Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 103 reviews
Excellent 8.1
Based on 1087 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 103 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 8.1
Sort by

Ozlem
Turkey
October 27, 2015
Exceptional
Good location Fast and easy checkout
There were no slippers in our room

Matthew S.
Australia
July 07, 2012
Great location but overpriced
Right in the middle of Helsinki - close to railway, close to Finnair bus, close to great food/shopping/clubs. Helpful staff
Hotel has been partially renovated (bedroom but not bathroom). Clean room, friendly staff, good variety for breakfast (but very busy at 0900). The best feature of this hotel is the location - right in the middle of Helsinki, so a great base. I would expect a lot more (space, service and features) for the full price of the room - thanks to the Agoda deal I didn't feel ripped off at half-price). In general a good base from which to explore, but only if you can find a good discount

KA C.
Hong Kong
March 05, 2011
Good Service & Big Room
Good Location & Big Room
It was located at the centre of the city next to the central railway station and close with other public transportation (ie Bus, Tram, ferry and Metro). Major attractions are nearby in walkable distance. The Room size is really Big with modern design and user friendly facilities. A decent clean and tidy bathroom. Staff were cheerful and helpful on our enquiries and requests.

Rune
Norway
October 25, 2015
Satisfying
Perfect location, still very quiet. Excellent breakfast.
Noisy air condition

Siew
Malaysia
October 12, 2015
Exceptional
Friendly and helpful receptionists, can never forget their smiles too.

Craig P.
Canada
March 04, 2011
Great Hotel for the money!
Very central to the city, staff are very helpful and friendly, newly renovated dinning area. My choice in Helsinki
I like this hotel,better than the others I have stayed in during my 6 business trips to Helsinki. The rooms are basic but very comfortable,clean. The staff are very helpful, speak English quite well, helped with many questions about where to go and do in the city. They just renovated and expanded the dining area. Complementary breakfast is good. Lots of shops within a few minutes walk in any direction.

WONG K.
Hong Kong
March 02, 2011
Over-rating
Good location
Near the railstation and sightseeing points. Rich breakfast and good taste.

Xiaorong
China
September 22, 2015
Good
wifi is too bad

Anonymous
United States
September 17, 2015
Exceptional
Friendly staff, great location and wonderful breakfast.

Craig P.
Canada
October 03, 2010
Sokos Helsinki
the very center of the city, close to central train station
old hotel, slightly refurbished, worlds smallest elevators
I checked in late, got my room, very basic room offering, ironing board and iron in the room ( big plus ), found the iron had a hole the size of a quarter coin.....called downstairs and had a replacement within 5 mins ! ( at 12 midnight, the satff were quick )

Geoffrey M.
Australia
September 10, 2010
Helsinki Haven
Good location; comfortable room; good facilities; reasonable prices;
Seemingly inefficient air-con; no tea/coffee making facilities.
We were forced to shorten our stay by one night, but staff were very understanding and accomodating. The Sokos is a fairly large hotel, but felt more intimate. Staff were unobtrusive, but efficient and professionally friendly. In warmish and rather wet weather, the air-conditioning seemed rather inefficient, but at least there were some opening windows. Breakfast was adequate, as regards choices and quantity, but perhaps a little limited for vegetarians.

Anonymous
China
September 14, 2015
good place but without slippers
Good place ,very convenient from air port to hotel, and easy place for shopping
no slippers

John
Australia
September 09, 2015
Helsinki's Best
Great location with a nice balence being in between the port, train station, monuments and city centre. Would stay there again. .
Small room design and hard to get out of the bed if you had two people sharing.

Alexander P.
Russia
September 02, 2010
Sokos Hotel - good choice
Centerlocation, free WiFi with good connection, Nice breakfest
In was ecomomy class and for it quality was pretty good. Overall satified

Birgit P.
Germany
August 31, 2010
Good value for monay
situation in city
lobby not pleasant, rooms slightly too small
I enjoyed my stay at the Sokos helsinki as it was right next to my conference centre. Staff were friendly and the room was clean- good value for money.

Sharon
United States
September 06, 2015
Great breakfast, good location in...
This hotel had an amazing breakfast. The location was good - near the train station, the university, shopping, and not far from the harbor. I slept well all 5 nights- it was surprisingly quiet.
The room was nothing special. It was functional and relatively small (not abnormally so I suppose).

Anonymous
China
September 03, 2015
Passable
the room size is very small, and the curtain is not working well, part of it is broken. and has to have curtain on all day because outside is the window of other rooms.

Peter S.
Australia
July 10, 2010
Sokos Hotel
Close to City Railway station and Airport bus terminal. If walking from the Train Sation, it was all 'flat' going though some cobblestones were a bit uneven.
Lack of cooling in summer
The staff were very friendly and helpful, offering advice as regards sightseeing when I asked. Brochures and pamphlets were on hand. Restaurant staff were also helpful with advising types of food. The breafast option was ideal, and the 'Free' WiFi was also an excellent feature, though connection speed was very slow.

seck F.
Hong Kong
June 13, 2010
benefit of hotel and Barcelona scene spots
good service
the internet service need to be paid
i prefer free internet service to be provided to the clientele because near all hotel and hostal in Euro provide fee internet access

Jeanette
Hong Kong
September 03, 2015
Great stay in this centrally...
Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very good, as are both the restaurants connected to the hotel
Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room, but a minor detail.