Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 32 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 8.1
Sort by

siwarak S. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2010
restricted area for smoking
location and staff, breakfast
noisy and smoke effect.
overall is alright. next time if i have a chance to stay in istanbul, i prefer this hotel and will ask for the higer level and clean-clear from smoke.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Tian N. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2010
Barin Hotel, Istanbul
Room & bathroom is clean. Located in old city district with only 8-10min walking distance to Laleli-Universitite Tram Station. Hotel staffs are helpful & friendly.
Hotel breakfast repetitive every morning. No other complaints
Room is good size for the price I paid. Asked for King size bed but was given only twin bed. Nearby streets doing road pavement so it can be quite noisy early in the morning. TV channels only have 2 English programs. Will stay there again next time as their staffs are helpful when u ask them eg for info & adaptors.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

David H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
No Baron's at the Barin
Great location in city centre, close to shops, restaurants, and trolley line.
weak WIFI signal, breakfast buffet
I booked this hotel bases upon reviews of other guests...and for the most part, i was satisfied with my stay. the hotel is between a 2-3 star at best. There are so many other hotels nearby and they all look so nice from the outside, not sure if they are cost competitive or not. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. I went out to eat every meal after the first day as hotel restaurant is laking in quantity and quality.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

NG M. from Hong Kong
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Good location and fair price
Location close to the tram station and the sightseeing spots
The staff's attitude
This hotel can be said perfect for its location. It is in between of two main tram stations. It is very close to the main sightseeing spots. Many small stores and restaurants around and they open very late. The twins room is big enough for two big luggages completely lying down on the floor. The shower area is quite small. You need to be in slow motion in order to avoid hitting your arms on the walls. The only thing we were not happy is the staff service. The two guys we met are not nice and helpful. One of them is even a little bit rude. He tried to sell us different kinds of tour package, bus ticket, performance tickets. When we turned him down, his face changed. When we asked his help for calling the local Turkish airline (previously had communication problem with the airline service in English). He just said no rudely and asked us to communicate with them by the payphone in the hotel. When we checked out and moved our luggage out of the hotel, a guy looking like the manager of hotel just stood beside the entrance and had no intention to open and hold the doors for us. We had to hold the doors by ourselves! What a poor manager he is.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Taras S. from Belarus
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
3 nights in the Barin hotel (March 2010)
- open 24 h - close to all the sights, historic centre - not very noisy though in the touristic centre - one can find almost everything you need in the room (a shower, towels, wardrobe, bed-side tables, mirror...) - coisy enough - cleaning every day - breakfasts are pretty good
- Wish the room were a little bit bigger.
We spent three nights in this hotel (29.03-03.04 2010) and we were absolutely satisfied with everything we were offered. Service is good, the staff is lovely and polite. As we stayed there only in the night time it was a good deal (price-quality). There are many Russians in the hotel and nearby as well as many other nationalities. One can use a computer and free Internet (though it is only one in the hall).We were also allowed to leave our baggage in the hotel till the evening as we had to wait our flight. So our expectations were met.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Willie C. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in April 2010
Good location, staff not as friendly
Good location, and good value. Breakfast was ok, but not fancy.
Staff was not very friendly. Maybe it is just the Turkish culture.
It was not as easy to find the hotel from the airport. Once we located the hotel, it was easy enough to roam around. Room was ok with basics. Bathroom was good. It was a bit noisy. You can hear activities in the hallway.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Rolf K. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
Good value for your money
The hotel is in a central but still quiet location and room rates are very reasonable.
The rooms are on the small sides and the walls are thin.
The beds are comfortable enough to offer restful sleep after a long day of exhausting sight -seeing. The breakfast buffe is simple but pleniful and tasty. Wireless internet is free of charge. The personnel is friendly and helpful, And the rates for the modest but clean and comfortable rooms are very reasonable. In sum, very good value for your money.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

alan S. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in January 2010
best deal in Istanbul
clean,friendly,a fridge,a safe,free internet,great breakfast
none
This was a great stay.The staff were great.The safe and the fridge in the room were also plusses.The free internet did not hurt either.The hotel is handy to the central city,an easy walk.The breakfast was a buffet which did not get boring after 6 days.Overall I rank this a great bargain and when I return to istanbul this will be my stay.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Malar A. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2009
Comfortable stay at hotel barin
It is in a good location
breakfast was not fantastic, and there was some construction going on nearby which
The hotel is in a very good location, and one can actually walk or take a metro to the sights. It was comfortable and has basic facilities. After a long day of walking, the lounge area is a good place to relax.Great value for money, so I would highly recommend it to anyone who is on a moderate budget and not looking for aything fancy (but clean!).
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Mohammed T. from Iraq
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2009
barin hotel istanbul
the location is centeral in the city good room servise confortable stay
always bussy when i asked to extend my stay they increase the price
the location is centeral in the city good room servise confortable stayalways bussy when i asked to extend my stay they increase the price near to metro station
Reviewed October 04, 2009