Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 247 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 247 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 5.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Mohammad A.
Saudi Arabia
May 21, 2016
Not oky
The hotel has a nuisance because it is being done amendments were not mentioned during booking

Carol-anne S.
United Kingdom
May 15, 2016
Overnight stay
Lovely hotel. Under renovation at present. Stayed in new renovated room - very please. Hotel spotlessly clean. Breakfast very good.

Patrick C.
United Kingdom
May 13, 2016
Lovely hotel when finished.
Great location value for money.

Emmanuel L.
United Kingdom
May 08, 2016
Good value for a great service
Reasonable price for a really good hotel. Very good location. Great service for breakfast. Very helpful staff

Paul B.
United Kingdom
May 05, 2016
Renovations - No t advised no pool or gym available
Major refurbishment of the hotel was taking place and no indication given of this when booking or that the facilities advertised would not be available for the majority ifvthecstsy. Whole hotel under scaffolding, one lift out of use causing delays, no gym or pool, public area toilets out of use and had to use vacant guest rooms and a sometimes an attitude of sorry but what do you want us to do about it. Had I known all this I would have booked a different hotel. Location was great so just made sure I was out most of the time but as it was supposed to be a relaxing trip and booklet with pool and gym in mind it was a waste of money as a hotel. Oh... And I got the false fire alarm which put all guests on the street which seems to be a regular feature of the hotel too. Not a good experience. Maybe once the renovations are over it will be better but check before you go as they don't tell you!

Luis C.
Mexico
March 24, 2016
Excelent location
The room was really nice.

Julie B.
United Kingdom
February 18, 2016
It's a lovely hotel in a good location.
Good location, friendly staff, good facilities
It was a pleasant stay however we were put in a disabled facility room which I wasn't happy with so I asked to be changed which they did (sorry but that's not my idea of luxury when not disabled) the next room had very draughty Windows, the radiator wasn't working so I got them to sort that out which they came straight away . The room was very noisy from the bars down below unti 4am in the morning so didn't get much sleep

Nicolas S.
Indonesia
February 12, 2016
NO 1 hotel in Edinburgh
We cannot describe how happy and wonderful our stay was in this hotel. Location wise, SUPERB! Super, super close to main train station. Very close to superb cafes and restaurants. The room is HUUGGEEE and well set up and clean.

gordon D.
United Kingdom
January 25, 2016
23/1/16
the carlton hotel is clad in scaffolding and if you are at the front of hotel you will get the builders from 8.30 (sat) outside your window so you have to spend your time in the room with the curtains shut, rooms are also very very tired so a bit of a let down.

Michael W.
United Kingdom
January 15, 2016
Big, plain and we'll positioned
Location, room size, access
Very impersonal hotel. The breakfast experience is well off the mark - cold plates, tinned fruit, rubber eggs, greasy bacon and mushrooms but good sausage and tomato. Only one old school waiter -the rest did not really want to be there. Decor tawdry. Needs managers and supervisors who are on the ball. Sorry but there it is. Served a purpose. Also banging service doors at early hours. This does not include the scaffolding and long term makover which is not really a problem but pre information would be fair.