arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 45 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 45 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 6.6

9 Peter F.
United Kingdom
February 09, 2014
Comfortable and Cosy
Staff were great, Rooms warm and decent size for Paris, location - good access for metro/city
Excellent overall, can't praise staff too highly, great English, although they did try to improve my French! Attentive, and sense of humour too...what more do you require? Two Michelin Starred Restaurants within a 2 minute walk of front door. The location is great for The Rodin Museum; Les Invalides/Army Museum/Napoleon's Tomb a few minutes stroll away. A little further afield for The Eiffel Tower, cross over The Seine for other close by (ish)attractions. Three metro stations close by. Yes, I would stay here again. The hotel was/had been in the process of re-decoration and looked bright and fresh.

9.7 Eva S.
United States
January 06, 2014
Beautiful Boutique Hotel in central Paris
Location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff
I stayed at the Hotel des Varenne for 3 nights. As a solo female traveler, I felt that it was the perfect fit. It was clean, the staff were very friendly, helpful and fluent in English. I felt safe walking to and from the hotel as it's located on a nice quiet street in the 7th arr. My room was small, but perfect for my needs and overlooked the courtyard, which I imagine would be a beautiful place to sit in warmer weather. There is free WiFi for guests and the option to purchase breakfast in the morning. I personally enjoyed the breakfast and meeting some of the other guests while I ate. I will definitely be recommending the hotel to friends and family traveling to Paris, and will definitely stay here again during my next visit.

8.7 Rachel S.
United Kingdom
January 02, 2014
Relaxing weekend break with friends.
Location, friendliness of staff, clean.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The hotel was centrally located and very near a Metro station. Our room was clean and comfortable. Many thanks.

8 Wanda A.
United States
December 25, 2013
Quaint hotel without all of the bells and whistles
Friendly staff who helped with language differences; Very clean; and Web access and they helped make restuarant reservations
Staying at Hotel de Varenne was fine but without any bells and whistles. After traveling for 10 days I really wanted laundry service and they didn't have laundry service; you could go across the street to the dry cleaner but I didn't want to have a language issue and I really didn't think the drycleaner was necessary for cleaning pants (jeans) and underwear. They had a refrigerator but why when there isn't anything in it. Also, to this day I don't know why wash cloths aren't provided; how are you expected to wash yourself, ears, etc. with nothing smaller than a hand towel. I thought the breakfast of coffee or tea, bread with butter and jellies and honey, and a glass of orange juice was severly overpriced at 11 Euros which equates to approx. $15 American dollars but then I guess it is not necessary to eat there every morning. Also, no ice machines. You have to go down to the kitchen to get an ice bucket of ice. The staff at Hotel de Varenne are great!! Very pleasant, very very very helpful, very knowledgable, they helped with 2 taxi reservations and dinner reservations, and there was absolutely no problem communicating with the staff and their internet service is great. I just think with all of the travel I have done, I really need to start staying at hotels like the Marriotts and the Hiltons with more bells and whistles that match the price that is charged.

8.7 Lawson L.
United States
December 23, 2013
Charming boutique in a nice location
walking distance to many major attractions, charming location and facility, pleasant, helpful staff
I had an excellent stay. The room, and the hotel for that matter, was cozy but comfortable and the location was all that I could ask for.

8.7 Helen B.
Australia
December 18, 2013
Perfect hotel for a solo traveller.
proximity to major tourist attractions, friendly staff, nice rooms
Great stay in a very quaint hotel. Conveniently located.

7.3 Roberta L.
Italy
December 04, 2013
tucked away in a quiet courtyard
location was amazing; less touristy and more authentic, but within short walk from many Paris attractions.
it was nice to come back here after a long day of sightseeing; we were lucky other guests were reasonably silent,'cause room walls are very thin and you can hear people talking...

9.3 Joseba A.
Spain
December 03, 2013
Charming hotel in a wonderful city!
Great location, quiet surroundings, human-size hotel.

10 Rosemarie A.
United Kingdom
November 02, 2013
lovely short stay but I'll be back here soon👍
close to touristsights, shopping, museums & public transport.
I'm so happy with my overniht stay. So comfortable .It's worth the price. Lovely reception people. A hotel with a character

4.3 Alfred S.
United States
October 04, 2013
The hotel is located in an offbeat location
Nothing
We found out after 3 days the air-conditioning was off by the owner because he did not think it was necessary (this was mid September). We had one window in our room with no screens and by keeping the window at night we received mosquito and spiter bites. We complaint to the evening front desk clerk and requested he call the owner the find out how the system could be turned on, but the owner stated it was not essential and did not turn the AC on until the next morning. I think the location is misrepresented because the location is isolated and convenient. The only thing that was close was the subway. Your 30 a minute walk to the Eiffel and the center of St Germain. Very quiet area in the middle of Embassy Row with high walls and no architectural features. The internet is painfully slow, and one foreign daytime front desk attendant could appear irritated when asked a question.