arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 35 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 35 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.9

Fionna C.
United States
April 13, 2015
Superb service
Service, view and convienence

Viviane L.
Luxembourg
January 02, 2015
Ski trip to Grindelwald
Close to train + village centre , good food, friendly + helpfull staff
We enjoyed our stay at the Derby Hotel and we 'll come back.

meikei L.
China
September 16, 2014
good
good location, big room. staff

Fazlina I.
Singapore
June 19, 2014
Fantastic stay with gorgeous mountain view
View, acessibility to transportation, location to attractions
We stayed in a spacious and clean room with one large bed and a sofa bed big enough for my 2 children. The country style ambience made the place very homely. The view of the mountain from the room was indeed breath taking. The hotel is literally just a step away from Grindelwald station. A perfect location if you're there to explore the mountains. Would definitely be back. Last but not least, reception staffs were very warm.

A W.
Hong Kong
May 13, 2014
Amazing view from balcony!!!
Scenic balcony view; Convenient location; Comfortable room
Our room has a balcony which faces the Eiger Mountain. The view was astonishing. The location of the hotel is convenient. It is just some steps from the Grindlewald train station. We dinned in the hotel restaurant for dinner and the grilled veal and rosti were very good!

Ting L.
Hong Kong
May 07, 2013
I spend a great day there
The view is good. the room is comfortable although the hotel is old. It's very close to the train station.

Pui Y.
Hong Kong
October 17, 2012
hotel located right next to the train station
location is extremely convenient
This hotel is a nice pick for those who need frequent travel to the nearby town by train because it's located just next to the train station. My room is located on the 2nd floor with a balcony facing the mountain, unfortunately, part of the view is blocked by another hotel, so if feasible, request for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor will be better. Overall condition for the room is fair, not new, but neat and tidy, so it will be fine if you don't expect too much.

Gayatri H.
India
May 29, 2012
Lovely hotel, woodsy, and cozy rooms with a view
Location, view, interiors of the hotel
they accommodated us for an early check-in, which i really appreciated. service was great, because our rooms got cleaned and done up regularly. it's literally on the station, so that was a plus (though grindelwald is a small town, and this is not critical when planning a stay). no real complaints. our stay was short and cozy, and though it's a little on the expensive side, in my opinion it's worth it. gorgeous views.

Mikhail A.
United Kingdom
May 04, 2012
Central and convinient
Location, location, view
Stayed during a very quiet season (end April). Good service, expensive, clean, a bit old-fashioned (but ppl call it traditional). Location is right on the train station - ok-ish.

Chua E.
Singapore
August 15, 2011
Rooms looked dated and fridge and tv doesn't work
Near to train station
the rooms were terribly expensive for a hotel of this quality however it is a trend that hotels in grindelwald are crazily over priced. the location of the hotel is unbeatable. breakfast was provided with my booking and there was a reasonable amount of food choices. overall i felt that grindelwald is just a tourist trap where food was at least twice the price of other parts of switzerland.