arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 32 reviews
Excellent 8.5
Based on 833 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 32 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Jonathan L.
United Kingdom
July 01, 2013
Friendly budget hotel on quiet street
Convenient, Drug-free, Quiet
The hotel is a short walk from the RijkMuseeum. In fact, we walked from the airport bus (197) stop on Hobbemastraat to there, 10 mins. The staff were friendly, we had a room in an adjacent building. Stairs of course are steep, but this is Amsterdam. The place was clean, with a shared clean bathroom. Neighbours returned late and were a bit noisy, but that's not the hotel's fault - just poor manners.

Anonymous
Norway
December 15, 2015
Very good
Nice and clean hotel. Good location in quiet neighbourhood but close enough city center.

Dixie60
Norway
December 08, 2015
Good location.
Good location.

Sunniva M.
Norway
June 11, 2013
Nice big room, centrally located
Central, big room, quiet area
The hotel is close to major attractions, all easily reached by tram or by foot. Big room. Only complaint is the shower, alternating between cold and hot water while showering.

Shuxiu Z.
New Zealand
April 25, 2013
Excellent Location to key Attractions
Clean room, friendly staff, and central location

Rebecca
Australia
December 07, 2015
Convenient and comfortable
The location is close to everything but nice and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. My room was very clean and had all the facilities that I needed. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.
I had a few maintenance issues with my room, but the staff were very responsive. My room was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in, but it had everything I needed. It just meant that I ...

Szilvia
Czech Republic
December 06, 2015
Superb
Location is excellent, very quite area close to the city centre. Staff is super friendly. They offer free coffee and some fruits during the day.

JOHN R.
United States
April 05, 2013
Good city hotel
Location, breakfast, staff
The location was very good as it allowed you to walk to many attractions. It was easy to catch trams The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and in a very nice room. The steps in the hotel are very difficult to use so unless you are a mountain climber get a room with elevator access.

Wei W.
Taiwan
October 29, 2012
a lovely hotel
very helpful receptionist
this is a good hotel, but the small stairs from ground floor to first floor drove us crazy, we were carrying 3 luggages and it was very hard for us to carry our luggages up to our room. overall the hotel is ok !

Hakan
Turkey
November 26, 2015
Good
Breakfast, personnel, WiFi, background music
The beds

Jack
Australia
November 24, 2015
Nice hotel
Great location - 10 minutes walk from main touristy areas. Nice, clean hotel with very helpful staff. Small room, but had good quality modern fittings.
The bed in my room was very small (smaller than single I think), and the mattress was very soft/had no support. This made for an uncomfortable night's sleep.

Nasa W.
Malaysia
October 09, 2012
Location quite nice, easy access to tram
with breakfast and free WIFI
Nice big room with attached bathroom, TV quite small but not so useful as you busy touring around town. staircase too small and winding (luckily we carry back ppack instead of box luggage bag or suitcase). Price a bit high but ok (I think)

Andreas H.
Germany
October 08, 2012
Excellent Location
Location is very convenient
The hotel is only 2.5 km away form the Central Station. The hotel location is in a good neighbourhood and very quiet. Note that not all rooms have attached bathrooms. Breakfast buffet is good. Credit card payment have a surcharge of 4.5%.

Victor
Netherlands
November 22, 2015
Great cheap hotel
Friendly staff. Clean, well designed and sufficient room. For this price there is no better option in Amsterdam.
No bad experiences.

Ori
Israel
November 11, 2015
Very good
Location, Breakfest.
Single room quiet small.

Hin C.
Hong Kong
August 06, 2012
Tiny room but great staff
Best service I've had in Amsterdam
Stayed here just for the last night of the trip, we checked in late at night but the staff was very helpful, giving us all his knowledge about late night dining and night life in Amsterdam. The room was tiny though, with shared bathroom and toilet outside the room. Our room was on the 4th floor and fortunately there was an elevator in the hotel.

Nancy A.
Australia
July 07, 2012
Great price in Amsterdam
Price, WiFi, clean, location
Solid place. Clean, free Wifi, breakfast included.

Anonymous
United States
November 08, 2015
Pleasant
Th staff was friendly and helpful, the location
The room was very small, the pillows were very hard.

Bhavesh
Italy
November 03, 2015
Clean property and 15 minutes...
Only the helping staff
Room

Aki S.
Finland
September 25, 2011
Good location
Cheap and good location. Best for young people.
After we get our stuff in to room, and get some instruction from reception, we get our car to olympic stadion parkin place what costed only 8€ per day, we also get tram tickets to both of us for getting back to center and to get our car back. We really loved Amsterdam for night time it´s place where you can choose your way and place if you wanna get drunk or just chill out, and day time there is a lot to see like many lovely canals, small shops and alleys where you spend time walking around. Asterisk hotel was only walking distance from city center so we didnt need to use publictransportation after we get back from parking our car. And its in great place if you get losted in city just ask where is big roundabout because Asterisk is only like 200m from it.