arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 22 reviews
Very good 7.8
Based on 2128 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 22 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Jon F.
Australia
March 31, 2014
"I Felt That I Was Family"! !
Wonderful Full Irish Breakfast!, Economical and Snug Single Room, unbelievably Friendly Staff!
For my first visit to Ireland, The Gate Hotel was a most wonderful welcome. The friendly ambience was perfect intro to Dublin. For the budget-conscious, this is a must-stay hotel. Centre of Dublin, easy walking distance to all major Dublin sightseeing and shopping, (if your lazy, the excellent Irish bus snd tram systems are only 2 minute walk away. The single room is small but very comfortable, with a double bed, tea-making facilities, shower in small en-suite bathroom made a perfect recovery den from sightseeing, shopping and Temple Bar bar-hopping. Of all the AGODA hotels that I have used in the past four years, (I even used 2 hotels on my way to Dublin, The Gate in Dublin for 7 nights and two hotels on my return trip to Australia), The Gate Hotel has to be my best experience of all. "I Felt That I Was Family"! If money is a main consideration this is the great pocket-sized friendly Dublin hotel for you!

Anonymous
Ireland
February 22, 2016
You get what you pay...
Cheap online price, Location, clean rooms.
No restaurant or bar within hotel, although Hotel has a agreement with a bar around the corner.

Ben
Ireland
February 19, 2016
Good location, but a drab,...
Excellent location right in the middle of Dublin, just a minute's walk from O' Connell St. The receptionist was very friendly and gave me a lend of her phone charger when mine broke.
Hotel is old and dingy. The room was small and very outdated - the TV was at least 15 years old, small with limited channels. The facilities were very poor - cheap hair-dryer and kettle, etc. The ...

Eardley M.
Sri Lanka
November 17, 2013
Very pleasant short stay
Friendly staff, good breakfast, easy access to public transport
Very pleasant though it was short. Worth the money

Reshef Z.
Israel
July 17, 2013
close to the center of town
large room,secure place,great location
the hotel is located very close to the main street in town,so it is a few minutes walk from major attraction,shops and the like. please be aware that the room has no AC, therefore in the summer time,i was there during July,the room can get hot during the day.as well,it is above a load local bar,that plays rock music,so if you are a light sleeper,take this into account.

Paula
Ireland
February 17, 2016
noisy noisy stay
convenient location although i would be dubious about the street
it was sooo noisy - there was a band playing below my room until 1.10am

Bozena
Ireland
February 16, 2016
Short visit to Dublin
The location was great, the style of the building is interesting if you are looking for something different, the good choice for breakfast in the nearby pub if you wanna taste the local cuisine( eat ...
The hotel doesnt have a lift which is not a big problem but it might be if somebody needs to carry a luggage. The room I was staying at was pretty warm in the afternoon but freezing cold later in ...

JEREMY D.
United Kingdom
May 14, 2013
Great value for money
Large rooms, breakfast, price
We booked 2 rooms and when we arrived we had been given refurbished quadruple rooms, one of which had 3 double beds! Really clean and comfortable. Decent fried breakfast. All staff were friendly. Heavy metal pub on ground floor but we didnt hear it. Only issue was the room key for my room had a knack to it and I could never lock it so I had to keep going to reception to get them to do it. Will stay here again.

Mauricio F.
Italy
November 02, 2012
Great location and fantastic costumer service
Location
very convenient location, right at the centre of the town. the costumer service was really good, especially in the morning during the breakfast. i had breakfast included with my deal and it was the best choice, great food, i could really experience the real irish breakfast! the hotel is really a good value for money, i had a great stay and strongly recommend.

Ti
Ireland
February 16, 2016
性价比非常高,物超所值
cozy warm room with free high speed free WiFi, friendly staffs, multi-choice of delicious breakfast~
Some bar downstairs. Like earthquake before 1 or 2 am. Lucky i am not a early-sleeper.

Anonymous
Hungary
February 16, 2016
Very good
The breakfast is excellent. The bar is authentic, you won't regret reserving a table for dinner as well!

Huey T.
Singapore
September 26, 2012
Great Location but noisy
IT is barely 50 steps to O'Connell Street that has shopping centres, banks, restaurants, post office, etc
The location of the hotel is really good. About 1 min walk to the bus stations that takes you to the Dublin Airport and City Hop on-off tour. Stayed in the hotel twice, before and after a tour, and left my luggage at the hotel. The staffs are rather helpful. As it is a budget hotel, there is no air-con. Both rooms I stayed in faced Parnell Street hence it's noisy, especially over the weekend where there were many pedestrians talking/hanging outside the hotel till early morning (around 4 am).

Huey T.
Singapore
September 24, 2012
Great Location but noisy
The hotel is located barely 20 meters from the corner of parnell Street & O'Connell Street - very near to the bus station to the airport, tourist office and shopping area.
The Hotel has a great location. Very near to city and can take the Air Coach to Dublin Airport easily. It is also near the Taxi Rank (taxi stand) and tourist office and a couple of shopping centres. However, it's a basic budget hotel and hence has no air-con. The room I stayed was facing Parnell Street (main road), hence, it is pretty noisy (traffic and pedestrians).

Eric
Germany
February 14, 2016
Awesome stay at The Gate!
Great staff- very helpful and friendly!

Niamh
Ireland
February 14, 2016
Good Value Central Hotel
Great central location, clean rooms, comfy bed, friendly helpful staff.
Wifi didn't work, tv didn't work, sometimes you had to wait a while to get into the hotel.

Hsiu-Min L.
Taiwan
July 21, 2011
Good location
The location is very good, very close to O'Connell St, good for shopping. The room is in OK condition. The breakfast they provided was very good. My stay was comfortable in genearl.

Jason M.
United Kingdom
July 03, 2011
value for money accomodation & excellent location
The cost, the location, the comfy bed!
If You want to leave more cash in your pocket to enjoy the sights of Dublin, then this hotel is for you! its a total bargain, I ordered a single room, but had a double when i arrived, the bed was super comfy! It had a TV, tea/coffee, radio alarm etc. If your a hotel snob, then this place is probably not for you as the decor isnt that great & a bit shabby in places, but for value for money it fantastic its bang slap in the middle of the city centre. If your a light sleeper make sure you take your ear plugs as there is a rock bar downstairs, I was right abouve it, but if ur on the floors above you'll be fine. All in all id stay here again for sure, it was a ttotal bargain compared to Dublin prices

Anonymous
United States
February 14, 2016
Superb
Very friendly staff! Love their breakfast!

Sean
Ireland
February 14, 2016
nice hotel
Nice place no complaints room nice and clean couldn't ask for more. And the breakfast was the besti ever had
Nothing to dislike

Neneng T.
Indonesia
June 14, 2011
Great location, near by main street of Dublin
Clean and with very helpful staff.
The price is relatively cheap, service is good and my room is clean with shower room inside.