arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 26 reviews
Excellent 8.4
Based on 1671 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 26 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.5
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Andre L.
Norway
March 13, 2013
Ok hotel, with nice location for my visit
Location, Staff and Bathroom
I went to visit a couple friends of mine who works at Google main office. So the location of this hotel was very good for that stay. Did not eat anythin at the hotel, so cant give any fear reason for my review there.

Thomas
Ireland
February 02, 2016
Good
Location is great for us! And parking is easy and hassle free
Check in could have been better. Breakfast not included in price which could be when you are paying over €100 a night for a not central location.

GEOFF P.
United Kingdom
February 25, 2013
Great hotel perfect for weekend theatre
hotel offers deals including theatre tickets for nearby grand canal theatre
Really liked this hotel. Location not right in the centre but it is walkable within 10-15mins. Perfect for theatre, musical lovers. Hotel is also right next to a lively bar and close to many excellent restaurant of Dublin 4. Negatives: strict wi-fi limit but free nonetheless.

Helga
Germany
February 02, 2016
Superb
Location close to the canal. Room had everything you need. Gym room was in proper condition.
The building is one of these ugly 70ies architecture buildings, but I guess that does not really matter if you stay just a few days.

Sophia
Australia
January 31, 2016
Great value, warm and welcome!
Staff were friendly. The rooms were warm & welcoming, breakfast was excellent, they went the extra mile for an inexpensive hotel with bath robes and chocolates on the pillow at turn down time.

GEORGII B.
Ukraine
February 20, 2013
My favorite hotel in Dublin
Nice place, great staff
the hotel is situated at ballsbridge area, not far from aviva stadium. the rooms are quite nice and cozy. wi-fi is fine all over the hotel. haven't tried breakfast, as it was not included, but i suppose it is traditional, like in other irish or european hotels. it's not hard to reach any area of dublin, especially if you prefer to walk. everything is situated like 15-20 minutes by walk from here. and there are a lot of places nearby to have food and fun (chop house, ocean's, slattery's, etc.) i've stayed in the hotel for like more than 5 times and definitely will stay again

Deborah G.
Ireland
July 22, 2011
immaculate hotel, very friendly helpful staff
very clean!
Hotel room and ensuite were immaculate. We ate in the adjoining pub/restaurant and food was good, nice friendly atmosphere. Full breakfast in hotel restaurant was 9.95 but well worth it I thought. Hotel only a few minutes walk from DART station and only 2 or 3 stops out from Connolly Station so pretty central. My only complaint would be that you could hear very loudly when someone in a neighbouring room used their bathroom! Some guests were a bit inconsiderate when returning late at night letting doors bang loudly but you can't blame the hotel for that. Very friendly helpful staff too. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Claudiu
Romania
January 30, 2016
Good
Friendly staff, nice location

Billykilkenny
Ireland
January 27, 2016
Excellent hotel in every way
Excellent facilities and right at the Dart station stop

RICHARD S.
United Kingdom
July 01, 2011
Graded 3*** but worth 3.99****
My room was certainly big enough and the bathroom was spotless
i found it hard to believe i was in a 3*** hotel. but i suppose it is facilities that make the difference - not the standards within. reception staff, were of course, being irish, smiling and helpful. my room was certainly big enough and the bathroom was spotless. the shower was very interesting - just an area the batchroom, with a shower curtain. of course there was a bevel in the floor to a drain! did the rest of the bathroom flood - er, no! did the water drain away quickly - yes!!! did you feel you had lots of shower room - yes!! everything worked - the tv, the coffee maker, the iron (yes, and there was an ironing board!). i only sampled a bar meal and that was plenty and good enough. so, there 3.99 star quality at 3 star prices. and the final test - that odd request - could they do a little photocopying and send a fax to a hotel in argentina at 11:20 p.m. of course, no trouble at all, smiled the night manager. did it arrive - er, yes!!!

