Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 22 reviews
Very good 7.8
Based on 2147 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 22 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Kirsten
United States
July 08, 2016
Great central location - facilities...
Great room - obviously improved. Would have loved to have been there earlier so could see the pub in action!
Was a little noisy with construction (not your fault!)

Jon F.
Australia
March 31, 2014
"I Felt That I Was Family"! !
Wonderful Full Irish Breakfast!, Economical and Snug Single Room, unbelievably Friendly Staff!
For my first visit to Ireland, The Gate Hotel was a most wonderful welcome. The friendly ambience was perfect intro to Dublin. For the budget-conscious, this is a must-stay hotel. Centre of Dublin, easy walking distance to all major Dublin sightseeing and shopping, (if your lazy, the excellent Irish bus snd tram systems are only 2 minute walk away. The single room is small but very comfortable, with a double bed, tea-making facilities, shower in small en-suite bathroom made a perfect recovery den from sightseeing, shopping and Temple Bar bar-hopping. Of all the AGODA hotels that I have used in the past four years, (I even used 2 hotels on my way to Dublin, The Gate in Dublin for 7 nights and two hotels on my return trip to Australia), The Gate Hotel has to be my best experience of all. "I Felt That I Was Family"! If money is a main consideration this is the great pocket-sized friendly Dublin hotel for you!

Eardley M.
Sri Lanka
November 17, 2013
Very pleasant short stay
Friendly staff, good breakfast, easy access to public transport
Very pleasant though it was short. Worth the money

Emma
Australia
July 08, 2016
Great staff, great location and...
Absolutely lovely staff. Julia at reception, and the security guard from Murray's bar downstairs. Very helpful for 2 weary and unwell travellers. Can recommend dinner and the show at Murray's...
Be aware there are lots of stairs and no lift. not great lugging 20kg of luggage. Fairly basic hotel, could do with some TLC, but excellent location and staff made it feel homely.

Geertje
Canada
July 07, 2016
Affordable clean place to stay...
Basic but clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and extremely helpful. Fun Irish music and dancing in the evening and good breakfast in the associated Murray Bar. Right next to O'Connell street ...
Entrance is a little off-putting but it's worth persevering! I was looking for a hotel lobby type door and passed it by twice. Was wondering what I was getting into, but was very pleasantly ...

Reshef Z.
Israel
July 17, 2013
close to the center of town
large room,secure place,great location
the hotel is located very close to the main street in town,so it is a few minutes walk from major attraction,shops and the like. please be aware that the room has no AC, therefore in the summer time,i was there during July,the room can get hot during the day.as well,it is above a load local bar,that plays rock music,so if you are a light sleeper,take this into account.

JEREMY D.
United Kingdom
May 14, 2013
Great value for money
Large rooms, breakfast, price
We booked 2 rooms and when we arrived we had been given refurbished quadruple rooms, one of which had 3 double beds! Really clean and comfortable. Decent fried breakfast. All staff were friendly. Heavy metal pub on ground floor but we didnt hear it. Only issue was the room key for my room had a knack to it and I could never lock it so I had to keep going to reception to get them to do it. Will stay here again.

Anja
Switzerland
July 07, 2016
Excellent position and service.
Very central pisition, 2 min from airport bus stop and dublin bus, many restaurants nearby, irish breakfast at the underneath pub, staff very friendly, clean and big rooms, wifi works well...very good...

Maire
Australia
July 07, 2016
Absolutely awesome!
Excellent facilities and service. A genuinely fantastic venue.

Mauricio F.
Italy
November 02, 2012
Great location and fantastic costumer service
Location
very convenient location, right at the centre of the town. the costumer service was really good, especially in the morning during the breakfast. i had breakfast included with my deal and it was the best choice, great food, i could really experience the real irish breakfast! the hotel is really a good value for money, i had a great stay and strongly recommend.

Huey T.
Singapore
September 26, 2012
Great Location but noisy
IT is barely 50 steps to O'Connell Street that has shopping centres, banks, restaurants, post office, etc
The location of the hotel is really good. About 1 min walk to the bus stations that takes you to the Dublin Airport and City Hop on-off tour. Stayed in the hotel twice, before and after a tour, and left my luggage at the hotel. The staffs are rather helpful. As it is a budget hotel, there is no air-con. Both rooms I stayed in faced Parnell Street hence it's noisy, especially over the weekend where there were many pedestrians talking/hanging outside the hotel till early morning (around 4 am).

Kyle
United States
July 03, 2016
Exceptional
Soft bed but was broke a little, leaning one way. Not too bad tho

M
United States
July 03, 2016
Fabulous
It was clean and comfy. Great location. Nice breakfast.
Music til 2 am EVERY night.

Huey T.
Singapore
September 24, 2012
Great Location but noisy
The hotel is located barely 20 meters from the corner of parnell Street & O'Connell Street - very near to the bus station to the airport, tourist office and shopping area.
The Hotel has a great location. Very near to city and can take the Air Coach to Dublin Airport easily. It is also near the Taxi Rank (taxi stand) and tourist office and a couple of shopping centres. However, it's a basic budget hotel and hence has no air-con. The room I stayed was facing Parnell Street (main road), hence, it is pretty noisy (traffic and pedestrians).

Hsiu-Min L.
Taiwan
July 21, 2011
Good location
The location is very good, very close to O'Connell St, good for shopping. The room is in OK condition. The breakfast they provided was very good. My stay was comfortable in genearl.

Christine
New Zealand
July 03, 2016
Far from palatial
Not a lot
A building like this in this state of repair would not be able to be used for commercial purposes where i live.

Susan
Australia
July 03, 2016
Gate
Location and staff
Noise from adjoining business

Jason M.
United Kingdom
July 03, 2011
value for money accomodation & excellent location
The cost, the location, the comfy bed!
If You want to leave more cash in your pocket to enjoy the sights of Dublin, then this hotel is for you! its a total bargain, I ordered a single room, but had a double when i arrived, the bed was super comfy! It had a TV, tea/coffee, radio alarm etc. If your a hotel snob, then this place is probably not for you as the decor isnt that great & a bit shabby in places, but for value for money it fantastic its bang slap in the middle of the city centre. If your a light sleeper make sure you take your ear plugs as there is a rock bar downstairs, I was right abouve it, but if ur on the floors above you'll be fine. All in all id stay here again for sure, it was a ttotal bargain compared to Dublin prices

Neneng T.
Indonesia
June 14, 2011
Great location, near by main street of Dublin
Clean and with very helpful staff.
The price is relatively cheap, service is good and my room is clean with shower room inside.

Mariella
Netherlands
July 02, 2016
Great stay!
Everybody working there is really nice, friendly and helpful. Hotel is right in the middle of the centre and breakfast is excellent. Beds are good and shower is perfect, so no bad word for this hotel