Back to hotel info

Above average 5.5
Based on 67 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 67 reviews
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.7
  • Service 4.6
  • Value for money 5.3
  • Food/Dining 5.3
Sort by

Andrew W.
Canada
March 02, 2013
Acceptable
Cheap
The hotel is a good 10+ minute walk from Amsterdam Central. The concierge was quite welcoming and the room was quite nice, however the floor smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. Also, during our stay there was an incident where some drunk guy came storming into the hotel at around 4am looking for another guy who supposedly stayed at the hotel. He banged around the doors and shouted up and down the halls for about 15 minutes... not sure where the hotel staff was... probably wouldn't return, but the hotel was acceptable.

Prashant J.
India
February 25, 2013
Good Location.
Location
Not so Friendly staff. Breakfast is lousy. rooms are small but clean. Located very near to Amsterdam central in a OLD house. Personally i like the old house charm, so it was fine else nothing great. good for budget travellers.

CHOY F.
Hong Kong
February 11, 2013
Small but good location
Convenience and including the breakfast
we stayed there for 2 nights but the room is not that clean especially the bed set should not be changed after the previous guest has stayed. the good thing is the location and the hotel also offers breakfast but they really need to pay attention on the cleanliness of the room. the staff manner is also ok and helpful in general. as a 2 star hotel it's still ok but you can compare others too.

Bouman J.
Netherlands
January 09, 2013
Great location but extremely basic rooms
Easy walk from central station & famous red light district. Friendly staff.
Very basic rooms. Small and bare. Check in & out was easy and quick. Good for a sleepover but not more than that for me.

JIN L.
Malaysia
December 11, 2012
Great location but ill-maintained room
location, which is near to Red Light District, Dam square, Centraal station
The best thing about this hotel is its location which is like 7mins walk from Centraal Station. Apart from that it is also within walking distance to attractions like Red Light District and Dam Square. The breakfast has nothing to shout about, just equipped with regular bread, butter, toaster, coffee, milk etc. We are very unhappy with the condition of the room, which is pretty run down. In addition, there are bed bugs on the pillow and my cousin was unlucky to be bitten. Unfortunately she then got an allergic reaction from the bites which resulted alot of small and itchy bumps to appear on her skin. We have to resort to consult a doctor during our trip.

Diana A.
Indonesia
November 30, 2012
Great location & service but small room
Location , service
No info that there was no elevator, we were given the 3rd floor. No floor mat outside bathroom. Heater was not functioning properly

Waltraut R.
Germany
November 25, 2012
Close to Amsterdam Central Station
Good location
The hotel has a good location if you need to be close to Amsterdam's Central Station, but that's about the only reason to stay in this place. The hotel is rather dilapidated, old decoration, some rooms are in the basement with no daylight. The (complimentary) breakfast is a simple continental one; the coffee is terrible. Free wifi is available in the lobby only. Most of the staff seem to be rather bored and not interested to serve their guest.

Ng K.
Malaysia
October 09, 2012
Poor condition and service
Nil
Not really enjoying the stay in this hotel as the condition of the room is not that well maintain. The building is too old and personally I feel that the services should be improved. No elevator and we have to carry our luggage to 4th floor without any assistance. To reach the room, we have to carry our heavy luggage and walk up the stairs.

Xyldrae B.
Germany
October 08, 2012
“Good location and reception but that's it.”
location, reception, potential, fast wifi in lobby and restaurant
During our stay, the entire building was under renovation so this rating is specifically for this month and we think it would be a wonderful budget hotel once all renovations are done. At first we were assigned a room in the attic and it was horrible. The space was expected but the facilities looked similar or worse than a cheap hospital room from a third world country. Worse of all, going up the broken stairs is so dangerous and scary, especially if you're carrying your luggage. So we asked to be transferred in another room and the next room was okay, like a very old room in a 3-star hotel, adequate space for all things, though one light bulb was so dark. There were many sources of light for a small room which is good. The bathroom had no drainage outside the shower area, so whatever slipped off the shower curtain made a pool right there in the bathroom floor. It was spacious nevertheless, compared to other bathrooms for hotels with this price. In both rooms attic and ground floor area, it was very noisy. Reception was very accommodating and responsive to your needs, fast too. The breakfast was my worst breakfast ever. I've been to so many hotels from 1star to 5 star hotels all over the world. For something in it's rating, it was the worst breakfast ever though I only tried it once and the lady who was doing the dishes screamed at one guest to bring over the plates even if he wasn't finished eating. I find it rude. My husband liked his first breakfast in this hotel, hated the second. The location is cool, a 10 minute walk to the Central Station and 15-20 to the city. It's nearby kiosks, coffee shops and souvenir shops too. The canal in front of the hotel is big and has a lot of swans in them. WiFi in the lobby and restaurant was fast.

Thomas O.
Germany
September 27, 2012
Nice Location but not value for the money
Nearly Central Station
Nice Location, near Central Station. For one or two nights it will be ok, but the money do not value the room. Really old furnished rooms, not really friendly stuff. You also have to pay 10€ deposite for the room key and they charge 5% extra if paid by credit card. But the do not give the chance to pay in cash!