Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 100 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Siang Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
A jail converted hotel
outside nice scenery, near to station
this Lloyed hotel has different star grade of Rooms. The room i get is a 1-star or below. If somebody wish to has a experience to stay into a Jail (This is a Jail converted Hotel),this is a right plc to visit. it is because the room, it stayed still keep the original jail look, example broken wall tilt, dim lighting of jail corridor. Hotel management only place a Queen bed, install 6 lamp posts plus a plant in the room.
Reviewed March 26, 2016

Laura J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
Pointless
Building, staff.
Ok at best. Maybe I'm fussy but not having a kettle in the room is ridiculous. It was -3 on one of our days and we didn't want to be trekking up or down stairs/in lifts to get a hot drink. The room smelt so someone had opened a window in an unsuccessful attempt to get rid of it. Again, bear in mind the temperature so our room was very cold for quite a while. I believe there was a view but the condensation in the room meant we couldn't see out (yes I could have wiped the windows). Lastly the shower was weak and if you're taller than 5,7 it's awkward. It just seemed a nothing hotel which surprised me after seeing the website.
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Goran D. from Croatia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Good location
Location, price and nice rooms
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Howard J. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
The bed is awesome! Great staff.
The bed, the staff, the location.
We really enjoyed staying here. The staff were wonderful and spoke excellent English which made communication easy. The room was spacious and clean. Nice view over the canal. The bed was extremely comfortable. The tram stop is very close and there are a few shops nearby for basic items.
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Henry H. from Finland
Business travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Slightly different experience
Abundant free space for meetings. Location. Smooth service.
We could use big "lobby" area for casual business meetings all day. For my needs that was perfect.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

hubertus W. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2015
practical and original
authenticity, practical, price
great short stay, practical for parking and convenient location to start a city stay.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

muralidaran M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Quiet place
Nice view, quiet and shopping
Reviewed June 10, 2015

Norbert V. from Hungary
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
unique experience, felt like Alice in wonderland
quiet area, huge room, artistic interior
Most memorable hotel experience so far. Hotel is on a quiet location in Amsterdam, next to tje riverside, easy to access from trainstation. Only a few stos by tram. The building looks like it was a school or hospital before, very interesting settlement, we loved the room, giant bed, big windows with window blindss. Every element of the interior had a little surprise, the chair was a lamp itself, fridge was like just climbed out out from Minecraft game, bathroom "coming out" from the wall just to mention the most memorable, and sttill I felt the hotel is for matured people. Next the hotel there is a cafe, (HSB i think) strongly recommended to try their breakfast after a nightout. Would definitely go back to this hotel!
Reviewed May 06, 2015

Muhsen T. from Sweden
Business travelers
Stayed one night in April 2015
Bad experience
When I checked in, the staff told me that he upgraded me from 2 star room to three star room. I thought it is a good start. As soon as I got in to the room I found out it smells rotten and it was impossible to sleep in the room because of the smell. I went down and talked to the staff about that and he said he can do nothing about it. I asked him for different room and he said there are no EMPTY room available. I told my friend and we decided to live the Hotel. When we asked the staff to pay us the money back he said he will try to find another room for us and he gave us another room. I asked the staff how come you have not any available room few minutes ago, and of course he could not give a good answer for that question. Then I asked him, seriously, no body complain about the smell in this room before? He did not answer this question either. The room has a module of bathtub with no door and a toilet. The bed is exactly behind this module. If you flash toilet it hears as if it on the bed. If whatever happens in the toilet does not stay in the toilet- it hears and smell if you know what I mean. Next day when we want to check out the staff offer us a breakfast as a compensation. When I was taking some food I found a piece of hair in the mozzarella cheese. The second day I stayed in a different hotel which was cheaper closer to the city and a way from the railways, with proper rooms and air condition.
Reviewed May 03, 2015

Efthalia S. from Greece
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Interesting
Room with character, clean, good location, close to amenities
Reviewed April 15, 2015