Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 76 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 76 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Jodie L. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
Great room, brilliant location and lovely staff.
Room, sea view Staff Hotel style
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nat N. from Vietnam
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
We enjoyed our stay here as a couple.
Perfect seafront location, clean and comfortable.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Donald M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
Lousy sleep. Too much street noise
Parking
Apart from lack of sleep due to being upgraded to beach view at front of hotel
Reviewed May 07, 2014

Nina P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Enjoyable. We were well looked after.,
restaurant car park location
Really well looked after. Plenty of friendly helpful staff. Food superb. Room comfortable, but draughty due to severe storm conditions.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

jason K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
good
near beach
In hotel parking is so expensive & have to pay extra for good room or see view room, not mini bar in room, not internet in room, it should be thee star instead of 4
Reviewed January 09, 2014

Siegfried D. from Belgium
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Nice and clean hotel, great breakfast.
Great breakfast, quiet room, clean room.
Excellent hotel. The only very minor disadvantage was that there's no seperate radiator in the bathroom, except for the heated towel rack. Still, I would recommend this place to anyone.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

danny S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
relaxing fun good service
clean really good staff
my wife is disabled and all the staff were very helpful. the hotel is very central for all amenities. we had a very relaxing and fun stay
Reviewed October 18, 2013

James N. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Polite staff, nice refurb
Location, price, comfort
Some finishing touch issues, attention to detail lacking in areas, polite staff comfortable, should have invested in proper fitting black out blinds and good double glazing to account for bright noisy road
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Sarah B. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in September 2013
Lovely and comfortable for a one night stay.
Location, friendly staff, shopping
Very pleasent stay. The room was comfortable and large with an excellent buffet breakfast! Sadly we were only there for one night.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Graham S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Centrally located famous old hotel
Location, large rooms, friendly staff
We stayed at The Old Ship on Brighton seafront for 3 nights. I was rather apprehensive as I had stayed there many years before and it was quite run down. But I was pleasantly surprised as the hotel has been semi-refurbished in a sympathetic way that does not obscure the "heritage" of the place. The windows are now double glazed and the rooms are therefore warm although the double glazing does not help much with the noise from the outside traffic and weekend revellers. We did not use the restaurant as the hotel is close to many other dining options. Car parking in central Brighton is a nightmare as there is no on-street parking anywhere nearby and the hotel car park pricing matches that of the adjacent multi-story Lanes car park- both of which are set at London rates. But overall a pleasant stay.
Reviewed September 24, 2013