arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 54 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 54 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 8.3

viktoriia V.
Ukraine
June 22, 2013
good location, but not friendly staff
location, location, location
Very good loction, everything in a walking distance. But slow and unfriendly staff. Only stairs (no possibility to roll a suitcase or a chair for disabled person) + no porter service avaliable.

Marco S.
Switzerland
February 19, 2013
Grand Hotel that is situated at a noisy street
Gives you the feeling to stay at a five star Hotel
Hotel lobby and rooms are very spacious and are well decoreated. Breakfast buffet lives up to the expectation and is sitruated in a very nice breakfast room. Only draw back is the noise of the main street which was very annoying. I guess this though holds inly true if your room goes towards the main street.

Marylyn M.
New Zealand
May 21, 2011
The breakfast was okay, dining room pleasant
The cleaning staff, they deservewd the tip we left
they were running a promotions system to eat in the restraunt and a promotions system in their corner bar where you get a discount on checking out.

Rachel W.
United States
March 27, 2011
Good Location. Good amenities
Good Location
I am a frequent visitor to Brno and the Grand Hotel is almost always my hotel of choice when I am there. It is strategically located byt the Hlavni Nadrazi (main train station) from where one can go to Prague, Germany, Austria, virtually anywhere. The hotel is also just steps from downtown where there are many restaurants and shops to choose from. Also, major tram and bus stations are just a stones throw away. I like the rooms as they are large with high ceilings. They are well appointed, although some rooms are very noisy depending on location. I always request a room away from the station. Breakfast buffet is varied and good. There is a smorgasboard of cheeses, fruits, grains, cured meats, smoked fish and cold beverages. Lately they got a very fancy capuccino machine too. I enjoy the breakfasts at the Grand Hotel. Room rates are reasonable, not the cheapest, and you have to pay for internet access in the room. They provide a computer in the lobby where you can check your emails and browse the web for free, but there is only one unit and sometimes there is a wait to use it. I have always strongly felt that access to the internet should be provided by hoteliers for free to their guests so I don't subscribe to a paying for it when I'm at the Grand Hotel. Other than that little con, I would definitely recommend this hotel. One other last comment. There have been times when I forget to make reservations and I just show up at the reception at an unholy hour to check in. They have always accomodated me willingly and not overcharged for rooms not reserved in advanced. Service has been always prompt and courteous and helpful.

Rachel W.
United States
February 26, 2011
As always, it's adequate
Location
the grand hotel is the grand dame of hotels in brno. it is located steps from the brno main train station. for that reason alone i keep going back to this hotel when in brno for business. the rooms are adequate and very spacious, except the singles which look like a college dorm. be wary of getting a room by busy streets or near the tracks. breakfast is always pleasant and varied. i love the cheeses, the smoke fish, bacon and omellete, but the bread leave much to be desired. there also is a variety of grains, oats and cereals as well a juice. funny, there seems to be more restaurant servers than guests. overall the hotel is adequate and the service and food is good. i will keep coming to this hotel when in town for business because of its location. did i mention the hotel is also close to the city center. just let your feet be adventurous and you'll see what i mean. it's also one of the reasons i stay here, i don't need to take a cab (hate those cab drivers that take you in circles to bump up the fare). just walk behind the hotel and the lovely city opens up to you

Richard N.
Australia
December 05, 2010
Great location - Fantastic Breakfast
The Location The Hotel is opposite the rail station.
We had a non smoking room but we still could still smell smoke which was venting through the cooling system.
Had a wonderful time and a very pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel .... Everthing seems to work out well when Reception and Hotel staff are helpful. Thankyou.

michael D.
United Kingdom
October 10, 2010
Grand Hotel Brno
Central, easily accessible, clean well appointed. Nice friendly staff
It was a pleasant stay, very nice helpful staff. The room was clean, well appointed & tidy. Grand hotel is very central in Brno. All in all a good experience

Peter S.
Austria
September 21, 2010
Good hotel for business
Location
The biggest advantage of this hotel is the location. This is more or less directly in the city center. Internet is costing extra. The rooms are small and many of them are real single bed rooms. The televison is lousy. Only a few channels and those you get are poor in quality. Parking space is in front of the hotel for more than. Opposite the street is a public parking area where you can park for little money. It really depends on the price you get for this hotel if it is ok or not.

Stephen F.
United Kingdom
July 05, 2010
Good Value in the Heart of the City
Clean. well organised and central to the city
rooms at the front can be noisy because of trams
This is an excellent hotel, situated opposite the main train station on Brno, Its also situated to the main central shopping area and is close to all the bars and restaurants of the city. The buffet breakfast is ample and tasty. The staff are all courteous and the majority can speak a level of English. I would have no problems reccomending this hotel to others.

Karen B.
Canada
April 12, 2010
great service
excellent breakfast bar. Everyone spoke english well Rooms was clean and quiet!
poor internet in lobby.
Check in was a speedy process after my long flight from canada! Everyone spoke english very well which was a bonus for me as I don't speak czech. Location was very convenient to all the shops and entertainment in the square. Free internet in the lobby was not that good. Could not get on to my e-mail during my entire stay. Has free wireless in public areas, so I would suggest you bring your laptop