Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 103 reviews
Excellent 8.1
Based on 1087 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 103 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Ozlem from Turkey
Groups
Exceptional
Good location Fast and easy checkout
There were no slippers in our room
Reviewed October 27, 2015

Matthew S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2012
Great location but overpriced
Right in the middle of Helsinki - close to railway, close to Finnair bus, close to great food/shopping/clubs. Helpful staff
Hotel has been partially renovated (bedroom but not bathroom). Clean room, friendly staff, good variety for breakfast (but very busy at 0900). The best feature of this hotel is the location - right in the middle of Helsinki, so a great base. I would expect a lot more (space, service and features) for the full price of the room - thanks to the Agoda deal I didn't feel ripped off at half-price). In general a good base from which to explore, but only if you can find a good discount
Reviewed July 07, 2012

KA C. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2011
Good Service & Big Room
Good Location & Big Room
It was located at the centre of the city next to the central railway station and close with other public transportation (ie Bus, Tram, ferry and Metro). Major attractions are nearby in walkable distance. The Room size is really Big with modern design and user friendly facilities. A decent clean and tidy bathroom. Staff were cheerful and helpful on our enquiries and requests.
Reviewed March 05, 2011

Rune from Norway
Couples
Satisfying
Perfect location, still very quiet. Excellent breakfast.
Noisy air condition
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Siew from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Exceptional
Friendly and helpful receptionists, can never forget their smiles too.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Craig P. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011
Great Hotel for the money!
Very central to the city, staff are very helpful and friendly, newly renovated dinning area. My choice in Helsinki
I like this hotel,better than the others I have stayed in during my 6 business trips to Helsinki. The rooms are basic but very comfortable,clean. The staff are very helpful, speak English quite well, helped with many questions about where to go and do in the city. They just renovated and expanded the dining area. Complementary breakfast is good. Lots of shops within a few minutes walk in any direction.
Reviewed March 04, 2011

WONG K. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2011
Over-rating
Good location
Near the railstation and sightseeing points. Rich breakfast and good taste.
Reviewed March 02, 2011

Xiaorong from China
Families with older children
Good
wifi is too bad
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Anonymous from United States
Couples
Exceptional
Friendly staff, great location and wonderful breakfast.
Reviewed September 17, 2015

Craig P. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2010
Sokos Helsinki
the very center of the city, close to central train station
old hotel, slightly refurbished, worlds smallest elevators
I checked in late, got my room, very basic room offering, ironing board and iron in the room ( big plus ), found the iron had a hole the size of a quarter coin.....called downstairs and had a replacement within 5 mins ! ( at 12 midnight, the satff were quick )
Reviewed October 03, 2010

Geoffrey M. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010
Helsinki Haven
Good location; comfortable room; good facilities; reasonable prices;
Seemingly inefficient air-con; no tea/coffee making facilities.
We were forced to shorten our stay by one night, but staff were very understanding and accomodating. The Sokos is a fairly large hotel, but felt more intimate. Staff were unobtrusive, but efficient and professionally friendly. In warmish and rather wet weather, the air-conditioning seemed rather inefficient, but at least there were some opening windows. Breakfast was adequate, as regards choices and quantity, but perhaps a little limited for vegetarians.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Anonymous from China
Solo travelers
good place but without slippers
Good place ,very convenient from air port to hotel, and easy place for shopping
no slippers
Reviewed September 14, 2015

John from Australia
Solo travelers
Helsinki's Best
Great location with a nice balence being in between the port, train station, monuments and city centre. Would stay there again. .
Small room design and hard to get out of the bed if you had two people sharing.
Reviewed September 09, 2015

Alexander P. from Russia
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in August 2010
Sokos Hotel - good choice
Centerlocation, free WiFi with good connection, Nice breakfest
In was ecomomy class and for it quality was pretty good. Overall satified
Reviewed September 02, 2010

Birgit P. from Germany
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2010
Good value for monay
situation in city
lobby not pleasant, rooms slightly too small
I enjoyed my stay at the Sokos helsinki as it was right next to my conference centre. Staff were friendly and the room was clean- good value for money.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Sharon from United States
Solo travelers
Great breakfast, good location in...
This hotel had an amazing breakfast. The location was good - near the train station, the university, shopping, and not far from the harbor. I slept well all 5 nights- it was surprisingly quiet.
The room was nothing special. It was functional and relatively small (not abnormally so I suppose).
Reviewed September 06, 2015

Anonymous from China
Solo travelers
Passable
the room size is very small, and the curtain is not working well, part of it is broken. and has to have curtain on all day because outside is the window of other rooms.
Reviewed September 03, 2015

Peter S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2010
Sokos Hotel
Close to City Railway station and Airport bus terminal. If walking from the Train Sation, it was all 'flat' going though some cobblestones were a bit uneven.
Lack of cooling in summer
The staff were very friendly and helpful, offering advice as regards sightseeing when I asked. Brochures and pamphlets were on hand. Restaurant staff were also helpful with advising types of food. The breafast option was ideal, and the 'Free' WiFi was also an excellent feature, though connection speed was very slow.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

seck F. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2010
benefit of hotel and Barcelona scene spots
good service
the internet service need to be paid
i prefer free internet service to be provided to the clientele because near all hotel and hostal in Euro provide fee internet access
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Jeanette from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Great stay in this centrally...
Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very good, as are both the restaurants connected to the hotel
Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room, but a minor detail.
Reviewed September 03, 2015