Joanne F.
United Kingdom
March 06, 2011
Great hotel !!!
Great location , friendly staff and clean rooms
Well we had a great stay....what a great hotel , easy to get to anywhere. loved the Canel Dock area , so many cafes and we went to the Grand Canal Theatre which was fantastic !!! I can't wait to come back

Johnny
Ireland
January 27, 2016
Where did it all go...
Stayed here before for Bord Gais shows so was expecting another happy stay. Dissapointed.
Wheres the guinness ???? The bar stocks 20 + craft beers. Fantastic if you love overpriced dish water. People like to have a pint of the black stuff in Dublin. Not here you wont!! Nor Carlsberg or ...

Gavin
Netherlands
January 26, 2016
Very Good and well prced
The prices for the location was excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the bed was very comfortable
With the Desk at the end of the bed it made the room a little cramped. I think it would be better in the corner. I had to pay for parking cos I didnt book directly with them

Sean K.
United Kingdom
September 16, 2009
grand stay
Clean, nive rooms, good value for money
little bit out of the centre of town
Had a pleasant stay at the Grand Canal. The staff are friendly and the room was nice and clean. The location was about a 20min walk from the centre of town (O'Connell St) which was ok. Overall the hotel is good value for money as prices seem to rise as you get a bit closer to the centre. Enoyed Dublin!

Katie
Ireland
January 24, 2016
Perfect hotel for half the...
The room was spacious and bright and on the upper floors like we asked. The staff were so kind even though we were young. The bath was amazing along with the bath robes and the little extras like ...
I thought the food was a little expensive for such a fairly priced hotel but that's because we were students and didn't have much money with us. We made use of a local takeaway around the ...

marine L.
France
June 14, 2010
Un super hotel
Très propre, moderne, spacieux, belle salle de bain, tv, bon accueil, restaurant au rez de chaussé, sécurisé.
Un peu loin du centre a pied
Le Canal Grand Hotel est un tres bon choix si vous souhaitez loger a Dublin pour un bon rapport qualite-prix. Tres propre et moderne, ce bel hotel vous permettra de vous reposer en toute tranquillité, dans des chambres confortables, avec un restaurant a disposition au rez de chaussé. Seul bemol : un peu loin du centre a pied, mais un arret de bus a 500 m et des taxis au pied de l'hotel compensent cela. Enfin, il est sécurisé grâce au systeme de carte pour prendre l'ascenseur qui garantit qu'aucun étranger a l'hotel ne pourra venir troubler votre sommeil.

Ryoji H.
Japan
May 11, 2014
ホテルは快適でした
スタッフが親切 エアポートバスが近くに停まる(とほ5分ぐらい) wifi接続可
ホテルは研修所を改修したような感じのホテルでしたが清潔感があり、快適でした。エアポートバスがホテルの近くに停まりますし、またエージェンシーがやってるエアポートバスはホテルの前から乗車でき2時間に1本ですが確か4ユーロで運行してました。鉄道駅はわりと近かったですが、中心地までのアクセスは良いとは言えず、ホテルの周囲にはレストランが殆どありません。

Jessica
Ireland
January 24, 2016
Could have been better but...
The closeness to the 3 Arena and the luas.
I didn't like the fact they had changed the bar to craft only and there was no option for a normal pint, well not that we were told of anyway.

Miriam
Ireland
January 21, 2016
Exceptional
The Hotel is in an ideal location for attending the Bord Gais Energy theatre and also very close to Dublin city centre. The Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and the ...

Marika K.
Finland
June 13, 2011
Upea sijainti, palvelu hyvä.
Kohtuullinen hotelli, palvelu asiallista.Lomailija ,joka tykkää kiertää kaupunkia muuallakin kuin vakionähtävyyksiä
Ystävättären kanssa läpikulkumatkalla Dublinissa ja yövyttiin pariin otteeseen täällä. Hotellin parhaat puolet ovat kaunis kanaalin ympäristö, siisteys ja hyvä aamiainen. Hotellin ravintolassa sattui meille ainoalla käynnillä huono palvelu eli sinne ei menty toiste. Muuten palvelu oli ihan asiallisen ystävällistä respassa ja muualla.Näkymät hotellihuoneesta olivat huonot, ekalla kerralla vaan tiiliseinä metrin päässä.