arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 68 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 68 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Rohan S.
India
July 21, 2013
Small Rooms
Clean, Internet, Easy access to airport
The rooms were very small. They were very exotically designed but the size was not impressive. The internet was good & the breakfast was OK. There's a direct train which takes you to the airport in 10 minutes

Darren G.
South Africa
June 26, 2013
Great hotel for a short stay
1) The originality & uniqueness 2) The staff 3) It's fun
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Andrew.This hotel is extremely modern, unique and fun.It is however not close to the city centre.You need to take a tram (which is directly outside the hotel) for ± 15 mins to get into Dam square.We arrived at 11h40.The first staff member wanted to charge us extra to check into our room earlier than 14h00.Another staff member was then kind enough to allow us to check in earlier at no extra charge.The rooms are unique and everything works off remote control.This system, however stopped working from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning.We discussed this issue with the manager,Andrew, who was extremely apologetic and was kind enough to offer us a free night stay next time we are in Amsterdam.I would not recommend more than 1 person staying in the room, as cool as it is, it is extremely small.

martijn V.
Netherlands
June 18, 2013
great staff, bad room technical state
staff, location, design
First and foremost: brilliant design, very clever idea behind the concept and in general you have wonderfully friendly and enthusiastic staff. I have been in hotel business for over 20 years and I would hire 90% of them with out any qualms. Even the housekeepers on the floor (although not speaking much Dutch or English) were all smiles and their genuine "good morning" was a great way to start our day. Upon arrival in the afternoon my reservation could not be found. After I gave my reservation number we were checked in swiftly but received no introduction whatsoever. The only information we received was on our onward travel and where to find the lift. The staff at the canteen were all brilliant. Friendly, cool and laid back and how refreshing to see that they seemed to enjoy their work. The Caribbean or perhaps African looking young lady there produced barista quality cappuccinos that were simply dynamite. When we returned from our concert, we found three members of staff on duty and we had drinks at the bar. Later, the young man at reception received a complaint via telephone and I picked up "water" and "we have only two on duty tonight so I cannot come up." This was a prelude to our own bad experiences, in hindsight. The next morning I could not get the shower to work. Only after I forced the shower doors closed quite violently, I managed to get the water to flow. My mother could not use the shower at all and could not read the numbers on the in room phone to call someone. Very sad that the design had won from practicality here. A problem I find so very often in hotels trying to be clever. Bravo for the design and idea behind your hotel, but epic fail in execution I am sorry to say. In her many years of traveling, this was the first time my mother stayed in a hotel where she left without having had a shower. The fact that no instructions were posted in Dutch anywhere is unacceptable in a hotel in Amsterdam.

Xinhao L.
Singapore
June 17, 2013
Great hotel, excellent service
Nice design, modern, clean

LEE D.
Indonesia
June 09, 2013
Great stay
Location to train station,proximitybto airport, breakfast
The stay was pleasant, asnwith the proximity to airport and train station, it makesnitveasier to travel to other cities by train, such as den haag. The hotel however is bit further out from city centre, but tram no 5 will take you pass all the main attractions.

LEE D.
Indonesia
June 09, 2013
Great sty for a short time in amsterdam
Closeness to airport, breakfast, room design

LEE D.
Indonesia
June 09, 2013
Great hotel
Breakfast concept price

Sharifah S.
Malaysia
June 03, 2013
Wonderful stay with great staff
Friendly helpful staff, 24 hours front desk, cool design
i had a wonderful stay in a really cool room design with a comfortable big bed. I spent 2 weeks around europe and my stay at citizenM was the best as the staff was the nicest compared to other hotels. so very helpful and attentive.the Tram station is right outside the hotel.

Lily W.
New Zealand
May 27, 2013
Very modern hotel
Location to public transport, really modern room and helpful staff
The rooms are really modern, a real experience and we had heaps of fun checking out the different buttons. Free movies was great, we wish we had more time to stay in the hotel but we spent most of the time exploring the area. Location is great, only a few minutes from metro station and a tram stop right outside the hotel.

Woon L.
Malaysia
May 24, 2013
Close to metro, nice design room
Close to metro, easy access to airport and city centre, nice room design