Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 32 reviews
Excellent 8.5
Based on 980 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 32 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Ivan from Serbia
Couples
Clean,nice hotel in quiet street
We'll bee back.
It could be cheaper. Hard pillows.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Jonathan L. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2013
Friendly budget hotel on quiet street
Convenient, Drug-free, Quiet
The hotel is a short walk from the RijkMuseeum. In fact, we walked from the airport bus (197) stop on Hobbemastraat to there, 10 mins. The staff were friendly, we had a room in an adjacent building. Stairs of course are steep, but this is Amsterdam. The place was clean, with a shared clean bathroom. Neighbours returned late and were a bit noisy, but that's not the hotel's fault - just poor manners.
Reviewed July 01, 2013

Sunniva M. from Norway
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Nice big room, centrally located
Central, big room, quiet area
The hotel is close to major attractions, all easily reached by tram or by foot. Big room. Only complaint is the shower, alternating between cold and hot water while showering.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nancy from United States
Couples
Exceptional
Great breakfast. Clean and comfortable rooms. Near the hop on-hop off bus.
Reviewed June 08, 2016

Jacopo from France
Families with young children
Very good
Staff is very nice and helpful, rooms are big, clean, easy to reach because there is a lift, Position is quite good, close to the museums area and vondelpark
Reviewed June 07, 2016

Shuxiu Z. from New Zealand
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Excellent Location to key Attractions
Clean room, friendly staff, and central location
Reviewed April 25, 2013

JOHN R. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
Good city hotel
Location, breakfast, staff
The location was very good as it allowed you to walk to many attractions. It was easy to catch trams The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and in a very nice room. The steps in the hotel are very difficult to use so unless you are a mountain climber get a room with elevator access.
Reviewed April 05, 2013

Igor from Montenegro
Couples
Exceptional
This is the best hotel I have ever been!! Everything is perfect! Location, staff, cleanliness of the room...
Reviewed June 07, 2016

Noel from Australia
Solo travelers
A boutique hotel that ticks...
Everything about this hotel was perfect. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and much thought had gone into providing maximum convenience in a small space. Good wifi connection. The staff ...
Reviewed June 05, 2016

Wei W. from Taiwan
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
a lovely hotel
very helpful receptionist
this is a good hotel, but the small stairs from ground floor to first floor drove us crazy, we were carrying 3 luggages and it was very hard for us to carry our luggages up to our room. overall the hotel is ok !
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nasa W. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Location quite nice, easy access to tram
with breakfast and free WIFI
Nice big room with attached bathroom, TV quite small but not so useful as you busy touring around town. staircase too small and winding (luckily we carry back ppack instead of box luggage bag or suitcase). Price a bit high but ok (I think)
Reviewed October 09, 2012

Robert from United States
Solo travelers
Exceptional
The hotel was recently renovated and was very clean. The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of food.
Reviewed June 03, 2016

Youssef from Egypt
Solo travelers
Fabulous
The staff and the location were perfect, The hotel is very tidy and clean
No Air conditioner in the room The prices
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Andreas H. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Excellent Location
Location is very convenient
The hotel is only 2.5 km away form the Central Station. The hotel location is in a good neighbourhood and very quiet. Note that not all rooms have attached bathrooms. Breakfast buffet is good. Credit card payment have a surcharge of 4.5%.
Reviewed October 08, 2012

Hin C. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2012
Tiny room but great staff
Best service I've had in Amsterdam
Stayed here just for the last night of the trip, we checked in late at night but the staff was very helpful, giving us all his knowledge about late night dining and night life in Amsterdam. The room was tiny though, with shared bathroom and toilet outside the room. Our room was on the 4th floor and fortunately there was an elevator in the hotel.
Reviewed August 06, 2012

Hirofumi from Japan
Solo travelers
so so
location is nice, and convenient for sightseeing in Amsterdam
room space is too small
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Jonathan from South Korea
Couples
Lisa and the staff were...
Lisa and the staff were Excellent Very clean Great breakfast Felt very homey
Nothing
Reviewed May 28, 2016

Nancy A. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Great price in Amsterdam
Price, WiFi, clean, location
Solid place. Clean, free Wifi, breakfast included.
Reviewed July 07, 2012

Aki S. from Finland
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Good location
Cheap and good location. Best for young people.
After we get our stuff in to room, and get some instruction from reception, we get our car to olympic stadion parkin place what costed only 8€ per day, we also get tram tickets to both of us for getting back to center and to get our car back. We really loved Amsterdam for night time it´s place where you can choose your way and place if you wanna get drunk or just chill out, and day time there is a lot to see like many lovely canals, small shops and alleys where you spend time walking around. Asterisk hotel was only walking distance from city center so we didnt need to use publictransportation after we get back from parking our car. And its in great place if you get losted in city just ask where is big roundabout because Asterisk is only like 200m from it.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Mihai from Romania
Couples
highly recommended
Very clean, excellent position, good value for money.
Reviewed May 24, 2016