotel diente als Start für Sightseeing. Jederzeit wieder.

Claudia E.
Germany
February 02, 2011
wunderschönes Zimmer in toller Lage
zentrale Lage / sehr geschmackvoll renoviertes Zimmer / unbedingt Superior buchen - ist es immer wert
wir waren sehr überrascht, was man für so wenig Geld bekommen kann.

Teodor
Romania
January 24, 2016
Good choice
Wireless un-functional in room

Manuel
Netherlands
January 23, 2016
There is not wifi internet...
In the web page of the hotel says that there is free internet conection but in fact is not working. Even though the management of the hotel knew that this was doe to a faulty wifi network they were ...

Hansrainer B.
Germany
April 11, 2010
Kurzurlaub in Wien zur Osterzeit 2010
Preisgünstiges Übernachtungsangebot, zentrumsnahe Lage, U-Bahn-Haltestelle in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft, stilvolle und sehr gut bestückte Bar im Haus.
Renovierung wäre dringlich (v.a. Treppenhaus, Fenster), Frühstücksbuffet könnte abwechslungsreicher und qualitativ wertvoller sein, Abdichtung des Frühstücksbereichs gegenüber dem vorabendlichen Zigarettenrauch aus der Bar sollte optimiert werden.
Wenn ich für meine Erwartungen und Bedürfnisse eine Abwägung zwischen Vor- und Nachteilen treffe, dann bedauere ich meine Entscheidung für das Hotel nachträglich nicht - Preis und Lage haben angesichts der überschaubaren Zeitdauer (4 Übernachtungen) die erwähnten Nachteile mehr als aufgewogen. Für das Hotel spricht meines Erachtens auch das freundliche Personal, das sich auch hinsichtlich des ein oder anderen Tipps, der für den Wien-Touristen dienlich ist, als kompetent erwiesen hat und - nicht zuletzt, um den Tag ausklingen zu lassen - die Bar.