arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.5
Based on 74 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 74 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Simon M.
United Kingdom
September 03, 2013
Ok - quick and easy for a one-nighter
Clean, friendly, centrally-located
Not bad - but the breakfast room was a little dark - it was a prison though! Thick walls so poor wifi - it was a prison though! Staff had handcuff earrings - guess what!

Karen R.
Australia
July 20, 2013
Convenient and good public transport
Convenient, great modification from jail to hotel and friendly staff.
Very good. Overall a very pleasant experience. Staff were helpful and language was not an issue at all. It was also very convenient to transport with a tram stop right outside the front of the hotel.

Theeraporn K.
Thailand
May 12, 2013
Good hotel, close to Viking line ferry
Bed room, Location, Food
The hotel room is big and clean. The location is very close to viking line ferry helsinki-tallinn. But can not use WiFi in the bed room, the Wifi signal have only in lobby area.

Aaron Y.
Australia
March 11, 2013
Cool alternative hotel with some interesting sites
Different/alternate design, history, staff performance

Claire H.
Australia
March 18, 2012
Lovely old prison converted to a Hotel
Lovely hotel with character, fantastic food
this hotel was a novel experience being a converted prison with many of the features still intact, the staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was really cozy and the food was great, we had the best burger there and the breakfast was great with an extensive variety of food. the rooms were modern and clean with large bathrooms. the location was ok, it was a little out of the city, which we liked as we didn't want to be in the centre of the hustle and bustle, but there is a tram stop right outside the hotel that runs frequently into the city which is about 5-10mins away on the tram or 20mins to walk. would definitely recommend and stay again.

Chong W.
China
January 30, 2012
A Nice Prison Converted Hotel
Nice Breakfast, Good Converison of the Prison to Hotel, Interesting interior, Worth for Money
the location of the hotel is acceptable, it's just 10 minutes on tram 4 or 4t from helsinki city centre, the tram stop is just in front of the hotel. since i traveled to stockholm by viking line, and it is just 10-minutes walk to the viking pier for boarding. the breakfast is really nice, especially the coffee and the sun-shine egg. the most interesting feature of this hotel is the interior design, all features are pretending for jail, which reflected its original usage of the building. all the staff are wearing prison uniform, chairs and tables, everything that makes you feel you are in the jail.

suwinya K.
Thailand
June 10, 2011
Lovry hotel in jail atmosphere
THe feature of jail decoration and nice staff
the hotel room is small but compfortable. they use the superior equipement in room it is so nice to stay. the staff are so helpful. i enjoy it very much i will stay here again i have chance to go to helsinki.

Darryn B.
New Zealand
May 09, 2011
Great Hotel
Comfortable beds, excellent customer service, breakfast
On arriving at the Bestern Western Preimer hotel Katajanokka, I was greeted with a smiling and helpful attendant on the front desk. The rooms are well spacious, modern and warm, with a very comfortable bed. The excellent buffet breakfast will meet all travels needs. Enjoyed my stay and will stay again in the future

Genevieve B.
Australia
February 28, 2011
excellent staff, service, and accommodations
free internet, amazingly deep bath, fluent english speaking staff
had an excellent stay. love the building, the room, great buffet breakfast spread and also had dinner in their restaurant very generous portions! iv made another booking to return before i leave helsinki

Su-chi W.
Taiwan
January 24, 2011
valued hotel with good quality
transportation, breakfast
comfortable towel and bed. tasty breakfast, quiet and clean room. very close to tram stop. everything is good.