arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 76 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 76 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Terry T.
Australia
August 23, 2014
Not good value for money
Location
Hotel is opposite a Greek Church with a bell tower under renovations and scaffolding all over it. So I presumed the bells would be silent. Not so. it seemed they rang ever half hour all night. I inquired before checking in if there was a lift and the receptionist said, "Of course!" However, I had to struggle up the entrance stairs to the lift without help. The room was old a had a bad smell. It appeared as if red carpet, red bed spread, red curtains and gold coloured plumbing and gold coloured wall paper on the feature wall was the reasoning for calling it a boutique hotel and charging a higher price than was warranted. There are better hotels in the Plaka which are much cheaper.

vinay G.
India
August 04, 2014
Worst hotel amazing location
Location location location
Rooms are really in bad shape. Some old renovated ones. You have to see them to believe this fact. Air conditioning is good. Bathrooms are Ok. Only thing that's good is location.

Audun E.
Norway
August 04, 2014
Four Star Hotel. Not a chance
Location - Location - Location
First of all, a 4 Star hotel. You assume would be more visible. We walked past the hotel twice. As the entrance was a small door with a small sign. Had to walk up some stair to a small desk where a person sat. Did not bother to get up, got handed a key. All staff at the hotel had their private clothes, and was impossible to find out if they where guest or staff. Staff nice enough. Who has given this hotel a 4 star rating? If you ask me, I would give this hotel a 2 star rating, nothing more. All they have to show for are location. Bed was hard and uncomfertable. No curtain to block sun light. No refreshment i.e. thea or coffee in room. International tv channels? Only BBC news. Breakfast was un-interesting and VERY limited. All in all, I am very unhappy about the hotel. But then again we did not stay much in room, mostly outside. But not rested due to light and bed standard.

Charles T.
Philippines
July 21, 2014
good hotel with an AMAZING VIEW!
amazing view, decent rooms, free wifi
This hotel has one of the best views of the Acropolis!

Charles T.
Philippines
July 21, 2014
great hotel, worth the price!
affordable hotel, good location, close to many restaurants

So L.
China
July 15, 2014
Romantic stay
Excellent location, Acropolis View, Boutique hotel
Magna is located in the prime location for tourists. Most Athens attractions, including Acropolis, are just around the corner which are all within walking distance. It was surrounded by plenty of nice restaurants. But the room view Acropolis view is quite noisy at night specially during World Cup which made us difficult in falling into sleep.

kazuhito I.
Japan
July 06, 2014
good location with a nice view
Good location , good staff and excellent view of acropolis
a bit difficult to find hotel place but a receptionist kindly supports to show us the way on the phone. we can enjoy an excellent night view of acropolis and it is worth of staying.

Phyllis L.
Canada
June 24, 2014
Perfect location boutique hotel in Plaka
friendly service, great view of Acropolis, good breakfast
The staff at this small boutique hotel spoke english and were very helpful and friendly. Our room for 3 people was adequate; single bed was somewhat lumpy. The room contained everything required, including air conditioning and toiletries. But don't expect a view, except at breakfast buffet, served on the roof, where one gets a superb view of the Acropolis as well as a great breakfast! When I return to Athens, I am returning here, for the location, the staff and the value.

Linda T.
Canada
June 24, 2014
Unique hotel; it has an elevator (lift); location
Roof top breakfast room/terrace with Acropolis view; elevator; location
Our stay was fine. It may not be "fancy" or "sleek" like some hotels in the area but then one would pay much much more. Location was one block or less from the Plaka shopping area, very close and within walking distance of Acropolis and other ruins. There was a cute train that runs around the area and is recommennded.

Jeremy N.
United States
May 24, 2014
Right in the Plaka. Friendly staff.
location, location, location
Good.