Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.5
Based on 149 reviews
Excellent 8.3
Based on 1064 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 149 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.5
Sort by

George from Canada
Groups
Superb
Four fathers travelling with their early 20's sons to watch the world junior hockey tournament - great hotel - clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, absolutely terrific breakfast with lots of ...
Reviewed January 07, 2016

Oded G. from Israel
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Great location, big rooms, nice breakfast
The location is the best thing... 2 min from the train station
I took this hotel since I had to take the train at 7:00 am, it was -14 degrees and the walking was very easy and short, the hotel rooms are nice and big, I got in late and checked out very early so I didi not have much time to enjoy..
Reviewed January 24, 2013

ELIZABETH M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great Location, Rooms clean and comfortable.
Location, Comfortable, Friendly staff
Enjoyed our stay at Sokos Vaakuna Hotel. Excellent location right on railway/bus square. Excellent for catching bus to and from airport. Restaurant very nice and breakfast great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to good shopping. Easy walk to harbour. Would recommend highly to anyone going to Helsinki.
Reviewed November 03, 2012

Joost from Netherlands
Families with older children
Fabulous
location, friendliness staff, efficiency
Reviewed January 04, 2016

Manuilova from Russia
Solo travelers
good hotel,historical finish simbol
good room on 9 floor whit big open balconi and nice view of central place of Helsinki,near train station and casino. Very professional and friendly people in reception
breakfast can be better,especialy becouse it was New year 2016!
Reviewed January 03, 2016

Sow Y. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed one night in May 2012
Convenient shopping mall hotel
Near to airport bus and train terminal
very convenient, 5 minutes walk from the airport bus station. the hotel is located inside the shopping mall. i can see the shopping mall from the room window; which also means the shopper can see inside my room so need to keep window and curtain closed all the time. generally, room is clean and well maintained. can assess internet in the room with password or there are 3 to 4 computers with printer in the lobby centre. breakfast was nice.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Svetlana R. from Russia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in September 2011
Great location!
Location, friendly staff
The location of the hotel is very great, everything is very close: the bus station, railway station, shops, metro etc.! The staff was very friendly. The room was rather big and spatious with 3 big windows with the great view! We can see time and temperature on the street through the window on the building below! ))) But it was cold in the room, and room is a little obsolete.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Aila from Luxembourg
Couples
Superb
Very central, but w/o disturbance from traffic. Throughout friendly and helpful staff. Spacy room in 1950s style.
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Lilita from Latvia
Groups
Exceptional
Easy to get there, wonderful staff.
Only thing spoiled our feelings - staff at the bar diwnstairs were not friendly at all - bar was crowded but we were kicked out from the empty seats on balcony just because we were not eating but just...
Reviewed November 07, 2015

peter F. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
Great Location helpfull friendly staff
on site sauna, good restaurant
when making a booking it goes without saying ,you get what you pay for.I noticed a remark when I booked that the rooms were small.so I booked a larger room at a small additional price. Plenty of eating places and grocery shops nearby. Airport bus across the street, also train station. I would stay here if I were to visit this city again.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Patrick S. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Nice hotel, great location, excellent service
Central location, excellent service from hotel staff, clean and comfortable room
My wife is Finnish, but not from Helsinki; we have stayed in Helsinki on other previous occasions in other Sokos hotels; the Sokos Vaakuna is considerably bigger than the others we had stayed in (Sokos Albert and Aleksanteri); Sokos Vaakuna is in a very central location (next to bus and train station) within short walking distance from many attractions; but it's not in a quiet and peaceful location; the Sokos Albert and Aleksanteri hotels are in more quiet locations; our only complaint was that the breakfast buffet was far too crowded for the small Sokos staff to handle; the breakfast buffet at the smaller Sokos hotels is lovely and provides a peaceful environment for a meal; on the plus side, we were traveling with a small baby, and the Sokos Vaakuna staff provided cheerful and excellent assistance
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Arda from Turkey
Couples
Location and Quality
Super location
A warm tea or coffee in the room would have been perfect.
Reviewed November 05, 2015

K from Switzerland
Families with young children
Very good
Location and the breakfast buffet. The room is spacious with a good view.
Reviewed October 26, 2015

chan L. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2011
Great Location but a little bit noisy
Good service & good environment.
We have stay here for one night, the hotel location was great, it's close to the central station & finnair bus station. There are a big supermarket just under the hotel, and lot of restaurant just nearby the hotel. The hotel room is quite big and comfortable & have a great street view. But it's a bit noisy when we are staying on sunday.
Reviewed May 04, 2011

Geoff B. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011
Aging gracefully
Scandinavian Efficiency
having stayed at the sokos vaakuna some years back it was interesting to see if there were any changes. overall a decent hotel for the money.
Reviewed April 07, 2011

Bing from China
Couples
Excellent location
Excellent location, the bus to airport is right opposite the hotel, walk distance to everywhere we want to go.
Reviewed October 09, 2015

Shiori from Japan
Solo travelers
Superb
cleanliness, kindfull service, great breakfast, location.
little high price.
Reviewed October 08, 2015

Ronald L. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
Great location with good facilities
Got off the 615 bus at the central rail station and found that the hotel was just on the other side of the station. It only took a couple of minutes to walk to it.
The hotel was very pleasant. Our room was a decent size. It had a roomy bathroom, a large screen tv and was very clean and comfortable. We were very warm inside despite freezing cold weather with lots of snow outside. The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast. There was quite a lot of choice although there was not much in the way of hot food. The hotel really is in a central location, very close to all the tourist attractions and several shopping malls.
Reviewed April 01, 2011

Anna M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011
Great breakfast and convenient location
easy to find, free wi-fi, supermarket and department store in same building
this was my first stay in helsinki and this hotel is so centrally located it wasn't really necessary to use public transport at all. it's just across from the railway station and so was easy to get to from the airport bus stop - which is great when you have a lot of luggage. the room (single) was small but as i was only sleeping in it that fit my needs. it was very clean and quiet and the hotel staff were always available and helpful, answering my questions and queries. the best thing for me was the buffet breakfast with a big selection of fruit, salad, breads, cereals and cooked food. that really set me up for the day. all in all, it's great value for money and i would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed March 07, 2011

Han-leon from Singapore
Families with young children
One of Helsinki's most conveniently...
Faultless location near transport hubs, malls and major sights; beautiful view of nighttime Helsinki, spacious rooms, friendly staff.
Narrow, cramped lifts.
Reviewed October 08, 2015