arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 154 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 154 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 6.9

8 Harry B.
Indonesia
April 19, 2015
Center location walking distance
Location, easy access near entertainment area
There are two type of furniture room, brown color and grey color. took the grey one. the wood color furniture is look dirty and more ugly. always stay here good location but nowaday got many much more choice with better room in amsterdam

7.3 Alan E.
United Kingdom
February 17, 2015
Not bad
The room, the staff, the location
Excellent, no real problems other than my room overlooked at back street which was quite noisy but I guess there isn't much they could do about that really, overall a really good relaxing stay

9.3 Anton B.
Netherlands
December 26, 2014
Great stay
Location, breakfast and staff

8.7 Felicity D.
United Kingdom
November 03, 2014
Perfect for a Short Break
Location, Location, Location!
I booked this hotel for a weekend break with my boyfriend. I was a little nervous after reading a lot of damning reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a bit dated and I think they do need to refurbish the hotel, but nothing was as bad as I'd been made to believe. It was clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom was a good size, the staff were polite and helpful. I'm not sure if the other reviewers were expecting a gold plated room and angelical staff complete with halo, but I have no complaints about this hotel. I don't think you could get a better location for the price. O yes and the location is fantastic.

5.3 Sari M.
Finland
October 10, 2014
Good location, that's all
location
Location is good, otherwise just basic hotel that has a weird smell in it..

5.3 Adeline P.
Singapore
September 30, 2014
Good location, but noisy and poorly maintained.
Only the location
As I was checking in, I overhead the girl at the next counter asking if there was a break-in the day before in one of the hotel rooms, and asked if it happened often. (Do note that the person behind her was the guest of the hotel who had her room broken into. This set the tone for my stay in NH Carlton. I was extremely careful throughout my stay. What really disappointed me was the reply from the front counter staff, where she brushed the question away pretending to not understand the question, and instead said, "I do not know why would anyone want to break into the hotel rooms." It is not very reassuring for guests as there was no mention of changes in security measures to prevent it from happening again. Other than the location, I would not recommend the hotel. The room looks very old, and carpet is badly stained. A complete difference from what was seen on the hotel site. Although the bed was clean, housekeeping is questionable because, why are the bins in the room not cleared daily? This is not a hotel for the light sleeper as well, the only time when there was no noise from the street below was between 5am to 7am.

5.7 Melissa M.
Philippines
September 27, 2014
Hotel room safe broken into
English speaking staff, location
We stayed at no Carlton for the third time these past days. We left the room to do shopping and all the money we had with us (euros and US dollars) were secured in the hotel room safe. When we came back, all our money and jewelry were missing already. Police were called b the hotel did not even guarantee that they would be able to compensate us for our missing valuables. They just made us file a police report and wait for insurance to take care of it. Terrible terrible security, we were all traumatized by the event and left several thousand euros poorer.

9.3 Tao J.
China
August 30, 2014
comfortable stay
loction
The hotel is just opposite of metro and bus station. It is very easy to get to major tourist's attractions. The bus service 24 hours. So it is very convenience. The room is clean and cozy. The housekeeping service is good. They change the bath towel everyday. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Overall it is a very nice stay.

8.3 Mohammed A.
Saudi Arabia
August 22, 2014
Good
Quit
Amazing

9 Tarik S.
Bosnia Herzegovina
August 12, 2014
Flower
Location, bed, staff
It was nice. Staff at the main desk are very helpful. Hotel is situated in a very busy area filled with restaurants and bars where many locals like to go out. It is easily accessed by train from the central station which is very convenient only a few stops from central. Rooms look a bit different from the photos that are presented in agoda but it might be due to the renovations done and is not updated. Toilet is small but functional with good shower.